Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mad man
prefer Paul Arden's stuff but admire the American brashness if you will - Arden but without quintessential English mannerisms - still a good read although a does waffle on a bit
Published on 6 May 2012 by Supaluca

versus
13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it ironic?
...that the man who goes on and on about the Big Idea, the self-proclaimed master of originality, has gone and written a book that is basically just a poor copy of the very successful Paul Arden books.
Note of caution: don't be fooled by this poor imitation. George Lois has written what is basically one big congratulatory pat on the back. Sure, he obviously did some...
Published on 14 July 2012 by Melissa


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars mad man, 6 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
prefer Paul Arden's stuff but admire the American brashness if you will - Arden but without quintessential English mannerisms - still a good read although a does waffle on a bit
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Isn't it ironic?, 14 July 2012
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
...that the man who goes on and on about the Big Idea, the self-proclaimed master of originality, has gone and written a book that is basically just a poor copy of the very successful Paul Arden books.
Note of caution: don't be fooled by this poor imitation. George Lois has written what is basically one big congratulatory pat on the back. Sure, he obviously did some pretty great stuff way back in the days when there wasn't much in the world of advertising to compete with but the way he puts that across just makes him sound like a candidate for 'the person you'd least like to invite to a dinner party'. The anecdotes mostly go something like this: "So we were in the room, and this guy says something SO stupid and I say *insert self-important quip that only George Lois finds amusing*". That's pretty much it. Buy the Paul Arden book with the money I just saved you and read something that is informative, witty and interesting instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Damn good advice would be to buy this book!, 14 Feb. 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
George Lois is an advertising legend, creating some of the most inventive and memorable campaigns of the 20th century. Although most of the points of advice in this book are short, they're all the better for it, sharp, punchy and to the point. Oh and there's some great humour in the book too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Damn brash author!, 29 Sept. 2012
By 
M. Hallett (York, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
George Lois's "Damn Good Advice" is an amusing an easily digestible book. I'd recommend it more as a second hand buy on the cheap than brand new. Whilst Lois was a titan in advertising and is better placed than most to offer his thoughts on communication and creativity, I'd sooner take Paul Arden's two books "It's not how good you are, it's how good you want to be" and "Whatever you think, think the opposite" as they have more meat to them and less of the triumphalism of Lois which an get a little tiresome (even though it can be amusing in parts). I suggest getting all three if yo are interested in creativity, communication and some slightly cheesy self-inspiration (but it is no less effective for the cheesiness!). Having said that, for those of us not intimately familiar with the advertising world, there are some genuinely useful nuggets in here but you will have to scythe your way through the chaff to get to the wheat!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, and might change the way you think about marketing, 23 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
This is an influential and eye-opening read for anyone interested in marketing and advertising, and showcases plenty of great examples from great brands and campaigns you might remember if you've been around for a while. It's not really up-to-date given the deep transformations marketing and communication have undergone in the digital age so to some it might seem as a relic of the past. However, its core principles and overall no-nonsense approach still hold great value today. A basic read for anyone even just slightly interested in these topics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great read for train journeys or for ideas to impress, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
J Welch (Norwich) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
A great book - its not really a long story, but many different 1 or 2 page descriptions of things that have happened in George Lois' career. I see some people say that there is plenty of bragging in there. Well, why shouldn't there be? He has been one of the most successful advertising men of all time.

If you want some fresh ideas and some "a-ha!" moments, then get this for a few quid. I did, and it inspired many of my own staff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not that good advice, 17 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
Some good advice, some common sense and lots of self promotion.
Not a must have, but for the price it's ok.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 8 Sept. 2012
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
Inspiring, interesting, entertaining and a good little read right from the beginning with lots of advice that if taken would work well for most things in life. I mean life is a creative process, and if you want to make it interesting for yourself then there are a few tips here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars £6 of brilliance, 23 Sept. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
Had never heard of him, But he's put his fair share of work in. If your a young creative you can not go wrong with this its a book i will keep for yrs to come. real simple read if you hate reading like me!

D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More Sterling than Draper, 23 April 2013
This review is from: Damn Good Advice (For People With Talent!): How To Unleash Your Creative Potential by America's Master Communicator, George Lois (Paperback)
So this will be one of those mind-fuddlers (I'm not allowed to swear in an amazon review, so I creatively use the word fuddle instead) where, if you are critical, its your own fault because you are not getting it. Oh, the snake eating its on tail. I was looking for the bit where he says Hah! Joke! Made you buy it! Mwahaha, your 10 dollars are now MY 10 dollars and I'm the rich one. If I say the author is a tad self congratulatory, that would be an understatement. A nice look back at the good ole days if you have time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews