Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gloriously kitchy & truly British
A real gem for the (secretly) patriotic. This book conjures up images of the traditional Old Blighty we all know from our earlier days. Brilliant!
Published on 12 Oct 2001

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Badly Bound
A lovely book. Nicely printed. Unfortunately has been bound in China with a glue possessing all the adhesive qualities of Labrador slobber. Avoid.
Published on 23 Jun 2012 by Bogbrush


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, Badly Bound, 23 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think of England (Paperback)
A lovely book. Nicely printed. Unfortunately has been bound in China with a glue possessing all the adhesive qualities of Labrador slobber. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gloriously kitchy & truly British, 12 Oct 2001
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think of England (Hardcover)
A real gem for the (secretly) patriotic. This book conjures up images of the traditional Old Blighty we all know from our earlier days. Brilliant!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Almost a masterpiece, 16 May 2014
By 
Davide Tambuchi "Davide" (Italy) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think of England (Hardcover)
Vivid colors, wonderful "kitsch" (some photos are a masterpiece). However, this is not the absolute masterpiece of Martin Parr. The best one is The Last Resort
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable photo collection of all that is England, 29 Dec 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Think of England (Hardcover)
Martin Par casts an ironic eye over what is English. A highly enjoyable book it is a quirky tour round several towns in England. The book consists only of photos apart from a cover note by Gerry Badger and a list of were all the photos are taken. Which it's self is playful in the fact that many of the pictures betray little of there location
There appears to be themes running through the book such as flora displays. By homing in on specific aspects and within those the details of life an overall impression of England is built up. I have 'read' the book several times and I find new things every time. Several images are already firm favourites of mine.
I haven't read any other books of this type but I would recommend this to anyone looking for a different view from a different style of book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars you either love or loathe, 1 Feb 2009
By 
Stewart Mayhew "stumayhew" (Greenwich , UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Think of England (Paperback)
Martin Parr creates some amusing images here , his over saturated style isnt for everybody but he remains an iconic british photographer
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Note to the Author, 14 Aug 2008
By 
Mr. Re Abrams "ENGLISH JEW" (Chester, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Think of England (Paperback)
Note to the author.

Great book and really enjoyed it but WHY HAVE YOU GOT THE WRONG FLAG ON THE FRONT COVER.

The flag you've put in the Union Flag and this is not ENGLAND'S FLAG. If your book was about Scotland or Wales, would you put the UNION flag on those books.

ENGLAND IS ENGLAND and IS NOT BRITAIN.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Think of England
Think of England by Martin Parr (Paperback - 18 Oct 2004)
13.57
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews