Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intro
Nan Goldin has been producing intimate and sometimes confrontational images of her circle of close friends for many years and her body of work grows as time goes by. This book by Phaidon serves as an excellent taster to the type of images Goldin produces. Her work is raw, intimate, sexual and, at times, unflinchingly horrific.

Before you write her off as a...
Published on 20 Oct 2012 by Brian Hamilton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, a Surprise!
The Book was not as good as I was led to believe it would be, although the photos were very good as per Nan’s exceptional standards, there was too much writing and not enough photos. I was also surprised at the size as I obviously missed the size of the book (if it was given) and surprised by the very loosely termed “Photos of Nan’s family”.
Published 2 months ago by Keith J Bookreader


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent intro, 20 Oct 2012
By 
Brian Hamilton "brianhamilton14" (Scotland, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Nan Goldin has been producing intimate and sometimes confrontational images of her circle of close friends for many years and her body of work grows as time goes by. This book by Phaidon serves as an excellent taster to the type of images Goldin produces. Her work is raw, intimate, sexual and, at times, unflinchingly horrific.

Before you write her off as a peddler of pornography I urge you to view this book, the images taken of her friends as the menace of AIDS reared its head are genuinely moving. We see Goldins close friend 'Cookie', first marrying her lover, then burying him and, a scant two months later, lying in a casket herself. Birth, growth, hope and death are all displayed sensitively in an intensely moving set of images that will make even the stoniest of hearts beat in sympathy.

Goldins work can be discomfitting but it can never be accused of being dishonest.

I recommend this book as a worthy primer to her work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Yes, a Surprise!, 25 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
The Book was not as good as I was led to believe it would be, although the photos were very good as per Nan’s exceptional standards, there was too much writing and not enough photos. I was also surprised at the size as I obviously missed the size of the book (if it was given) and surprised by the very loosely termed “Photos of Nan’s family”.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Should have read reviews, opps!, 22 Aug 2013
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
I should have read the reviews, hence the low star rating so that others will actually notice my review. The book is very small! Comes with a big sticker on the front saying 'Pocket sized', shame that's not on the pic'. Really disappointed as the content is beautiful, warrants a big book and higher price tag.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Formats ruins the imagery, 3 Feb 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Book was tiny not what I expected, wouldn't have bought if it had been described correctly feel robbed. format ruins the imagery don't buy this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Small book, 17 Sep 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Small version not a coffee table size
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
the product was brilliant, came really quick, quicker then expected. Who loves Nan Goldin and her work, really like this book. Its everything you need in a small packaging.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars not very good given they are a gift for someone, 8 Dec 2014
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Opened up the package to find every book cover is damaged, not very good given they are a gift for someone. Very disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great little book on some of Nan Goldin's best photographs, 25 Dec 2010
By 
dnassib (Athens, Greece) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
A great little guide to Nan Goldin's work, containing some of her most representative photographs. Almost as good as a concise wee guide can get - excellent as introductory reading or as a gift for photography fans!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 10 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
Loved this book I would diffidently buy more books on Nan Goldin. The book is small in size but the photos make up for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 17 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Nan Goldin (55s) (Hardcover)
sexy
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Nan Goldin (55s)
Nan Goldin (55s) by Nan Goldin (Hardcover - 17 Sep 2010)
£7.17
Not in stock; order now and we'll deliver when available
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews