Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

56 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From Albarello to Zsolnay, 16 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
The product description doesn't really do justice to The Pot Book. This is a huge, heavy book, and beautifully printed. If you plan to use it as a coffee table book, be sure to choose a sturdy coffee table.

Each of the first 300 or so pages consists of one large colour photograph (roughly 18 x 20 centimetres), usually of a single pot. Below each picture is a brief description of the pot and the potter, with cross-references to others who have influenced or been influenced by him/her. There is a fuller account of the pot and/or the potter alongside.

The contents are arranged alphabetically, and include a taste of every potting age from the ancient to the modern. Many of the pages concentrate on one potter, while others deal with periods, styles or materials - so there is a page for Majolica (cross-referenced to Albarello, Delftware and Luca della Robbia) and perhaps more surprisingly, a page for Cornish Kitchen Ware (cross-referenced to Carter Stabler Adams, Leeds and Midwinter). Following the cross-references can take you on a potting journey - for example, from Cornish Kitchen Ware to Leeds, and from Leeds to Christopher Dresser and the Elers Brothers, while the Elers Brothers page points you to Kirsten Coelho and John Dwight.

Of course there are "only" just over 300 pages, so you might find that Edmund de Waal hasn't picked your favourite person/period/style. For instance, I'm pleased that Luca della Robbia has an entry, but mildly disappointed that the (English) Della Robbia Pottery is missing. And if I were being very pernickety, I'd say that the balance between ancient and modern is a tad too much in favour of the modern for my taste. Nevertheless there are plenty of names I know among the three hundred, and lots of names I'm looking forward to learning about.

The remaining fifteen pages consist of pictures showing potters at work, a glossary of terms and styles, and a comprehensive index, but I could live without those - all I really need is the encyclopaedia of amazing pots and their stories.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book for Professional & Amateur Potters, 1 Dec. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
My husband has been a professional potter since 1970 and has always admired the work of other craftsmen. I have purchased this book as a Christmas present for him and having browsed through it I know it is going to give him hours of pleasure looking at beautiful work by many well-known potters. He is still making pots at the age of 76 and it is a true saying that old potters never retire!! Edmund De Waal has produced this beautiful volume for everyone who is interested in ceramics and I think it will be greatly treasured by those who buy it.
Ann Bean, Helston, Cornwall
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The wide world of pots by a master potter, 8 Jan. 2012
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
From a major contemporary potter, and one most recently revealed as a best selling family memoirist, now comes an enormous, beautiful anthology of the huge variety of objects from all ages that are 'pots', from simple functional vessels to wild flights of fancy. A lovely book, combining lightly-worn scholarship with excellent photographic images
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully put together, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
If you're a ceramicist looking for inspiration, or just a lover of beautiful objects, this is a wonderful book to own. The full-colour images are of very high quality and each is accompanied by a few hundred words of text giving the background of the piece. The text covers historical context, techniques and details of the maker.

This is a pretty hefty book - definitely one for the book-shelf rather than the bus!

I brought this to give myself inspiration for my own ceramics and keep finding myself going back to it. A useful source book, as well as a delightful object to own and share.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and informative book, 11 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
Wonderful illustrations of a wide range of pottery from ancient to modern. Only slight criticism is that potters' marks are not included. Where applicable this would have made a valued resource for anyone interested in collecting studio pottery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brilliant "coffee-table" book, 22 Jan. 2012
By 
Michael Boswell (Norwich, Norfolk United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
Just wonderful for dipping in to any time though it could be hard not to keep turning the pages from beginning to end!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
Lots of beautiful pots illustrated, a good reference for anyone who's interested in pottery and design.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pot Book, 6 Dec. 2011
By 
Mrs. Ann Warner Casson (Shropshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
A beautiful and interesting book for anyone who likes pots. Connects to The Hare with the Amber Eyes (same author)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent for pottery lovers, 15 Jan. 2012
By 
B. Donohoe - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
this is a great book for pottery appreciation, with some great ideas and illustrations. one of the best pottery books out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 11 Aug. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Pot Book (Hardcover)
great book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Pot Book
The Pot Book by Claudia Clare (Hardcover - 24 Oct. 2011)
£20.37
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews