Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now an annual purchase, 9 May 2012
By 
E. F. Fowler "Eddie" (Ripley, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
I've just received this edition of Reflections for the year starting December and look forward to using it. This will be my third year using Reflections daily. A great resource for daily quiet time, giving you the readings for morning prayer along with a reflection on one of the 3 readings from the daily lectionary.

I use it in conjunction with Prayer during the day from Common Worship Daily Prayer and no doubt will continue to do so. But I am delighted to find in this edition that they have included a simple form of Morning Prayer inside the front cover along with seasonal variations at the back, making this a self contained book for those who do not use any other breviary at the moment, to start the day with a simple act of worship.

If you want to explore the delights of daily devotions in line with others in the church, wherever they maybe, then this is a cracking book to start with. Well done Church House Publishing!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars geting closer, 18 Aug 2012
for four years "reflections" has been a part of my walk with God. what a great companion, true bread for the journey. and now digital, my "journey" bag just got lighter!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect relationship with God, 8 Nov 2012
Since I stumbled upon this book in st micheals CoE I have never looked back. It's the most complete and elaborate daily devotional any Christian would ever need irrespective of the Christian denomination you are from. It's authors are very qualified and seasoned men and women of God in the Anglican world and its very easy to assimilate. It's a must have for both believers and non believers aswell as the entire world as it holds the keys to reconciling this new generation back to the love of God.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 6 Aug 2012
This is a sane, intelligent and inspiring collection of reflections to help you through the lectionary. Mark Oakley's and Jane Williams' are especially good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful, 12 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
It's a great book with interesting insights of the lectionary. It helps to think through the reading during the day, as it gives a new insight to understanding and making connection with today's world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It does what it says on the tin, 20 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This provides the essential resources with which to start the day in God's word, reflection and prayer. It's great to have the reading references, a thoughtful reflection and the collect all in one place. I've found the reflections to be thoughtful, thought provoking and prayer provoking - what more could one ask?
Although I can understand why these resources for Sundays are missing, it seems a shame that they are!
Despite this, it's a resource I value and use daily.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars As expected, 26 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
This is a useful resource, which I am glad to have - although I might not use it very often. It is good to have a reflection pointer on occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Reflections for Daily Prayer, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 (Paperback)
This is the 3rd year I have purchased this book as a daily guide to'quiet times'.
I find the mix of contributors give a varied interpretation of the lexionary verses.Some of the contributors are wonderfully stimulating and others less so. But as far as understanding often obscure passages of the Bible it's well worth buying for the yearly study.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Reflective and accessible, 7 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is such a lovely book. I'm a little bit sad I got it on kindle to be honest. There are some books that are just good to leaf through and I think this might be one of them. The reflections are suitably challenging and thoughtful and it's worth taking the time to do them each day. Saying that, I've slackened off a little since purchasing the item, so it's worth me revisiting... where's the kindle?!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Daily Prayer, 4 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This book is very easy to use. It replaces a lectionary, especially when travelling. The notes,, so far this year have been thought provoking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013
Reflections for Daily Prayer: Advent 2012 to Christ the King 2013 by John Pritchard (Paperback - 31 May 2012)
14.14
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews