Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! - But at the same time.....
First off I do think that this book is a masterclass in food photography, recipes (and the writing of them) and landscape photography. The one area for me in which this, otherwise well crafted book, falls apart is the layout. Why on earth did they feel the need to have the photos in one half and the recipes in the other?! Fair enough, if you are going to put the name of...
Published on 17 Jan 2011 by monkey duster

versus
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh
Yeah, I know there are recipes in the back of this book, but it seems more like a coffee table book than a recipe book. I haven't made any of the recipes in this book, and seriously don't intend to. After reading the recipe for sourdough bread (Bread, Butter and Fat recipe) and recognizing that they skimmed over the process a bit, I have no faith in any of the recipes. It...
Published on 28 Dec 2011 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant! - But at the same time....., 17 Jan 2011
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
First off I do think that this book is a masterclass in food photography, recipes (and the writing of them) and landscape photography. The one area for me in which this, otherwise well crafted book, falls apart is the layout. Why on earth did they feel the need to have the photos in one half and the recipes in the other?! Fair enough, if you are going to put the name of the dish on the page as well (see Recipes from a 3 Star Chef Limited Edition for the more user friendly way of doing this), but no - I have to find a certain contents page and then flip back through, though to be fair I do believe the publishers were trying to create some sense of atmosphere and place through doing this.
But I should point out this is the only negative that I can take away from this beautifully crafted book. It really does take you to a time and place through the images of windswept Nordic beaches, and brilliantly natural looking food. It even inspired me to do a few dishes at work inspired by this book and Quay (both of which have consumed my time outside of work).
So to put this down, as some have, just because you can't get your hands on a few handfuls of sea buckthorn, is plain wrong. It is a wonderful book, which gently sweeps you along for the ride (even if you do have to flip a few pages every so often), that fully deserves the praise that has been heaped on it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Noma, 10 Nov 2010
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
This book is ridiculously beautiful. You expect nothing less from Phaidon,
granted, but still, NOMA is quite something. Granted exclusive access to
NOMA archives, including diaries, team profiles, and even with a nice pull
out map of the Nordic region, NOMA is a definite buy for those who want an
inside peek into what was voted the world's greatest restaurant. The
recipes may not be for those who would rather beans on toast as they are
quite elaborate and imaginative. There are of dishes served with flowers,
one recipes involves cooking veal for ten hours (sleep, anyone?), and
another dish involves egg smoke. Sourcing ingredients may take some time,
but should not be a deterrent. As long as you know you won't find
Icelandinc Moss Seaweed in your local, erm, Iceland. But, but, but, NOMA
will inspire you and give you ideas, and still a lot of the recipes can be
followed. The pictures are very exquisite, and if you're aiming to impress
a date with your more delicate side definitely try out something like
`Steamed Egg White and Birch Wine, Wild Mushrooms' which contains
ingredients you should find on most high-streets, and went down a treat at
home last night. The book is quite big, and it's not bad for the coffee
table either, to persuade your friends that you really have advanced from
the days of pasta and pesto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 3 Mar 2011
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
I bought the book at last after many contemplations. Wish I bought it earlier. Many great ideas that are suitable for a pro kitchen, maybe need adapted to suit a busy enviroment and consistency.
What I find particulary great is the fact that the recipes are seperate on different paper. Text is not easy to read on high gloss photo quality paper. The reference from photo to recipe and vice versa is easy to use. More of these please.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars One of if not the Best, 29 Oct 2010
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
Noma is one of those cookbooks I buy mainly so I can look at food produced by one of the most exciting and talented chefs on earth rather than actually cook lots of stuff from it. Many people will find the recipes contained within the book heavy going- the ingredients are often hard to come by and the techniques fairly advanced. Although, unlike some other cookbooks (The Fat Duck Cookbook and Alinea for example) at least some of the recipes can be attempted at home. For the price the book is good value for money with stunning photography of all the dishes. My only criticism would be it can be difficult to match the pictures to the recipes as all the pictures are at the front of the book and the recipes at the back. This is not a problem for books like Gordon Ramsey's recipes from a three star chef as it tells you the page number where the recipe is located. Noma does not-you have to find a series of contents pages which then tell you (a) what the dish was on page 100 for example and then (b) the page number where you can find the recipe for that particular dish. Apart from this I would have given it 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars meh, 28 Dec 2011
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
Yeah, I know there are recipes in the back of this book, but it seems more like a coffee table book than a recipe book. I haven't made any of the recipes in this book, and seriously don't intend to. After reading the recipe for sourdough bread (Bread, Butter and Fat recipe) and recognizing that they skimmed over the process a bit, I have no faith in any of the recipes. It seems to me that this book is design over function, i.e. I have to wonder if recipe instructions are truncated to ensure each recipe fits on one page. .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Probably Isn't the sort of cookbook that you'd reach for a dinner inspiration, 18 Dec 2011
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
Having waited nearly 6 months for my Amazon pre order to arrive I will give a my review:
Noma is fast becoming a household name. The restaurant won the top spot in the San Peligrino World's Best Restaurant awards in 2010, ousting El Bulli from first place. Then there was its recent appearance on Masterchef the Professionals where we were given an insight into the restaurant's ethos of using highly seasonal, often foraged produce and the exquisite precision of their presentation.
Head chef René Redzepi has created a truly unique restaurant that is clearly destined for long term greatness. With the recent release of his cookbook, Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine, maybe we can try to recreate some of this greatness at home.
It's an impressive book that requires two hands to be picked up. There is an introduction by the artist Olafur Eliasson and Redzepi then explains the philosophy behind his two-Michelin-star restaurant. This is followed by over 200 mouthwatering, full page images of the restaurant's dishes, the ingredients and local suppliers. Finally, the book is rounded off with 90 recipes that were created by Redzepi and served at Noma.
The photos are the main attraction in my opinion. I find it a little strange tha lay out of 1st half photos 2nd half recipes but the presentation of the dishes that Noma produces is breathtaking, it's like artwork that you wouldn't really want to destroy by eating. As you'd expect from a Copenhagen-based restaurant that is known for its use of local produce, some of the ingredients in the recipes will be a little hard to source in London, but I'm certainly going to give it a go.

Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine probably isn't the sort of cookbook that you'd reach to one evening for dinner inspiration, but it's a joy to browse through. I'd put it in the coffee table cookbook category.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A show of art, 9 May 2011
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
Genious book. Not so much because of the recipes and such, but the pictures are just excellent! This is more a book that shows art, so if you want recipes, straight forward, steps 1,2,3 you got the wrong book. Other than that it's just great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Concorde speed, 21 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
In the afternoon one day, the next day at one a clock a man belt on my door: "Here is a pack from England,
and this after the Concords deaths.
I'm much contended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Noma time and place, 20 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
this book was a Christmas present for my son who is a chef and he was very pleased with it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine, 26 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine (Hardcover)
The "Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine" book arrived in good time and in good conditionand was exactly as ordered.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine
Noma: Time and Place in Nordic Cuisine by Christine Rudolph (Hardcover - 16 Oct 2010)
£25.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews