Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Braw
If yir lookin fir yer bible stories in the glasgae banter, then this book'll be fir you.
(If you can't read the above statement then it probably wont be)
In this book, Jamie Stuart gives a informative and humourous interpretation of well loved bible stories in the glasgow venacular.
Published on 27 Aug. 2001

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not enough
I really liked the idea behind this work, but it is like an appetiser rather than a feast. Perhaps that is the point - read this and then go and find a full Bible. 'Taste and see that the Lord is good.'
Published on 23 Nov. 2011 by writemaggie


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Braw, 27 Aug. 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
If yir lookin fir yer bible stories in the glasgae banter, then this book'll be fir you.
(If you can't read the above statement then it probably wont be)
In this book, Jamie Stuart gives a informative and humourous interpretation of well loved bible stories in the glasgow venacular.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars the bible in a new light, 19 Dec. 2009
By 
M. Stevenson (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
we have thoroughly enjoyed the Glasgow Bible and have read the stories to several people, it is a very interesting and at bits funny interpretation of the bible. We would recommend everyone read this and it is a 'perfect gift' too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bible has never been this much fun!, 29 Jun. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
In this year when we celebbrate the King James translation of the Bible into English it is really great to read the great stories of the Good Book in my own West of Scotland language. I found myself just reading on and on and having a great laugh at the lovely use of the Scottish vernacular. I have now sent a copy to friends in England to enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Just not enough, 23 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
I really liked the idea behind this work, but it is like an appetiser rather than a feast. Perhaps that is the point - read this and then go and find a full Bible. 'Taste and see that the Lord is good.'
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Amusing but incomplete, 31 Dec. 2014
By 
D. J. Favager (Wirral) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
I'm not Scottish (or should that be 'I'm no Scots') but I found this amusing and enjoyable. There is a glossary for any Sassenachs who don't ken all the words but most of it is pretty obvious. My only criticism is that Mr Stuart has inexplicably missed out some essential Bible stories. How could he possibly not have included the Fall with the talking snake and the apple, the walls of Jericho, the woman taken in adultery and the whole of Acts including the conversion of St. Paul? I'll let him off not tackling Revelation and all those epistles! Not sure what the intent was - to entertain, to stimulate interest in the original, to make the Bible accessible to Glaswegians - but as a light read I can recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Glasgow Bible, 3 Mar. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
Great book.This is a Glasgow Bible every Glaswegian, (or anyone who likes the Glasgow tongue), should read. I would highly recommend this book to anybody who likes biblical stores written in their mother Glasgow tongue.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars More the Glasgow Gospels, 23 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
There is an element of interest and some fun in reading the Gospels in this vernacular. However little is added to the appeal of reading in modern English and this is not a "Glasgow Bible" merely the Gospels.
Interesting if you like that sort of thing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scollands finest, 27 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
nice to see a holy book created in scots thoung bought as a christmas gift t shows that a bible is good in any lanuage . sent quickly
will buy this book again for other friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars scottish delight, 24 July 2012
By 
Slim Pixman (Bradford W.Yorks.) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
A light hearted look at the Bible; the gospels and how God created everything. all that printed in a comedic Glasgow dialect. I can recommend it, you wont put it down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Change the way you think of the Bible, 13 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Glasgow Bible (Paperback)
bought for a friend who is not a regular churchgoer but who sat and read from beginning to end and thoroughly enjoyed. Recommend to everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Glasgow Bible
A Glasgow Bible by Jamie Stuart (Audio CD - 15 Mar. 2008)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews