Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum!
Cake, pudding, tart, and biscuit making is a great skill which, fortunately, anyone can learn without too many failures on the way. The results are not only much healthier than commercial offerings (since you are in charge of what goes in them), but invariably taste better as well. You won't find anything in "The Art of French Baking" about bread or savoury baking but, if...
Published on 22 Nov 2011 by Thomas Holt

versus
26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the art of french baking
On appearance this is a great book, the methods, the content the and feel.
However after trying several recipes i have found all of the measurements to be inaccurate.
As with every cookbook all recipes have to be tried and tested? this surely is not the case. I am becoming more and more disappointed with what i feel, should potentially be an excellent book...
Published on 5 April 2012 by Iain Mcneil


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 28 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars the art of french baking, 5 April 2012
By 
Iain Mcneil (leeds, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
On appearance this is a great book, the methods, the content the and feel.
However after trying several recipes i have found all of the measurements to be inaccurate.
As with every cookbook all recipes have to be tried and tested? this surely is not the case. I am becoming more and more disappointed with what i feel, should potentially be an excellent book.
It does make me question how many people are compelled to write a review on the books great appearance and content, without actually using it? I feel compelled to write this review after the disappointment of buying the book on the strength of these reviews I have read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 33 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Yum!, 22 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
Cake, pudding, tart, and biscuit making is a great skill which, fortunately, anyone can learn without too many failures on the way. The results are not only much healthier than commercial offerings (since you are in charge of what goes in them), but invariably taste better as well. You won't find anything in "The Art of French Baking" about bread or savoury baking but, if you can live with this, you will find hundreds of delights than anyone can make at home, irrespective of experience.

The presentation of recipes is terse, apparently making assumptions about the knowledge of the reader. In fact, the organisation of the book is designed to make recipes quick and easy to follow, with minimal repetition. This is brilliantly achieved by sections on equipment, ingredients, techniques, glossary, and a final page of general recipe notes. So, before trying a recipe, particularly if you are new to baking, I suggest reading all the non-recipe content of the book. I would also recommend reading the basic recipes section - since patisserie baking is based on combining quite simple skills to achieve a possibly complex objective. Generally, the recipes are quick to prepare, rarely involving more than an hour in preparation and cooking time (excluding chilling time). An addition to the original book (published 70 years ago), are recipes from some noted French chefs, showing you how the building-blocks approach can reach levels of great sophistication. But, try the simple stuff first!

I'm very impressed with the production of this book. It's binding is a soft-feel plastic that will wipe clean and not get damaged too easily. It has two place-marker ribbons, uses an attractive and easy to read typeface, and contains enough high quality matte pictures for you to know what your efforts should look like.

A great book, by a great author, on a great subject!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best cookery book ever, 13 April 2012
By 
SJ Kelly (Sutton Coldfield, West Midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
This purchase was made for my daughter whom I saw perving over it in Waterstones, although at full price (£24.95) she was unlikely to buy it so I made it a surprise Christmas gift. She is absolutely overjoyed with this bible of French Pastry cooking. We have already been treated to some of the best pastries we have eaten outside of France by my daughter who has meticulously followed the recipes, all then baked in the Aga to perfection. Recipes are simplicity itself and we are now being treated to random bakings all from this book on an almost weekly basis. I do not belive you could find a better instructional book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mistakes in the recipies, 5 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
It was the book I highly anticipated. After the Silver Spoon (Italian cuisine), I was sure this will be as good if not better. When I have received it, I was very pleased, a lot of receipes, all the classics are there, introduction chapter, tips and basic recipes. Now after I tried to bake a couple of things, I am very sad to report there are mistakes in the recipies. E.g. page 236 Galettes from Nantes: the ingredients list calls for 2 egg yolks, but nowhere in the preparation you are asked to add them, only use them for brushing. Ok, for a more experience baker, it is a no brainer, you add them because the dough doesn't come together, but for a beginner, it might be a real turn off. It's a brilliant book, but needs to be re-checked and re-printed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars soo cute, 14 Nov 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
this book is really for the experienced baker as the recipes are very brief. you need to know what you're doing. the illustrations are are adorable and the photos are also very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comprehensive and Authentic, 14 Mar 2012
By 
Simon Tavener - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
One of the joys of my holidays in France has been the chance to sample the wonders of the many patisseries that are to be found in every village and town. Finding a book that encompasses all the regional varieties and specialities is not easy and whilst this is not the complete encyclopaedia of French baking, it is probably as close as you are going to get (and more than you will ever need.

It is a very cleanly presented book - clear instructions and ingredients that are readily available. There isn't a photograph for every recipe - but I can live with that. The glory of the book is the fact that you have hundreds of recipes - some very simple, some more complicated - but all very authentic and enough to keep a keen baker in the kitchen for many, many months.

I think any baker would be delighted to have this as part of their collection - it is one of those essential reference guides that you will return to on many occasions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 24 Feb 2014
By 
Gail Jones (Sydney, Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
The recipes look good and the pictures interesting.
I have baked two of the biscuit recipes so far, on both occasions the cooking times were completely off. Ten minutes in recipe, actual times, twenty-five etc. Cookies did not spread and stayed in the "walnut shaped" balls I was told to place them on the tray in.
Also how can a french cook book be based on cups and Fahrenheit? It's to inaccurate for baking.

Overall very disappointed in the recipes, may look nice, but that's not the point of a cook book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Rather Disappointed, 22 Sep 2013
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
This book has plenty of recipes covering most aspects of French baking but not many illustrations. Most of the recipes do not have a description, so without a photo, I wasn't sure what some the recipes actually made. The instructions were sometimes not very clear so this would not make a good book for beginners or those who are not familiar with baking techniques.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars French Baking, 21 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
I purchased this book last year, and it's good, very good culinary french cuisine. I have tried a few recipes and have put my individual twist to them, to make it my own, as I believe these recipes should only be a guide to creating brilliant food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Baking at it's best, 2 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art of French Baking (Hardcover)
This book has become my companion. Easy to read and a good read to. I have baked some of our favourite tarts and am looking foreward to cakes etc. This really is the art of French baking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art of French Baking
The Art of French Baking by Ginette Mathiot (Hardcover - 1 Nov 2011)
£19.96
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews