Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most comprehensive book on technique, 25 July 2007
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
After trying to teach myself to knit with a number of other books I happened across this and grabbed it immediately. It has EVERYTHING you will ever want to know about knitting, you name it, it's in there! pages and pages of cast-ons and cast-offs, good clear diagrams and descriptions, and information on everything from mitring to finishing. The most useful part for me has been the most comprehensive section on increasing/decreasing I have ever seen. I refer to this book frequently and really trust the information given. It's also written in a nice, easy to follow style and is great to dip in to at random as you will always happen upon something interesting - so much so that I often take it to bed with me for a spot of bedtime reading! Highly recommended - you won't need another book on knitting techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant self help book, 5 Feb 2010
By 
Mrs. S. Tecke (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
Very easy to understand and seems to cover everything you need to know about knitting, with lots of drawings and pictures to make understanding even easier. I have been knitting for nearly 60 years but still find this a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Classic and beautiful, 20 Nov 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
This was recommended to me by knitters of many years and of fewer years.
It is a 'typical' knitting book, classic set ups, type style and language instructional and clear, it's a little dated but this is what you want from a good book of it's age.

It has a multitude of cast on and offs for starters, more than you could ever use (well eventually you'll get through em) and so many ideas and suggestions it's wonderful, always with an alternative suggestion or way of doing something. I refer to this book every time i have a knitting question/issue especially when a patten i am using it unclear.

This book is a knitting reference wonder, if you can find it, buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Ageless book, 3 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
It doesn't matter how long ago Montse Stanley wrote this book...it is still necessary to all knitters! The drawing stitches and techniques are so clear... We can see details that would be easy to miss on educational videos..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great book, at a low price, 2 July 2010
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
this is an excellent book for any intermediate knitter who wants to extend his/her knowledge.
straightforward to use and very clear
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars to add to my collection, 9 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
I had seen this in my local library and wanted to have my own personal copy to use as and when I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Handknitters Handbook, 31 Oct 2013
By 
SKH (Devon England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
Recommended to me. Published first in 1986. As it says on the dust cover - "A comprehensive guide to the principles and techniques of handknitting" - this is exactly what it is - a basic, very comprehensive reference book with clear instructions, excellent illustrations and colour pictures.

The book starts from the very basics - understanding how stitches are made, how to cast on/off (every method - some I have not heard of) ... how to knit ... and continues with every particular technique you can think of - buttonholes, colour knitting, seams and joins, following charts, blocking and correcting mistakes etc, etc. I thoroughly recommend this useful reference book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars full of information, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
If you want to extend your knowledge of knitting techniques this is a must.also bought as an used book so very good value
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
This book was recommended by a professional tutor.
Although its format looks a little dated now, the instructions and diagrams are excellent and there are details of many techniques and stitches that anyone can follow from beginner to professional.
A fantastic reference book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extravaganza of knitabilicious techniques, 17 Jun 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Handknitter's Handbook (Hardcover)
I followed up a chance recommendation from a fellow Ravelry member and what a lucky thing that was. There is everything in this book you could wish for and a few others. Want to know how to tell is a yarn is fast and won't bleed all over the others in your stranded work? It's there. Want to know which of the 23 cast-ons to use for buttonholes or hems or sock cuffs? It's all there with clear line illustrations. Ever felt like doing 21 different bind-offs? Well no, nor have I but if I ever do, it's there. 9 different buttonholes? 6 different ways of grafting on plain, purl and ribbed rows? The list of 'little purls of wisdom' goes on and on. And that's before we get to the seams, embellishments, wiggle-woggles, miscellaneous finishes and trouble-shooting!

An extravaganza of knitabilicious techniques and highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Handknitter's Handbook
The Handknitter's Handbook by Montse Stanley (Hardcover - 17 Jun 1993)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews