Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 70% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
19
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 20 August 2003
This is a beautiful book published to complement the stunning Guy Bourdin exhibtion at the Victoria and Albert Museum, London held in 2003.
The book carries all the images displayed in the exhibition in a digtially remastered form with a clarity that makes them hyper real. There are also unpublished photographs and others unseen for over 25 years. This makes for a far superior book visually to the previously published Exhibit A: Guy Bourdin: A Biographical Essay by Michel Guerrin where the photographs seemed subdued and toned down. The book also carries some of Bourdin�s notes which are as seductive as the photographs themselves eg. �Two girls kissing through a sheet of glass� . In depth essays on the photographer's work are also included.
The typography perfectly fits reflects the heady mix of photographic work that is at once typical of the 70s and yet feels as fresh, clean and provocative as if it were produced today. A mixture of material and high gloss image on the cover lend a tactile edge to the book.
Classy, provocative and glacially cool you�ll need a very good coffee table to do this book justice.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2010
Not many books available on Bourdin. This is a good one. I'd disagree with the previous review...
The imagery is exceptionally nice ;) Genius, and a must for all shoe lovers with a dark sense of humour. ;)
Buy It.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2014
The size of the book is rather dissapointing. It should be announced as Pocket size book. Great photos.
But the book is not worth to buy at this size.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 March 2014
Bourdin is a very nice photographer and so he deserves much better books. This small book doesn't help either who is interested in photography nor he who is interested in images. So it is quite uninteresting.
Why does Phaidon (I only bought it ion the confidence I have on the publisher and the artist) makes such insignificant books?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2013
A perfect introduction to the work of Guy Bourdin. A beautifully made little book, which feels much more expensive than it is, with excellent colour reproductions of most of his iconic pictures. Can't fault it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2013
neat small book giving you arange oft he madster's photos especially the cheeky chapess on the front. It is not a coffee table book , more like an aide de memoire so that you cam compose your picture with alittle more humour.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2012
A great little book of works of an amazing photographer.

It is quite a small book, in a way I wish I could've bought this in a bigger format.
Good delivery times, would happily do business with again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2014
I purchased this book because I'm a photography student and big fan of Bourdin but when I got the book I've found out that it was so tiny, the pictures were really tiny prints and not too many, so the book was a bit dissapointing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2013
Too small book... I was waiting a bigger book...not happy with it size... However the photo are great and a great photographer.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2013
Love Guy Bourdin, but I find these small books are a bit of a waste of time. I'd prefer this in a larger size.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)