Customer Reviews


58 Reviews
5 star:
 (44)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic... But be warned!
Having just received my new copy of the 2011 edition of The Silver Spoon, i felt compelled to write a review. Especially after reading some of the many negative reviews about the book.
I am an advanced home cook, my knowledge in cooking is solely theoretical. Going through the book over the last few days i can categorically say that one must possess a higher than...
Published on 31 Oct 2011 by Azais

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking book but badly proof read
I got the new edition of the Silver spoon (red hardback) as a christmas present, This is a lovely book with a thousands of recipes but the problem I found with this book is that the proof reader must have skipped some sections because there are a number of errors relating to page references but a major issue on in the meat section for Pork on the diagram for the Pig...
Published on 9 Jan 2012 by Rhi


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic... But be warned!, 31 Oct 2011
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
Having just received my new copy of the 2011 edition of The Silver Spoon, i felt compelled to write a review. Especially after reading some of the many negative reviews about the book.
I am an advanced home cook, my knowledge in cooking is solely theoretical. Going through the book over the last few days i can categorically say that one must possess a higher than average grasp of the techniques in the kitchen to be able to follow the recipes through with great results.
If however you don't cook very often or lack mediocre knowledge in cooking/baking techniques then i would recommend you dont buy this book.

The ingredients and methodology for the recipes are vague and sometimes lacking even in amounts, This is not a typo but i believe that the book is aimed at accomplished home cooks that don't need every little instruction spelling out for them.
If one was to follow the recipes exactly then this would sure end in disaster for a occasional cook so be prepared! However, if you are in the know, then the book and its contents are superb. it is truly an authentic italian gem!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Warning regarding Reviews!!!, 8 Dec 2011
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
Just thought to mention that the majority of the reviews are made on the previous editions of this book. There are only a few reviews on this edition (with the red cover) so don't get misled when reading the negative reviews and think that they belong to this edition.

I have no idea why Amazon does this but I wish they would stop sticking the older editions reviews to the newer one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looking book but badly proof read, 9 Jan 2012
By 
Rhi "RhiDoom" (hampshire, england) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
I got the new edition of the Silver spoon (red hardback) as a christmas present, This is a lovely book with a thousands of recipes but the problem I found with this book is that the proof reader must have skipped some sections because there are a number of errors relating to page references but a major issue on in the meat section for Pork on the diagram for the Pig cuts, where half of the cut descriptions are missing and sadly I don't think the Pigs leg is on it's back. Otherwise the book it brilliant with lovely images and nicely categorised sections.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this book!, 29 Jun 2012
By 
J. R. Jones - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
I love this book! I have been cooking from the recipes in this book for several years now and every one has been a success. Many have become family favourites. As you explore the recipes you will become proficient in Italian cooking, grow a moustache and start calling yourself Mario. Italian cooking is the best in the world; this book demonstrates why.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Everything you could ever need to know about Italian Cooking, 20 Mar 2012
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
I love Italian food. Simple, and with a focus on the best presentation of fresh ingredients. Of course, not being Italian and not having been immersed in an Italian grandmother's cooking throughout my childhood, I'm sure that my main experiences of Italian food is one degree removed from the real thing.

For those who, like me, do want to experience the real thing comes The Silver Spoon, a comprehensive cookbook of regional Italian food. The blub claims that this is Italy's best selling cookery book (although, at 1504 pages, I'm not sure a word as simple as "book" covers this. "Tome", perhaps, or is that a little pretentious?), and I can easily believe it. Over the 60 years that this book has been published in Italy, it has evolved into the definitive source, containing over 2,000 recipes and around 450,000 words. It is weighty too, at 3.2kg, it is the second heaviest cook book I own, the weighty crown won by Larousse Gastronomique at 3.4kg!

The book is broken down mainly into the constituent parts of a meal, with colour coded chapters on: antipasti, first course, eggs and frittata, vegetables, fish, meat, poultry, game, cheese, desserts and finally a chapter on menus for festive occasions and one on menus by special chefs. Within each chapter, the recipes are arranged by the main ingredient; so, for example, all cauliflower recipes are together. The recipes are generally short, avoiding over complication; most of the recipes are unaccompanied by photos. This is a book stuffed full of text, designed to live in the kitchen and be used. It's not one for the coffee table.

Talking of cauliflower, we tried the cauliflower with ham; where boiled cauliflower is then roasted with ham, parmesan, boiled eggs and fried breadcrumbs. It sounds unconventional, but was actually delicious, with the flavours blending well together, offset by the crunch of the breadcrumbs. And this shows the big advantage of a book like this: it's so comprehensive that no matter what you have in the fridge, there will be some new recipe to try.

Some of them are surprising to me, and show that, if nothing else, traditions can change. I'm not sure you would have found recipes for chutneys, burgers and tagiatelle with yabbies, butter and sesame seeds when the book was first published in 1950. And I'm not quite sure how keen I am on any of the eleven recipes for brains.

However, this book does deserve to fight for a place on the cookbook shelf, as a definitive source for Italian recipes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars mama mia, 11 May 2013
By 
E. A. Edge (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
excellent soooo many superb recipes didnt know where too startg.

should last me a lifetime although the binding could be improve
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 14 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
Excellent price, fantastic pictures and tasty recipes for every course. I highly recommed this book to anyone interested in Italian cooking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My favourite cook book, 21 Aug 2012
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
It's thicker than any cook book I have, with probably three or four times as many recipes, yet in three years I haven't found one recipe that doesn't work. Extraordinary, virtually every dish is delightful. We have at least 50 other cook books but this is the one to get if you don't have it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good but let down by poor proofing, 26 July 2012
By 
Andy Charles "Born to read" (Newbury UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
The abysmal proof reading almost ruins what is an otherwise superb "reference cookbook" on Italian cooking. I really expect better from Phaidon (or any publisher), especially for an expensive purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars So much more, 3 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon (Cookery) (Hardcover)
This is a brilliant book whose range is massively wider than italian classics. It would almost serve as the only book you really need for european cooking. Structure works really well and it has a very comprehensive index, which you need.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silver Spoon (Cookery)
The Silver Spoon (Cookery) by Phaidon (Hardcover - 24 Oct 2011)
20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews