Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source of Inspiration
I love this book and can never tire of it, every time I open it I find something new.
Well wort the money, and more!
Published on 12 Oct 2010 by hari

versus
14 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh...
I ordered this after falling for the stunning Vitamin Ph book in this series. I was hugely disappointed in what passes for drawing in contemporary art, just as I was with the work done on the Illustration MA that ran along side my Photography MA. 'Self-obsessed', 'puerile', 'sixth-form' and 'juvenilia' are some of the words that spring to mind; 'elegant', 'inspiring',...
Published on 28 Dec 2010 by MoQingbird


Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Source of Inspiration, 12 Oct 2010
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
I love this book and can never tire of it, every time I open it I find something new.
Well wort the money, and more!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic Value and enjoyment, 8 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book to obtain for a look at the array of post modern art on drawings. Beautifully produced - but text is tiny and printed in grey - which has a lovely visual affect but terrible for my poor eye sight! but HEH - THE DRAWINGS ARE FULL PAGE, OR MORE AND BEAUTIFULLY PRINTED. So treat yourself time and time again at the images to be enjoyed in this book. It is such a good value and a treat to have on any book shelf. So glad that another art student brought it in one day - because a quick look through this and I was home ordering myself a copy. You will see if you buy your own. the paper they use feels luxurious too. Nice to see a work of art on art!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, 18 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
I'm studying Fine Art so it has inspired me with ideas and lots of artists to research whenever I'm at a dead end. The book is printed upon good quality paper and overall, is a special book; however lugging mine around has already scuffed and torn a little :( There is a substantial amount of information on each artist and lots of good examples of their work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
A thorough exploration of contemporary drawing practices, with images from a wide section of the international arts community, highly recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vitamin D, 9 Nov 2007
By 
W. Hussain "Poet-all" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
This is a good book giving a visual and descritive insight into many artists. It explores their view and outlook and anspiration for art. I was recomended this book from my arts mentor to help in my development and feel it has done the trick. it brings art from all over the world and analysis it intellectually. although i don't like some of the art it still gives me an understanding of form and presentation. it is printing on good quality paper and is a book that you will flick through time and time again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good reference book, 8 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
I think this is a really good reference book on contemporary drawing, however if you are looking for something with traditional drawing this probably isn't the book for you.

I am interested to know though about other buyers reviews, the pages on the right hand side of my copy are not cut smoothly so I sent it back as amazon couldn't tell me if it was meant to be like this but the next copy was like this aswell but I am not convinced this is right, the down side to this is that you can't flick through the pages easily and it's not the sort of book you read in one go.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
Great buy. A really nice book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 30 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Ugh..., 28 Dec 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) (Hardcover)
I ordered this after falling for the stunning Vitamin Ph book in this series. I was hugely disappointed in what passes for drawing in contemporary art, just as I was with the work done on the Illustration MA that ran along side my Photography MA. 'Self-obsessed', 'puerile', 'sixth-form' and 'juvenilia' are some of the words that spring to mind; 'elegant', 'inspiring', 'intriguing' and 'sophisticated' are not. (And Vitamin P is not much better.)

If you're into contemporary drawing already, then you probably know what to expect from this book, so what you get shouldn't be a disappointment.

If you're just into drawing FOR THE LOVE OF IT, and not FOR THE FINE ART OF IT, then you may be very shocked by what passes for drawing in this book. Conceptually it's contents may be all kinds of wonderful (though it leaves me cold), but *technically* 99.9% of it is on a parr with what my kids do when they're drawing Pokemon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes)
Vitamin D: New Perspectives in Drawing (Themes) by Igor Zabel (Hardcover - 10 Oct 2005)
25.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews