Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edwardian House Style
I have just purchased an Edwardian home which until I read this book thought was very similar to the Victorians - Not so! The book quite clearly sets apart the architecture and lifestyle differences between the two eras.
The chapters are well categorised into useful sections. The photos and illustrations were very comprehensive and it was nice to see the contrasts...
Published on 19 Jun 2002 by ebriant

versus
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not enough information on sitting rooms/lounges
I was disapointed with this book, it has more detail relating the outside
of the house than the inside.
i bought it looking for inspiration for a redecoration project on our
lounge and it didn't have enough pictures to give me the inspiration i was looking for.
Published on 14 Nov 2007 by Nina of Bristol


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Edwardian House Style, 19 Jun 2002
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
I have just purchased an Edwardian home which until I read this book thought was very similar to the Victorians - Not so! The book quite clearly sets apart the architecture and lifestyle differences between the two eras.
The chapters are well categorised into useful sections. The photos and illustrations were very comprehensive and it was nice to see the contrasts between UK and American architecture of that time. Illustrations from catalogues of the day were both amusing and useful.
From a renovating point of view this book has truly inspired me. I can now recognise the difference between Victorian and Edwardian fireplaces, furniture and iron work! The only unfortunate realisation this book brought home to me is that my house no longer contains some of the fantastic features typical of this era, to which I will endeavour to put back!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading, 26 Feb 2004
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
Six months into the restoration of a 1909 Edwardian house, I couldn't recommend this book highly enough. There are substantial differences between the Edwardian & Victorian styles, as well as confusing similarities. This book is invaluable for guidance and a great source of inspiration.
Whilst it cannot cover everything it should be your first point of reference.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly recommended for anyone restoring Edwardian home, 10 Dec 2002
By 
Lee Fowkes (Worcestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
Well written with beautiful photos.
This has been a vital reference book for our 3 year project to refurbish our 1905 in Worcestershire, UK.
The only reason I don't give it 5 stars is that many of the pictures of stained glass designs are in B/W. We had to get a lot of stained glass remanufactured, so we had to guess colours.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ace reference book on Edwardian decoration and architecture, 11 Dec 2000
I have an Aussie Edwardian home (here it falls into the Federation Era architecture) and want to know how to decorate it.
This book had heaps of excellent photographs of Edwardian houses from the UK and America (but sadly few, if any from Oz). But my favourite parts were the drawings or sketches from catalogues of the day. The commentry is useful too.
The chapters deal with different regions of the house: exterior; hallway; bedrooms; fittings etc. It also had a helpful index of places where you can buy period bits and pieces for you home. This coveres UK, USA and Australia. For Oz at least it was sufficiently up to date.
The reason why it didn't get 5 stars is there wasn't quite enough for me on living rooms, and I couldn't find any pictures of Aussie houses.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not enough information on sitting rooms/lounges, 14 Nov 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
I was disapointed with this book, it has more detail relating the outside
of the house than the inside.
i bought it looking for inspiration for a redecoration project on our
lounge and it didn't have enough pictures to give me the inspiration i was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars edwardian house style review, 21 Feb 2012
By 
S. Davies "culture creature" (Prague, CZ) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
This is a great book, packed full of photos and ideas for restoring Edwardian homes. I am currently renovating a 1910's property and have found this book to be a great resource providing lots of inspiration. Just a warning,this book contains all the same information as the "Edwardian House Style Hanbook", even though the author has a different name so, unlike me, just buy one or the other!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great for renovators, 2 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
The book was brought to help with a Dolls House renovation project. It has lots of ideas and detailed photos and drawings to assist in making the house into an authentic Edwardian property.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars It was okay, 21 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
Lots of good pictures but aimed more at the larger houses rather than the smaller terraces which I would have been interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good source of information, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
Bought this as a present for my husband as we have just moved into an Edwardian semi. Full of useful information and illustrations. He is very please with it and would recommend it as a good reference source.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars ok, 11 May 2013
By 
E. A. Edge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book (Paperback)
not really what i had hoped

a bit pricey for what's inside

a bog standard item

disappointed i written content
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Edwardian House Style: An Architectural and Interior Design Source Book
19.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews