Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'Earth from the Air in 365 Days' !!
On first opening this book I was amazed by the sheer variety of the photos it contains. 'Heaven & Earth' covers everything from the smallest to the largest objects in the known universe in gorgeously detailed, full-page pictures. From Carbon-dioxide crystals to supernovae the photos are presented in one of four sections according to the size of the subject.
Each...
Published on 6 Oct 2002 by Ben Leavett

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars intriguing coffee table book
Almost entirely composed of photos- amazing microscopic shots of a butterfly wing,limescale, snail's teeth...aerial shots of river deltas and icebergs...and to me the least interesting section on outer space. A really intriguing book to pick up and peruse but I dont know if you'd go back to it much after an initial browse
Published on 18 Aug 2011 by sally tarbox


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 87 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better than 'Earth from the Air in 365 Days' !!, 6 Oct 2002
By 
Ben Leavett (Kendal, Cumbria) - See all my reviews
On first opening this book I was amazed by the sheer variety of the photos it contains. 'Heaven & Earth' covers everything from the smallest to the largest objects in the known universe in gorgeously detailed, full-page pictures. From Carbon-dioxide crystals to supernovae the photos are presented in one of four sections according to the size of the subject.
Each photo is accompanied by a brief but interesting description of the processes behind each photo written by a highly qualified science journailst.
I chose this book hoping it would be similar to Arthus-Bertrand's excellent 'Earth from the Air...'. In fact 'Heaven & Earth' is in my opinion a better buy, due to the variety of subjects the photos cover and the fascinating image captions. Unlike 'Earth from the Air...' there is almost no repetition of the subjects for the photos.
In short, this is a book that has photos to interest absolutely anyone and would be a perfect christmas / birthday present. Or you could use it to keep the relatives quietly absorbed for a while!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating, 28 July 2006
By 
Claudine PROWSE (Cambridge, Cambridgeshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven & Earth: Unseen by the naked eye (Photography) (Paperback)
I was completely amazed with this book. It really is fascinating getting a different perspective on everyday objects and I spent hours looking at all the photographs: the photo quality is excellent. The book makes an ideal present for anyone interested in either science or photography and you can go through it page by page or dip into it whenever you have a moment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unbelievable, 17 May 2003
This book is astounding in everyway. It takes you on a journey from the subatomic to the unimaginably immense. The pictures in this book are second to non, it is perfect for stiking up conversation when you have visitors. I was bought this book for christmas and could not have asked for a better present. Anybody with the slightest interest in science will love this book, even my mum loved it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A book for all ages, 28 Feb 2009
By 
Mrs. V. R. Kincaid (SW. England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a superb book of images. The hidden beauty revealed through magnification makes creation even more amazing. The whole family from the children to the grandchildren enjoyed studying page after page.A great table book to delight all. I found inspiration in the colours and forms of the images for future art work.For me a helpful resource book.I recommend it highly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars intriguing coffee table book, 18 Aug 2011
By 
sally tarbox (aylesbury bucks uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Almost entirely composed of photos- amazing microscopic shots of a butterfly wing,limescale, snail's teeth...aerial shots of river deltas and icebergs...and to me the least interesting section on outer space. A really intriguing book to pick up and peruse but I dont know if you'd go back to it much after an initial browse
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awe-Inspiring, 27 Jun 2009
By 
Simon Knight "Simon Knight" (Near Gainsborough) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Heaven & Earth: Unseen by the naked eye (Photography) (Paperback)
I agree with the other five star awarding reviewers; this small book contains a diverse range of fabulous natural history photographs. Each photograph is described in a concise paragraph of interesting, informative text which is so often missing from other collections of photographs. My only slight complaint is that the type face used is to small for my ageing eyes. In short this publication is well worth the money asked for it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars heaven and earth, 20 May 2009
By 
B. J. Spink "dandy cat" (england) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
this is a very good coffee table book,It shows pictures of our planet in close up detail.It is not a book to pick up and read but something you pick up then glance through and be amazed at the photography,.Very very good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning, 6 Mar 2003
By 
Ian Norris "icStatic" (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The picture quality is fantastic, if you want something to just flick through, this is perfect. not much to actually read however, each picture only has a sentance or so each. fantastic value for money
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars an amazing book for anyone who's searching, 16 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven & Earth: Unseen by the naked eye (Photography) (Paperback)
it is difficult to give a small description for a book that provides so much information and evidence about matter and living organisms through various imaging methods such as x-rays, microscope, telescope, satellite etc. It starts with the smallest and ends up with the longest and largest of scale and distance. For me, it was simply a mind expanding journey that was made possible by our technological advancements in many fields of science. Many of the technologies used in order to capture such images was not possible 50 years ago so .. if you are interesting in almost anything in the cosmos then I highly recommend it. Kudos to anyone who made this book possible.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting, 19 Jun 2013
By 
Mrs S (Manchester) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Heaven & Earth: Unseen by the naked eye (Photography) (Paperback)
Bought this book as a small gift for my son. Had a quick skip through it and it looks just the sort of thing he is interested in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Heaven & Earth: Unseen by the naked eye (Photography)
Heaven & Earth: Unseen by the naked eye (Photography) by Katherine Roucoux (Paperback - 17 Sep 2004)
7.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews