Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good intro to an influential photographer
Daido Moriyama is all over the press right now, he is actively involved in a major exhibition at Tate Modern along with William Klein.

If you need a primer to his work this book is a very good place to start.

What one must realise when understanding his work is that Moriyama is not a photographer who has released one or two books in his lifetime, he...
Published on 19 Oct. 2012 by Brian Hamilton

versus
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MY SON GOT THIS BOOK
I NEVER READ IT MY SON GOT THIS BOOK I AM SURE HE IS PLEASED WITH IT I HAVE NOT GOT ANY COMPLAINTS FROM HIM REGARDING IT. I LIKE ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN AND AM A DESIGNER IN PRACTICE THIS BOOK IS A GOOD READ ON THE SUBJECT OF DAIDO.
Published 8 months ago by labi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good intro to an influential photographer, 19 Oct. 2012
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daido Moriyama (55s) (Hardcover)
Daido Moriyama is all over the press right now, he is actively involved in a major exhibition at Tate Modern along with William Klein.

If you need a primer to his work this book is a very good place to start.

What one must realise when understanding his work is that Moriyama is not a photographer who has released one or two books in his lifetime, he has followed the very Japanese tradition of disseminating his work through photobooks and he has released dozens of them. Some of his works have been absolutely seminal and are only now getting the recognition they deserve from western audiences.

Throughout his life Moriyama has crafted hundreds of stand out images, many of which are characterized by heavy contrast, loads of dodging and burning, a snapshot or no-viewfinder aesthetic, and his trademark look of blur and out of focus. At times it feels like he is railing against every rule and accepted process of photography and boy does his work knock you off your feet.

I confess to loving the look of the images, Moriyama manages to wring an apocolyptic feel from the everyday, in particular his Northern series of photobooks (which are frighteningly expensive) carry this vision to the fore.

Moriyama is an artist of influence to generations of Japanese photographers and his demi-god status is, for the main, deserved.

His bodies of work are worthy of exploration and, as previously stated, this book is but a primer. However, for a brief introduction to his oeuvre this book is to be commended.

Enter at your peril, Moriyama is an expensive habit to fund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars amazing book, 6 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daido Moriyama (55s) (Hardcover)
ggggggggggggggggggggggggoooooooooooooooooooooooooooodddddddddddddddddd love you moriyama. Moryama is my favourite fotographer. Yes the best in the worls really. This book is amazing
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good introduction, 4 Jan. 2014
By 
HA (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daido Moriyama (55s) (Hardcover)
Handy size book with a good selection of images and clear text introducing the work of Moriyama to the reader.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Some great Moriyama in the pages of this modestly sized book, 13 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Daido Moriyama (55s) (Hardcover)
Some great Moriyama in the pages of this modestly sized book. I have three of his books - other two much more expensive. This one my favourite.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 9 Sept. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daido Moriyama (55s) (Hardcover)
Master daido on his best
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars MY SON GOT THIS BOOK, 12 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Daido Moriyama (55s) (Hardcover)
I NEVER READ IT MY SON GOT THIS BOOK I AM SURE HE IS PLEASED WITH IT I HAVE NOT GOT ANY COMPLAINTS FROM HIM REGARDING IT. I LIKE ARCHITECTURE AND DESIGN AND AM A DESIGNER IN PRACTICE THIS BOOK IS A GOOD READ ON THE SUBJECT OF DAIDO.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Daido Moriyama (55s)
Daido Moriyama (55s) by Kazuo Nishi (Hardcover - 20 Aug. 2012)
£8.09
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews