Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Architectural Bible
I am blown away by this book. It's the best compilation of contemporary architectural designs I have seen in the most sumptuous and accessible format. The photos and plans of the projects are wonderful and really allow you to experience the building, logistically and artistically.

The book is organized via regions which are then broken down with maps to show...
Published on 5 Nov 2008 by sminda

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century World Architecture
For those of you who have a very sturdy coffee table this is a very good centrepiece if your Alvar Aalto flower vase looks a little lost. It does what is says on the tin, which is give a worldwide view of contemporary architecture categorised by world regions.

The book is literally a weighty tome as it tries to cover all corners of the globe, indeed it comes in...
Published on 23 Jun 2010 by Nick Brennan


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Architectural Bible, 5 Nov 2008
I am blown away by this book. It's the best compilation of contemporary architectural designs I have seen in the most sumptuous and accessible format. The photos and plans of the projects are wonderful and really allow you to experience the building, logistically and artistically.

The book is organized via regions which are then broken down with maps to show you the exact location of each building making it really easy to use it as a reference tool. The inclusion of key data and descriptive narratives fully round off each building giving the necessary information with which to grasp the amount of work that went into its construction/act as a point of inspiration.

The Atlas is a must for all architectural practice/students and an ideal coffee table book for anybody with the slightest interest in design. Trust me, once you start turning the pages you will become more interested than ever. Simply stunning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiration for the concrete jungle, 18 Nov 2008
By 
Guy Rogers (Calgary, Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A magnificent book, which is indeed current to within the last year, including buildings such as `The birds nest' used in the Chinese Olympics and Toronto's ROM, but not their recently updated AGO.

The buildings are described well in the text along with Architectural designs and copious images of the building from internal and external sources.

The layout is done well by splitting into continents and then countries and maps to should proximity. Which if one is travelling to an area, makes it easy to go and explore some of the buildings in the book.

Phaidon consistently publishes well put together books and this keeps up the trend. Like the Phaidon Design Classics set, this book comes in an interesting `carry case', as it is quite heavy !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Value - fully detailed, carefully chosen case studies of great architecture from the last 10 years, 2 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Usual price for this product is 100, so this really is a great saving. The photography in this book is of the highest standard (as far as architectural photography goes) and every building included is absolutely unique. Several shots of each building are displayed, both interior and exterior, and some at night, some in the day which adds a bit of variety when you are looking through a selection of over 1000 designs. You get some books where it seems as if the authors have just picked what they could find and then wrote about it, but whoever compiled this knew what they were doing. The case studies are interesting and describe the different buildings in detail, and you get the distinct feeling that anything that should have been included, is.

There is a mixture of commercial and residential architecture, and anything residential included really is of the highest standard, and seems to be selected for pushing new boundaries of architectural or interior design in some way. It is difficult to fault this book, you can't carry it around as it is very heavy and for this reason includes a plastic carry box to store it in. The graphic design and layout is very clear and text is well laid out, and all relevant to each case study. Population and demographical information on each content is also added to each section, to add a little more overall perspective of a world view of architecture, and attitudes and design is shown to vary massively from Asia to Europe, or North America to South America for example. Another useful addition is the cost of construction, although many are "confidential", which is a little annoying if you are thinking of building something similar and are given no idea of the cost, although the architects are included for each building and cross referenced at the top of the page, so you can flick to one of their other projects, which is a thoughtful and logical addition.

This is a book you would probably want to keep for a long time, and of a high quality which seems very rare nowadays.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture, 20 Jun 2009
By 
Eydun Waagstein (Torshavn, The Faroe Islands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I saw this reference book in the bookshop in Walt Disney Concert Hall in Los Angeles in May, and thought: "I must buy a copy, but it's to heavy to take along to my homeland, The Faroe Islands." I admit, that I took a picture of it, as to not forget. When back at home, I ordered it from Amazon.co.uk. After some 10 days it landed here, at a cost that I would not believe, in comparison with the quality of the work.
To anyone interested in architecture, design, colours, and what we human beings surround us with, this work gives a perfect glance at what is being created around the world in the 21st century. It illustrates in high class photographs and short and precise informative text, all sorts of buildings around the world. Diveded into the continents and countries, the book is easy to navigate in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 21st Century World Architecture, 23 Jun 2010
By 
Nick Brennan (North Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
For those of you who have a very sturdy coffee table this is a very good centrepiece if your Alvar Aalto flower vase looks a little lost. It does what is says on the tin, which is give a worldwide view of contemporary architecture categorised by world regions.

The book is literally a weighty tome as it tries to cover all corners of the globe, indeed it comes in its own neat carry case. However my main criticism would be that in doing so the detail can be a little thin with a selection of illustrations that do not necessarily convey the finer points of the plan, section or organisational strategy.

While in my opinion it is probably too large a review to casually flick through while waiting for your after dinner expresso, and not detailed enough to satisfy those who may want a building monograph, it certainly is a "nice to have" which provides an overview of where architecture is currently heading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Can't wait to see them all, 11 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture (Flexibound)
Loved this little book and can't wait to visit all the buildings shown in it. A fine book on modern architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Superb book for people interested in architecture, 1 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture (Flexibound)
This small, compact book is excellent and contains hundreds of buildings of great interest. Small enough to take on trips, if seeking out the buildings. Very thorough in its content and well worth the money. I recommend this purchase!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great book!, 21 Sep 2012
By 
Kieran Mcghee "Mr McGhee" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture (Flexibound)
Lovely book, though I didn't think it would be a pocket book. Still a quality product. Top little book. Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars comprehensive compendium, 19 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture (Flexibound)
Bought it 'cause I'm in it. but as all comprehensive compendiums it is usefull for a fast overview of some good offices (not all , not even close) and after a couple of years it feels somewhat dated, maybe because of it's lofty title. Imagine how difficult it will be to keep it interesting when the oeuvre of these 21st century world architects was produced in the first years of the century. If updated I hope to hold my place or will be scrapped and replaced by someone new which will show the evolution.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing book!, 14 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The book was an amazing gift for my friend. It is beautifully made and is of very good quality and amazing pictures.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture
Phaidon Atlas of 21st Century World Architecture by Phaidon Editors (Flexibound - 24 Oct 2011)
11.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews