Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle  Learn more Countdown to Prime Day Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars21
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:£8.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 October 2010
This concise book follows the style of the other photography books in the Phaidon mini-series. it is not designed to be an encyclopedic, coffee table sized book of Bailey's works but succeeds in giving the reader a taste and overview of Bailey's style. It was enough to make me want to explore his work further without buying a huge tome.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2013
One to flick through rather than study cover to cover. The older generation will remember David Bailey from the Olympus Trip TV adverts; the younger amongst us can just enjoy the art in his photography!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 September 2014
David Bailey a photographer of my generation only he became famous and I didn't.
I found an interview with him interesting though I am not keen on people who laugh at their own jokes.
Still I wander off the point of this short story.
This little book is similar to another by him called Exposed. Both well produced books of mostly portraits, a lovely one of Jack Nicholson amongst others.
If you are into books like this do get it, everyone should have a book by such an iconic British photographer, one who annoyed the fashion photography establishment of the day by changing the way people took fashion photographs for ever.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2013
Another nice addition to my photographic library. A small and easy to keep book, I should probably have purchased a larger version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2014
Book was tiny not what I expected, wouldn't have bought if it had been described correctly feel robbed. Don't buy this format.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2013
It goes without saying that there are some great photographs in this book, but I got the feeling that the early career in the sixties for which David Bailey is always know was over looked in favour of the later part. Great photographs of his current wife are more prominent that his other love interests which is also a shame, but for a small book it is not a bad introduction and one well worth having from this series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 November 2011
I got this for a birthday present. It is a brilliant little book. Would recommend it to anyone who is interested in photography!
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 January 2013
I'm a photography student so naturally i wanted a book featuring some of the best peices by David Bailey.
This is such a cute little book with many photographs its insightful and interesting to look through, however i do wish the book was bigger and had a little more of his more famous work in here. its great but you could probably hire a book from the uni library with more in!!
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
would be nice if amazon (or the sellers) mentioned the books' dimensions. it's a good book, but only tiny.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 January 2013
A lovely little book to carry with you as a reference to the many facets of Bailey; for a man who occasionally displays a 'couldn't care less' attitude, the photographs betray a fastidious craftsman who flits across styles and always is thought-provoking and controversial. Full of carefully crafted work that has kept him on - or very near - the cutting edge for decades.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.95

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)