Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 6 May 2012
prefer Paul Arden's stuff but admire the American brashness if you will - Arden but without quintessential English mannerisms - still a good read although a does waffle on a bit
0Comment5 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
...that the man who goes on and on about the Big Idea, the self-proclaimed master of originality, has gone and written a book that is basically just a poor copy of the very successful Paul Arden books.
Note of caution: don't be fooled by this poor imitation. George Lois has written what is basically one big congratulatory pat on the back. Sure, he obviously did some pretty great stuff way back in the days when there wasn't much in the world of advertising to compete with but the way he puts that across just makes him sound like a candidate for 'the person you'd least like to invite to a dinner party'. The anecdotes mostly go something like this: "So we were in the room, and this guy says something SO stupid and I say *insert self-important quip that only George Lois finds amusing*". That's pretty much it. Buy the Paul Arden book with the money I just saved you and read something that is informative, witty and interesting instead.
22 comments15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2013
George Lois is an advertising legend, creating some of the most inventive and memorable campaigns of the 20th century. Although most of the points of advice in this book are short, they're all the better for it, sharp, punchy and to the point. Oh and there's some great humour in the book too.
0Comment2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
I bought this at the Tate Britain to read on the train home. Wish I hadn't.

George Lois (never heard of him!) considers himself the greatest ad man who ever lived, and the inspiration for Mad Men. He's a very brash, good ol' boy, American type, and it does get draining.

There are 120 short 'tips' in the book. They fall into three categories:
1. Statements of the obvious
2. Advice that's 40 years out of date
3. A few gems, but they're taken directly from other sources (e.g. Woody Allen, PT Barnum)

We get such treasures as Tip 93 - Don't have sex with multiple women you work with, as it may create tension. Tip 86 - Don't be racist (at odds with anti semitic Tip 30). Tip 101 - Remember, women can get jobs nowadays!

It's all delivered with a huge dollop of "I AM GREAT! I CHANGED THE WORLD! USA! USA!" and an attitude of if you don't get what you want in a meeting, shout louder. A tactic that may work in the States, but won't make you any friends in English Business Meetings.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 September 2012
George Lois's "Damn Good Advice" is an amusing an easily digestible book. I'd recommend it more as a second hand buy on the cheap than brand new. Whilst Lois was a titan in advertising and is better placed than most to offer his thoughts on communication and creativity, I'd sooner take Paul Arden's two books "It's not how good you are, it's how good you want to be" and "Whatever you think, think the opposite" as they have more meat to them and less of the triumphalism of Lois which an get a little tiresome (even though it can be amusing in parts). I suggest getting all three if yo are interested in creativity, communication and some slightly cheesy self-inspiration (but it is no less effective for the cheesiness!). Having said that, for those of us not intimately familiar with the advertising world, there are some genuinely useful nuggets in here but you will have to scythe your way through the chaff to get to the wheat!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2015
This is an influential and eye-opening read for anyone interested in marketing and advertising, and showcases plenty of great examples from great brands and campaigns you might remember if you've been around for a while. It's not really up-to-date given the deep transformations marketing and communication have undergone in the digital age so to some it might seem as a relic of the past. However, its core principles and overall no-nonsense approach still hold great value today. A basic read for anyone even just slightly interested in these topics.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 December 2012
A great book - its not really a long story, but many different 1 or 2 page descriptions of things that have happened in George Lois' career. I see some people say that there is plenty of bragging in there. Well, why shouldn't there be? He has been one of the most successful advertising men of all time.

If you want some fresh ideas and some "a-ha!" moments, then get this for a few quid. I did, and it inspired many of my own staff.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2012
Some good advice, some common sense and lots of self promotion.
Not a must have, but for the price it's ok.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 September 2012
Inspiring, interesting, entertaining and a good little read right from the beginning with lots of advice that if taken would work well for most things in life. I mean life is a creative process, and if you want to make it interesting for yourself then there are a few tips here.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 September 2013
Had never heard of him, But he's put his fair share of work in. If your a young creative you can not go wrong with this its a book i will keep for yrs to come. real simple read if you hate reading like me!

D
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse