Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets Kids In The Kitchen
"The Silver Spoon for Children" is a fantastic scaled down version of the classic recipe book "The Silver Spoon". It gives a great selection of recipes that both kids and adults can have a go at attempting. There are also simple, great illustrations to help guide the user through the steps. Even reading the short sideboards of the history of the dish helps the young chef...
Published on 23 Jan. 2010 by TVickers

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing exceptional
Given the write-up this book was given in the paper I was expecting something great, but it all seems pretty run-of-the-mill stuff. Quite disappointing!
Published on 14 Dec. 2012 by Penelope Hall


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gets Kids In The Kitchen, 23 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
"The Silver Spoon for Children" is a fantastic scaled down version of the classic recipe book "The Silver Spoon". It gives a great selection of recipes that both kids and adults can have a go at attempting. There are also simple, great illustrations to help guide the user through the steps. Even reading the short sideboards of the history of the dish helps the young chef get involved with the food they are creating. The book is appealing to the eye and not overly complicated, so kids (and adults!) have an easy time creating interesting, tasty and healthy dishes.

It gives a good solid foundation of classic, Italian recipes that, once learned, kids can build on and continue making into adulthood. Not only do my kids enjoy using it, but it is also my gift of choice to friends with children. It is a great book to help kids learn how to cook proper, healthy dishes from a young age.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book, 20 Jan. 2010
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
With beautiful illustrations by Harriet Russell this really is a fantastically engaging Italian cookbook for children and to be honest adults alike - I'm 33 and have found it to be a great source for learning to cook and enjoy Italian food, and I can heartily recommend many of the recipes.
A favourite at the moment is the Chicken with Mascarpone but this changes quite regularly! The great thing is that Phaidon Press have put together a book that is easy to follow and at the same time also manages to not be condescending.
With lovely photos that show what the outcome of your endeavors should look like and an illustrated step by step guide for each recipe, as well as lots of funny, humorous and wonderfully surreal moments to make the experience of cooking Italian food even more enjoyable and exciting.

A truly wonderful book for children that adults can learn a lot from too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Children's cookery book that actually captures the child's imagination!, 12 Jan. 2012
By 
My 9 year old son loves cooking but had got very bored with the usual run-of-the-mill Cooking For Kids sort of books and isn't quite up to the next step of Nigella, Jamie or Delia. Having been to Italy and loved the food he saw this and thought he would give it a try and he has now cooked several things from it, all with great results. Instructions are clear, preparation simple, and the food is getting high scores from any appreciative adults who have been cooked for. Very well worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant cookbook, 7 Jun. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
I bought The Silver Spoon after I was recommended it on holiday in Italy last month. It is a great book but it's huge and slightly daunting. I then was given this version for children come up in my amazon recommendations. I bought it and it has fast moved into my most favourite cookbook. I am an adult so not the actual target audience but its just a lovely book that allows you to learn the Italian way to cook all the favourites. So if you're an adult don't be put off that its aimed at children. Its 40 of the favourite recipes taken from The Silver Spoon so you won't miss out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Grown up cooking for kids, 11 Jan. 2013
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
My 9 year old daughter was given this book a few weeks ago and has not stopped cooking since! Sometimes she begs to be allowed to cook lunch as well as dinner. She has managed to follow the recipes without any adult help at all, and is learning a great set of skills. The results are lovely and much appreciated by her parents and older siblings. Great to have a book with grown-up recipes that are appealing to children and adults alike! Definitely recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect kids recipe book, 14 Dec. 2013
By 
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
Beautifully presented, lovely and useful illustrations, just the right recipes to appeal to children and learn real cooking skills - not just treat food with minimal actual cooking and preparation that you find in many cookbooks aimed at kids.

I just wish there were more in the series to cover other cuisines.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Spoon for Children:, 2 Jan. 2011
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
I was very pleased with this book.It was a lovely annual size book and well set out with pictures for children to understand.It was far better than I was expecting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Nothing exceptional, 14 Dec. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
Given the write-up this book was given in the paper I was expecting something great, but it all seems pretty run-of-the-mill stuff. Quite disappointing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Low satisfaction, 4 Jun. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes (Hardcover)
The book offers good fun to kids but the recipes are not really interesting! The design is really good and the photos very attractive!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 28 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Bought this as a gift and it has been greatly appreciated. It arrived really quickly and I was very impressed with the service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes
The Silver Spoon for Children: Favourite Italian Recipes by Harriet Russell (Hardcover - 24 Oct. 2009)
£10.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews