Customer Reviews


83 Reviews
5 star:
 (61)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


166 of 167 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The essential guide to Italian cookery
"The Silver Spoon" offers, in over 1200 pages, the ultimate guide to Italian cookery. It is a massive, very heavy book. It is designed to be used, to be explored, to enthuse, to instruct, but overall, to feed your imagination, your palette, your body. And yet it's not a book to leave around casually on the kitchen table … and certainly not the coffee table...
Published on 16 Nov 2005 by Budge Burgess

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Spoon
Lots of unusual Northern Italian recipies but lacking in Southern Italian recipies: shame really because la cucina povera rocks!

It also lacks details of how to make insaccati and real antipasti (i sott'olio). Interesting section on meats and fish though.
Published on 5 Sep 2009 by K. M. Zichittella


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 42 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant - TRULY the only cookbook you'll ever need, 13 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
Not much more I can say, everyone else has already done it. It has prompted me into better eating habits as there is a recipe for all occassions. Some of the recipes look to simple to be as delicious as they are i.e the cabbage soup, but it was fantastic, even my husband enjoys it and he usually manages to trot off to the pub after claiming not to be too hungry on soups nights. It is predominantly Italian but does also feature classics from other nations such as the'English' Bread and Butter' pudding. A must have book, the only one you'll use constantly, unlike the other 10+ 'must have' cookery books I own.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars The Silver Spoon, 5 Sep 2009
By 
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
Lots of unusual Northern Italian recipies but lacking in Southern Italian recipies: shame really because la cucina povera rocks!

It also lacks details of how to make insaccati and real antipasti (i sott'olio). Interesting section on meats and fish though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book for beginners as well as seasoned cooks, 4 Feb 2010
By 
Tamaartje (the netherlands) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
An absolutely brilliant book, and not only if you're a fan of italian food. Nearly al the recipes have less then 6 ingredients in them, making them cheap, mostly easy but not at all less tasty. The index is brilliant, you can find everything on ingredient, so if, like me, you sometimes come home form the (super)market with an ingredient you just HAD to buy 'cause it looked so yummy. Flip open this book and find a recipe to use it with.
It's a great mix of low calorie recipes and more calorific ones. If you're a vegetarian (NOT a vegan)or like me, want to watch your meat intake, you'll find it very useful as well. There are many lovely veggie recipes in there. I don't think the were strictly meant to be vegetarian, the just happen to contain no meat or fish. The courgette charlotte for instance is a feast to the eye and absolutely delicious.
Many of the recipes are really healthy and rely, I think, on fresh seasonable produce, not a complicated list of ingredients. The recipes are meant for the home cook and are very versatile. By 'mixing and matching' you can create meals for special occasions or everyday.
The only down side to the book, for me, is there are hardly any pictures. I love to leave through cookbooks to get inspired by what a recipe looks like. This is not the book for that. But the contents make up for that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


35 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Cover-to-Cover Cookery Challenge, 3 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
Well may be not EVERY recipe in it, but it is certainly worth cooking your way through and is without much doubt my best christmas present this year.
It covers everything, yes everything, and bar the odd (and hilarious) period item like pineapple mousse to have with ham and set russian salad which reveal it's half-century age, this is about as comprehensive a kitchen tool for Italian cookery that anyone could hope for.
I've already done a kitsch chicken in salsa rossa and a braised beef in barolo. It pulls together all the sorts of things you find in writers like Marcella Hazan into a home-kitchen friendly compendium. It also reveals the food culture differences between UK and Italy - the rabbit chapter is one of the biggest meat sections - and pleasingly assumes that you will make everything from scratch.
It's just a great book. Nothing more, nothing less
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Italian cooking bible, 27 Mar 2006
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
This is really the only book you need if you want to learn to cook Italian food. Many of the recipes are very simple, which I think is the essence of Italian food; fresh ingredients, simply prepared. The syle is very matter-of-fact, which makes the more complicated dishes seem a lot less intimidating. It's also very easy to find every recipe you want.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best, not just Italian style, 26 Oct 2005
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
I have owned the Italian edition of this cookbook for years and I can say that it has great recipes that are very easy to follow. It has hundreds of recipes covering Italian classics and many more for every occasion. Every one of them is a success. Just try the pesto: the only receipe without garlic that tastes exactly as it should.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


88 of 99 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Terrible translation, 20 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
The original is indeed an Italian classic.
The problem is the extremely lazy English translation. Italian cook books are full of terms such as 'add the right amount of' and 'until cooked'.
They have attempted to provide quantities and cooking times for the English version but the vast majority are way off. It is obvious that they have never tested the recipes. For example: in one chapter they advise boiling green beans for up to 20 minutes! Later in the same paragraph they warn about overcooking!

They haven't even bothered to list the chapters in English alphabetical order. The chapter titles are translated, but appear in the original (Italian alphabetical) order. This means that artichokes(carciofi in Italian) appear after broccoli! Unforgivable laziness on the part of the publishers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This is THE Italian Cookbook, 22 Jun 2007
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
I have collected cookbooks my entire life, and inherited a large collection from my mother and my grandmothers....... Italian food is one area where I had always been disappointed in the past, the books I had previously bought produced the food you get in restaurants, but not the home made taste of Italy ..... This book is different, this book encompasses all that is Italy, authentic home cooked flavours with professional finishes and know how.... when we are at our home in America we eat out in restaurants a lot, and I find myself craving real food - and that is what it is given here real food that tastes good, looks good and satisfies like no other and such clear step by step recipies I would recommend this book to anyone and everyone wanting to cook great italian food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only cook book you will ever need, 9 April 2006
By 
Mr. Donald J. Boyd (Glasgow United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
Forget the only Italian cook book you will ever need - this is the ONLY cook book you will ever need.
The best thing is that it shows you the basics on how to cook everything. It is especially good for vegetables giving them a totally different slant to what we are used to here in the UK.
Actually it is the best book I've ever bought !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing Book, 24 Feb 2006
By 
Mr. M. Randall (Sale, Cheshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) (Hardcover)
I have a number of cook books ranging from quick meal books to Gourmet cuisine. This book is incredible, finaly offeing cooks a wide selection of classic italian recipes by italian cooks. there's no italian fusion rubish just a book showcasing Italian cuisine at it's finest fresh quality ingreedients cooked well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 39 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking)
The Silver Spoon, UK edition (Cooking) by Francesca Bazzurro (Hardcover - 1 Jan 2005)
Used & New from: £11.06
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews