Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Sized Bailey
This concise book follows the style of the other photography books in the Phaidon mini-series. it is not designed to be an encyclopedic, coffee table sized book of Bailey's works but succeeds in giving the reader a taste and overview of Bailey's style. It was enough to make me want to explore his work further without buying a huge tome.
Published on 28 Oct. 2010 by S. Jeffery

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor format
Book was tiny not what I expected, wouldn't have bought if it had been described correctly feel robbed. Don't buy this format.
Published 12 months ago by Rob


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pocket Sized Bailey, 28 Oct. 2010
By 
S. Jeffery (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
This concise book follows the style of the other photography books in the Phaidon mini-series. it is not designed to be an encyclopedic, coffee table sized book of Bailey's works but succeeds in giving the reader a taste and overview of Bailey's style. It was enough to make me want to explore his work further without buying a huge tome.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Inexpensive book for the coffee table, 10 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
One to flick through rather than study cover to cover. The older generation will remember David Bailey from the Olympus Trip TV adverts; the younger amongst us can just enjoy the art in his photography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The man who changed the way fashion photography was done., 30 Sept. 2014
By 
Mr. M. Yeats (Plymouth, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
David Bailey a photographer of my generation only he became famous and I didn't.
I found an interview with him interesting though I am not keen on people who laugh at their own jokes.
Still I wander off the point of this short story.
This little book is similar to another by him called Exposed. Both well produced books of mostly portraits, a lovely one of Jack Nicholson amongst others.
If you are into books like this do get it, everyone should have a book by such an iconic British photographer, one who annoyed the fashion photography establishment of the day by changing the way people took fashion photographs for ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative, enjoyable, 6 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
Another nice addition to my photographic library. A small and easy to keep book, I should probably have purchased a larger version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor format, 3 Feb. 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
Book was tiny not what I expected, wouldn't have bought if it had been described correctly feel robbed. Don't buy this format.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Early Career?, 12 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
It goes without saying that there are some great photographs in this book, but I got the feeling that the early career in the sixties for which David Bailey is always know was over looked in favour of the later part. Great photographs of his current wife are more prominent that his other love interests which is also a shame, but for a small book it is not a bad introduction and one well worth having from this series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Briliant, 14 Nov. 2011
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
I got this for a birthday present. It is a brilliant little book. Would recommend it to anyone who is interested in photography!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great cute book...Could be more to it though, 28 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
I'm a photography student so naturally i wanted a book featuring some of the best peices by David Bailey.
This is such a cute little book with many photographs its insightful and interesting to look through, however i do wish the book was bigger and had a little more of his more famous work in here. its great but you could probably hire a book from the uni library with more in!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Enigmatic Mr B, 16 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
A lovely little book to carry with you as a reference to the many facets of Bailey; for a man who occasionally displays a 'couldn't care less' attitude, the photographs betray a fastidious craftsman who flits across styles and always is thought-provoking and controversial. Full of carefully crafted work that has kept him on - or very near - the cutting edge for decades.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 9 Dec. 2014
This review is from: David Bailey; Look (Hardcover)
Perfect online transaction
+++++RECOMMENDED+++++
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

David Bailey; Look
David Bailey; Look by Jackie Higgins (Hardcover - 17 April 2010)
£7.16
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews