Customer Reviews


32 Reviews
5 star:
 (28)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most unusual books of the past few years.
I first encountered this books in a hotel bar in Evesham, England, that kept a large collection of comic books and magazines for the use of the guests. I had to ask the proprietor which he thought the most amusing, and he suggested this book. At first while browsing through I thought it extremely funny. It seemed that I knew many of the places included and how strange to...
Published on 31 Jan 2002

versus
1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Ok for a quick look
I was expecting the photographer to have gone back to some of the places the postcards were from and take some updated images, or at least have taken or adapted a few of his own to make postcards.
Published on 8 Mar 2012 by Delaney


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most unusual books of the past few years., 31 Jan 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
I first encountered this books in a hotel bar in Evesham, England, that kept a large collection of comic books and magazines for the use of the guests. I had to ask the proprietor which he thought the most amusing, and he suggested this book. At first while browsing through I thought it extremely funny. It seemed that I knew many of the places included and how strange to for postcards to be produced of shoppping centres and motorway service stations in the 1950s and 60s. But after continued browsing, the book transformed into a celebration of post war British architchture and reminded me of the optimism of that period. The Public we proud of the regeneration programmes after the war and the bright future presented before them. Today, sadly these places don't look so well manicured.
But more surpisingly for me was to find a toward the end of the book a postcard including a view the house where I grew up. My parents still live there...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boring postcards, brilliant book!, 19 July 2004
By 
Mr. P. Lewin "pcwl" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Paperback)
When I first picked this book up in a high street bookshop, I was gripped by it immediately! Even having lived through the 1970s, the decade often called the one taste forgot, I couldn't believe the range of subjects photographed. In the '60s when motorways were new and thus considered exciting, perhaps one could understand the desire to picture the M1, and various parts of service stations. But who on earth wanted to buy photographs showing traffic on the A40, or indeed to celebrate Carlton Court Shopping Centre, Westbury-on-Trym, Bristol (which I've known for 30 years, and it doesn't look any better now than it did then!). Would people be so proud now of Preston Bus Station as they were then? And would anyone really be keen to buy pictures of Butlins' Reception and Dining Halls, or Travelodge bedrooms.
In creating this book, Martin Parr has reminded readers of a now bygone era, when the now hideous was considered magnificent. I could hardly contain myself. If you're 30+ or into architecture, this book is a must-have. As it is if you're a keen photographer, or just want an easy read to make you laugh.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Far from Boring, 15 Sep 2005
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Paperback)
The title of this book is very misleading, because the postcards are far from boring. They provide a fascinating insight into the architecture, cars and clothing of the 1950s and 1960s, with motorways, shopping centres, suburbia, factories, holiday camps, chalets, caravans and much else. I suspect that quite of a bit of what was then regarded as the best of modern architecture has since been demolished, so there are indispensable historical records here too. Nor are the postcards boring on the technical side: the picture of Budleigh Salterton, with its foreground and background, diagonal lines and a wealth of detail, is a brilliantly composed photograph. The picture of the nuclear reactor at Dounreay is like a piece of modern abstract art, with its blocks, cylinders and sphere. Many of the others are also excellent photographs, which is not surprising, as they must have been taken by professionals. This book is stuffed with art and history, and there is not one boring postcard in the whole collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars THE BOOK OF 1999 (and every year since World War II), 9 Dec 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful book. Very funny but also speaks volumes about how we used to view tower blocks, flyovers, shopping centres etc.; as things to celebrated and commemorated in "boring" postcards. Difficult to single out any particular images, but special mention must go to the picture of a caravan park on which someone has scribbled "Our caravan" with an arrow pointing to one of dozens of identical trailers. Rather moving in a bizarre way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A humourous look at the boring bits of Britain, 31 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
This is fascinating in that the postcards were originally released with total sincerity but are now in many cases unintentionally hilarious. There is no text to accompany the postcards, they are allowed to speak for themselves. It doesn't take long to get thru this book therefore but thats probably not the point. The novelty value will probably never wear off with this book. It's good in a historical sense too as we can look back at places from the 1960's that people would otherwise never have thought of taking a photo of (and for good reason). Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime, comic, historic, a must have!, 24 Jan 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Paperback)
This is a very unusual book, but gripping, holding many many photographs of old postcards from a very dull era of the UK, yet they are fascinating to look at today. How architects and builders got away with some hideous buildings only a few decades ago is incredible. What a long way we have come, looking at the exciting postcards for motorways, service stations, power stations and holiday camps amoung others.
This book is very hard to categorise, but once you've seen it, you'll want it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boring, yes, but moving and hilarious, too, 9 Jan 2003
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
I just love this collection of postcards - they are truly mind-numbing, and as I was leafing through the book, my over-riding thought was WHY??? Why on earth would anyone take a picture of the National Giro Centre, Bootle, Preston Bus Station, numerous Forte motorway restaurants and the Bull Ring centre? Perhaps these buildings and roads were something to be proud of when they were built - a brave new post-war Britain. I can see the point of a few of them, but some are just mind-numbingly boring and just plain odd. The oddest, in fact, is Basingstoke. Three pictures in one postcard, all showing the same view of construction work on a pedestrian precinct.
Ahhh - the pedestrian precinct!! How 60's is THAT!!!!!
A great book to have around and a great conversation starter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Strangely beautiful., 2 Feb 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
Haunting and strangely beautiful images. You should be issued this book at birth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential collection of mundane images, 22 Oct 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
A must! With a title like this, you can be under no illusion as to what you are getting. The collection of images of motorways, shopping centres, bypasses and worse effortlessly transcends the original intentions of the postcards themselves. If a book like this can be described as unputdownable, that is how I would choose to describe it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars brilliantly boring, 5 Dec 1999
This review is from: Boring Postcards (Hardcover)
I just love this book - it's inspired me to make my own collection of BPC's, helped by various friends and family - just take a look in your local newsagent, you'd be surprised!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Boring Postcards
Boring Postcards by Martin Parr (Paperback - 1 Feb 2004)
Used & New from: 0.86
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews