Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference material.
I didn't expect so little text when buying this book, there is a small paragraph on roughly every 2 pages. I think rather than being a greatly informative book it is an amazing introduction to photographers you may not have seen work by as there are a lot of images in this book by a wide range of photographers.
Published on 22 Jan 2011 by RustyAnchor

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars superficial primer
I found this a little disappointing. Some very good photographs and occasional good discussion, but at the end I felt I had not learnt anything new. A "see inside" feature might have allowed one to make a better assessment. For a beginner this might be an interesting book.
Published 21 months ago by Dr Ricardo Davidson


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great reference material., 22 Jan 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
I didn't expect so little text when buying this book, there is a small paragraph on roughly every 2 pages. I think rather than being a greatly informative book it is an amazing introduction to photographers you may not have seen work by as there are a lot of images in this book by a wide range of photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A primer book!, 6 Jun 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
Loved this book. Basic but full of deep concepts to understand photography. The examples are chosen carefuly, the print reproduction is the best I have seen. I recommend it to all if you want to know about this art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stephen Shore's guide to the visual messages of photographs, 12 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
I did not expect this to be some sort of "viewing manual" on photographs. Stephen Shore guides the reader through different types of photographs.
I enjoyed most of the photographs a lot and I also am taking advantage of the suggestions on how to look at pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice, 30 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
A nice book to an understanding of the basic principles of photography, inside pictures chosen by Stephen Shore. A book that I think that every beginner, who wants to go a step further beyond the world's reality, must have it in the library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect book to know masterpiece photographs, 1 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
One page, one image. Nothing to say, this book is a matter of observation printed in a proper size and good quality paper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars superficial primer, 20 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
I found this a little disappointing. Some very good photographs and occasional good discussion, but at the end I felt I had not learnt anything new. A "see inside" feature might have allowed one to make a better assessment. For a beginner this might be an interesting book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The nature of photographs: THE primer., 28 Feb 2012
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
Stephen Shore is perhaps one of the most important photographers since William Eggleston and this book is a very useful introduction to the reading of photographs instead of just looking at them.

It is beautifully printed with a wide range of images and minimal but just enough text. A useful addition to anyone's photography collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars learning from the history of photography, 22 Nov 2011
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
Refreshing is the simple but effective way in which Stephen Shore conveys the essential aspects of photographs by presenting a varied and coherent selection from throughout history (made by professional and anonymous photographers) accompanied by pointed explanatory notes.
Treating three levels of meaning - the physical, depictive and mental - Shore clarifies what can make a photograph interesting and valuable, whatever the circumstances of its making. His approach stays close to the photographer's perspective, much in continuation of John Szarkowski's seminal book The Photographer's Eye. The result is a topical publication, quite relevant in this age of profuse digital image making, without loosing itself in the idiosyncrasies of today.
Image and text are in good proportion, the layout is pleasant, the whole achieving a calmness and ease rare among present-day publications on photography.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Lessons from a Master, 28 July 2011
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
With his pioneering photography of Seventies and Eighties, New Yorker Stephen Shore helped change the course of the medium. Along with a handful of others, he was responsible for establishing colour photography as a legitimate and quite potent format for artistic expression, in a world where - up to then - only black & white had been taken seriously. His work continues to have a profound effect on successive generations of photographers. In 'The Nature of Photographs', he draws our attention to some of the more subtle dynamics at work when we evaluate a subject, compose a shot, and later how we 'read' the resulting photograph. It's a book about visual perception as much as anything else and is indeed an excellent primer for photography students or anyone else who'd like to go beyond simply taking photographs at face value and understand the complex range of grammar that photography can access.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Nature of Photographs, 22 Mar 2011
This review is from: The Nature of Photographs: A Primer (Paperback)
Very interesting with a variety of everyday look at life in an exploratory and questioning way, an excellent starter for rejuvenating ones own approach to taking photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Nature of Photographs: A Primer
The Nature of Photographs: A Primer by Stephen Shore (Paperback - 26 Jun 2010)
10.47
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews