Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intro
Nan Goldin has been producing intimate and sometimes confrontational images of her circle of close friends for many years and her body of work grows as time goes by. This book by Phaidon serves as an excellent taster to the type of images Goldin produces. Her work is raw, intimate, sexual and, at times, unflinchingly horrific.

Before you write her off as a...
Published 21 months ago by Brian Hamilton

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formats ruins the imagery
Book was tiny not what I expected, wouldn't have bought if it had been described correctly feel robbed. format ruins the imagery don't buy this format.
Published 5 months ago by Rob


Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intro, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Nan Goldin has been producing intimate and sometimes confrontational images of her circle of close friends for many years and her body of work grows as time goes by. This book by Phaidon serves as an excellent taster to the type of images Goldin produces. Her work is raw, intimate, sexual and, at times, unflinchingly horrific.

Before you write her off as a peddler of pornography I urge you to view this book, the images taken of her friends as the menace of AIDS reared its head are genuinely moving. We see Goldins close friend 'Cookie', first marrying her lover, then burying him and, a scant two months later, lying in a casket herself. Birth, growth, hope and death are all displayed sensitively in an intensely moving set of images that will make even the stoniest of hearts beat in sympathy.

Goldins work can be discomfitting but it can never be accused of being dishonest.

I recommend this book as a worthy primer to her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formats ruins the imagery, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Book was tiny not what I expected, wouldn't have bought if it had been described correctly feel robbed. format ruins the imagery don't buy this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have read reviews, opps!, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
I should have read the reviews, hence the low star rating so that others will actually notice my review. The book is very small! Comes with a big sticker on the front saying 'Pocket sized', shame that's not on the pic'. Really disappointed as the content is beautiful, warrants a big book and higher price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
the product was brilliant, came really quick, quicker then expected. Who loves Nan Goldin and her work, really like this book. Its everything you need in a small packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book on some of Nan Goldin's best photographs, 25 Dec 2010
By 
dnassib (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
A great little guide to Nan Goldin's work, containing some of her most representative photographs. Almost as good as a concise wee guide can get - excellent as introductory reading or as a gift for photography fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Loved this book I would diffidently buy more books on Nan Goldin. The book is small in size but the photos make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
sexy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GOOD SERVICE, 23 July 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
THE BOOK ARRIVE ON TIME, BUT IT WAS A SUPRISE TO ME, THE SIZE OF THE BOOK; IS VERY SMALL
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nan Goldin (55s)
Nan Goldin (55s) by Nan Goldin (Hardcover - 17 Sep 2010)
7.17
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews