Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now an annual purchase, 9 May 2012
By 
E. F. Fowler "Eddie" (Ripley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
I've just received this edition of Reflections for the year starting December and look forward to using it. This will be my third year using Reflections daily. A great resource for daily quiet time, giving you the readings for morning prayer along with a reflection on one of the 3 readings from the daily lectionary.

I use it in conjunction with Prayer during the day from Common Worship Daily Prayer and no doubt will continue to do so. But I am delighted to find in this edition that they have included a simple form of Morning Prayer inside the front cover along with seasonal variations at the back, making this a self contained book for those who do not use any other breviary at the moment, to start the day with a simple act of worship.

If you want to explore the delights of daily devotions in line with others in the church, wherever they maybe, then this is a cracking book to start with. Well done Church House Publishing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars geting closer, 18 Aug. 2012
for four years "reflections" has been a part of my walk with God. what a great companion, true bread for the journey. and now digital, my "journey" bag just got lighter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect relationship with God, 8 Nov. 2012
Since I stumbled upon this book in st micheals CoE I have never looked back. It's the most complete and elaborate daily devotional any Christian would ever need irrespective of the Christian denomination you are from. It's authors are very qualified and seasoned men and women of God in the Anglican world and its very easy to assimilate. It's a must have for both believers and non believers aswell as the entire world as it holds the keys to reconciling this new generation back to the love of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Aug. 2012
This is a sane, intelligent and inspiring collection of reflections to help you through the lectionary. Mark Oakley's and Jane Williams' are especially good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars depends on the individual contributor, 12 May 2015
By 
Mr. D. P. Jay (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
As a teenager, it was drummed in to me that a Christian should read the bible every day. As the old chorus put it: The best book to read is the bible/ The best book to read is the Bible/ If you read it every day (sic)/It will help you on your way/ The best book to read is the Bible."

There were various published guides and notes to help. Like the pill, they had dates on them to ensure you didn’t miss a day. The most colourfully illustrated and well-produced are by the Scripture Union. They target different age—ranges, the adult one being called ‘Daily Bread’ but are on the evangelical side.

A more moderate set of notes, also with different age-ranges targeted, for more ‘middle of the road’ Christians is published by the Bible Reading Fellowship.

Those of us who want to follow the daily office lectionary now have a more sophisticated but not theologically obtuse option in this book, produced every year. I think it is brilliant. Of course, like every edited series, there is variety among the contributors.

Christopher Woods annoyed me on two counts: On Romans chapter one he skated over the homophobic implications. Does he not realise the number of suicides that this passage has produced? Could he not say more than that it is ‘not clear’? Plenty of scholarship proves otherwise.

It’s inclusive, challenging, liberal without being wishy-washy and has given me loads of ideas for sermons, especially on passages that I don’t normally find inspiring.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
It's a great book with interesting insights of the lectionary. It helps to think through the reading during the day, as it gives a new insight to understanding and making connection with today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, 20 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This provides the essential resources with which to start the day in God's word, reflection and prayer. It's great to have the reading references, a thoughtful reflection and the collect all in one place. I've found the reflections to be thoughtful, thought provoking and prayer provoking - what more could one ask?
Although I can understand why these resources for Sundays are missing, it seems a shame that they are!
Despite this, it's a resource I value and use daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A useful daily moment of devotion, 17 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
Having used this book for the last few weeks I find it provides a helpful brief reflection on one of the three daily common lectionary readings used by many mainstream churches, together with a very brief prayer (collect). The content is well thought out but being so short it may seem superficial to some. Sundays are omitted, presumably on the assumption that the reader will be at church. It is small enough to be carried by those to travel and is helpful for the Christian with little spare time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reflections for Daily Prayer, 13 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
This is the 3rd year I have purchased this book as a daily guide to'quiet times'.
I find the mix of contributors give a varied interpretation of the lexionary verses.Some of the contributors are wonderfully stimulating and others less so. But as far as understanding often obscure passages of the Bible it's well worth buying for the yearly study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflective and accessible, 7 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a lovely book. I'm a little bit sad I got it on kindle to be honest. There are some books that are just good to leaf through and I think this might be one of them. The reflections are suitably challenging and thoughtful and it's worth taking the time to do them each day. Saying that, I've slackened off a little since purchasing the item, so it's worth me revisiting... where's the kindle?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013
£7.74
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews