Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

29 of 29 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, eccentric, beautiful - and porky!, 22 May 2007
By 
Richard Leader (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
Surely one of the most beautifully designed cookbooks of the year, Pork & Sons is winner of the French Cookbook of the Year 2006 and has now arrived in English here and in the US. The book is nothing short of a love story - one man's love for the way of life that encompasses everything porcine.
The book is illustrated throughout with glorious earthy photos and quite charming cartoons depicting pigs in "interesting" situations. All the chapter headings and recipe titles are handwritten. What we get from this is a general feel of well being, of a rustic, back-to-basics approach to cooking, celebrating flavour and tradition - though Reynaud isn't afraid to break a few taboos.

Pork & Sons contains some 150 recipes ranging from a chapter on black pudding through to some fairly exquisite looking 'party' dishes (read 'restaurant style'). Interestingly, Reynaud isn't afraid to cross the codes - he matches Spanish chorizo with mozerella and basil or French ham with piquillo peppers, where Iberico ham would be the obvious choice.

This review appears in full on my blog site - details in profile (just click my name)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real nose to tail recipe book, 21 April 2009
By 
Alexander Chambers (Rugby, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
I came across the French version Pork & Sons whilst doing a charcuterie course at Auberge de Chassignolles in the Auvergne. As professional cook and pig lover I cannot say that I have seen a better book for range of country style pork recipes, with everything from black pudding, apple, potato & fennel tart to stuffed pigs ears and a few wild boar recipes and a dozen or more terrine besides. The sausage in brioche recipes is inspirational.
What Pork & Sons lacks is recipes to make the sausages and cured meats used in the recipes although with a bit of wit and Google you can make your own, which is probably for the best, since this is a book for the artisan cook rather than the TV dinner cook. If Reynaud writes a book about making sausages and salami then I'll be first in the queue since there is no reference of similar quality.
Pork & Sons is beautifully designed and bound so it would make an excellent present for any foodie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cook book of the year, 11 Oct 2007
By 
Rupert Reeves (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
Having just reared and slaughtered our second lot of pigs this book is everything I need to explore the countless possibilities with pork - beautifully presented and written, everytime I pick it up to glance at a recipe I find myself still reading it an hour later enthralled.
Check out the black pudding and autumn fruits. All in all a stunning book which should be on every pork lovers kitchen table
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A classic, 23 April 2009
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
If you're looking at this book, you must be into your food. To buy this book, you must love pork. It is an incredibly comprehensive book about pigs and pork.

A lot of the recipes are fairly challenging and many require access to parts of a pig that normal folk would struggle to lay their hands on.

It is a great read and full of brilliant photographs. A real guide to how to use all of the pig except its squeak!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious, 8 Aug 2010
By 
Jacie (Manchester) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful recipe book. Highly recommended in every way. Every page makes you want to eat delicious pork!!! Brilliant
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Porc, 29 Oct 2010
By 
adrian fleming (Minehead, Somerset United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
Fantastic book. Usable, provocative and a cover that will amaze you - more cook books should be made in the texture of the content product!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars So helpful., 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
Fantastic cook book. Living in France we tend to eat a lot of pork as it is the best value meat here. Finding different things to do with pork was a struggle until I got this book. Also I suspect that some of the ingredients are more readily availble here than in the UK-Pork cheeks (wonderful solid meaty chunks -try to source then in the UK if you can) and wild boar. Another winner from Stephane-my 4th cookery book from him.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Getting to know the pig, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
A lovely publication the quality of which I have not seen for some time.
Many of the recipes are ideal for using some of the known parts of the pig,
at a time when these are becoming more popular. Would highly recommend
to the pig and pork enthusiast, especially nowadays when pig meat is such
good value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars pork & sons, 31 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Pork & Sons (Hardcover)
a book by stephane reynaud a very good book witch i will read over and over i will enjoy this book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Pork & Sons
Pork & Sons by Stéphane Reynaud (Hardcover - 18 Jun 2011)
£19.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews