Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting and unique, 18 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
This book may have very few words written inside it, but to me it says a lot. The pictures are of the highest quality and you can read it over and over again and notice new things everytime, there are so many variations inside, and none of these pictures are themed towards, goths, punks, preps, tradional, gothic lolita or any other trend. Perfect for brightening up your bookshelf and your outlook on fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fashion like Vivienne Westwood meets The Muppets., 22 April 2007
By 
A. M. Metcalfe (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
There's no denying this book's quite expensive for what it is, and as someone who's not used to forking out for books with virtually no words (call me a peasant - English Literature Student habits are hard to kick!), it was a bit of a strange experience to find myself lusting so much after it.

Essentially, it's just a bunch of photos of random Japanese kids - so why is it so special and worth spending 19.00 a throw on?

And my answer? Because I guarantee you'll NEVER have seen anything like what these kids are wearing! It's like Vivienne Westwood meets The Muppets on an acid trip. The sheer detail, colour, creativity of the outfits and the don't-give-a-f**k COOLNESS with which they're worn will inspire you. And the tiny blurbs at the bottom where each fashionista says a bit about themselves and their style are frankly hilarious (Answers to 'What's your current obsession?' range from 'happiness' to 'the line on my head' and 'MMMM' (???) )

Recommended for those of a Punk, Emo, possibly Goth, Electroclash or Hippy persuasion. Mainstream Marks-and-Spencer conservatives won't touch this with a bargepole, whilst Aristo-Goths and Lolitas should probably wait for the up-and-coming sister book, 'Gothic and Lolita', and get that instead.

Overall, I think you've got to be quite into creative fashion to justify buying this book - virtually anyone would find it mildly entertaining to flick through in a bookshop, but you'd probably need to be quite into colourful/DIY fashion yourself if you're going to permanently keep it around your house for reference and inspiration.

In years to come, I hope I'll still appreciate this book - it says a lot about being a teenager.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 'Point of Fashion'- FRUiT-y HARAJUKU FASHION ACTION !, 16 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
In a single word - YES !!!
I got the first book from the Japanese festival in Selfridges a few years ago + a copy for a like minded friend [As buying individual issues of the Mag is pretty expensive] Not since Ai Yazawa's "Gokinjo Monogatari" [Neighborhood stories] Anime + Manga series has so much FASHION ACTION been pressed between 2 book covers, BUY 'Fresh FRUiTs' and then throw out every bit of clothing you own as you realise how bland and unimagitive it is by comparison !!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fresh Fruits, 31 Jan 2008
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
A good book for a flick through for inspiration. Not much text, but some funny anecdotes on the purposes of the outfits and current obsessions of the people in the book. A lot of the styles are generally unwearable everyday, but a good magazine style book. Very inspirational, not just the clothes but the hair styles and makeup. Leave it on a able when your friends come around to seem knowledgable and colourful-its a very eye-grabbing book!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Kawaii desu, 14 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Curious, hilarious and kooky set in rose-tinted plastic box. It may seem that some of these pictures have been staged, but from first hand experience I know this is not the case. Young fashionable Tokyo-ites are stopped and asked if they can be photographed all the time. Quirky comments about the "models" on reverse - name, age and "point of fashion", which means basically where they get their inspiration from. Oversized postcards with a really charming quality - the cutest of which I have sent to friends, the funniest I've kept for myself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just as good as the first..., 18 Jan 2006
By 
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
Thanks to my art teacher I have discovered the world of FRUITS!!
This book, is very interesting, there are many different variations going on inside, so much to see, it almost feels as if your there at times. The pictures are of the highest quality and details are given for each photo or person in the photo.
Very interesting book, great for getting ideas, or inspiration.
A very fun book to hold and to cherish...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I know its gonna be great!, 2 April 2006
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
Hey, i got fuits from a book stool at my college, having never herd of it before i just had to buy it because it looked so cool and it was such an inspiration, since treating myself to it i have been wearing colourful outstanding clothing almost everyday. so i just know that the second book will be fantastic....cant wait till i can afford it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fresh FRUiTS!, 26 April 2005
This review is from: Fresh Fruits (Turtleback)
YES! I can't wait for this book! Being the biggest fan of Japanese culture/anime/fashion in the UK, I naturally had to purchase the first FRUiTS book the day it came out. When I found out there was going to be a second, I absolutely knew I had to have it! I'll be waiting eagerly for the release date while I flick through my collected copies of the FRUiTS magazines...
There's not really must else to say except, if you consider yourself a big enough fan of Japan, you need to get this book. (And the original one, too!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fresh Fruits
Fresh Fruits by Shoichi Aoki (Turtleback - 20 May 2005)
19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews