Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into minimalist architecture
My own introduction to Pawson was a visit to the Calvin Klein store in New York, which appeared at first glance to be a store with no merchandise! However a little time spent looking around resulted in an appreciation of the architecture possibly at the expense of the clothes themselves.
The book explains admirably how the designer takes a brief and produces what...
Published on 11 Jan 2001

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extra Sleepy
Architect John Pawson set a standard and followed his dreams of a particular type of rendition for life and culture.
Some of us also realized this potential of the spaces he was creating and are devoted students, learners, colleagues.
The first time I saw his work was in a book (Phaidon Press, minimum)and I was so captivated by it, The simplicity of organizing...
Published on 1 July 2012 by B. Waruna Gomis


Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fascinating insight into minimalist architecture, 11 Jan 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Hardcover)
My own introduction to Pawson was a visit to the Calvin Klein store in New York, which appeared at first glance to be a store with no merchandise! However a little time spent looking around resulted in an appreciation of the architecture possibly at the expense of the clothes themselves.
The book explains admirably how the designer takes a brief and produces what are, in my mind, seriously impressive spaces. I will admit though to having some difficulty in seeing how people actually live in such an environment, do the day to day objects reappear once the camera has gone?
I would recommend this book to anyone interested in contemporary architecture and interiors, as a very readable account of the design process.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A long time in coming, but well worth the wait., 2 Aug 2000
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Hardcover)
For the last 10 years I have followed the work of this man, however with the exception of minimum, books on his work have been few & far between. Works brings together ten projects spanning both the commercial & residential aspects of pawson's work. Taking views from the architect, client & critic, it is interesting to read different approaches & reactions to his work. Living in a minimalist barn myself,I was relieved to read that even pawson himself has to adjust to live in this most demanding yet stimulating of environments. I look forward to his next work, although with the content & breath taking photography of this volume, it will certainly be a hard act to follow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Extra Sleepy, 1 July 2012
By 
B. Waruna Gomis (Sri Lanka) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Paperback)
Architect John Pawson set a standard and followed his dreams of a particular type of rendition for life and culture.
Some of us also realized this potential of the spaces he was creating and are devoted students, learners, colleagues.
The first time I saw his work was in a book (Phaidon Press, minimum)and I was so captivated by it, The simplicity of organizing spaces, detailing and the overall 'punch-less beauty'.

There are two types of books for architectural digest, 1. Imagery, followed by a bit of explanation and
2. Books explaining a work through words, this is mostly for academics.

Pawson's work is tactile and graphical and no one can understand architecture clearly through words and phrases.
This is where this book fails, The inspiration almost naught.
Phaidon's books are wonderful productions, graphically stunning and pleasing but this particular one puts me to sleep.
In Architectural books, Customers need graphics to inspire to something good rather than imagine what the actual product is all about through the interpretation of someone else. The book should have had 95% imagery, plans, sketches, architectural photographs. If one rushes through the book it is all about supersimple-details like a faucet, sink bowl, a blandly painted wall which are blown completely out of proportion to the images which should be actually showcasing "SPACE". The small details are great (I guess) but they need not have become so large, how many seconds (or minutes) does one need to study a hole in a sink bowl.

I am too worried about purchasing another Pawson Book as it seems a waste of hard-earned money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Another good architect and fairish architectural book., 24 Jun 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Hardcover)
This book looks architectural: grey and white with tracing paper dust cover. But, what an architect seeks in a colleague's book is to take a look at his frame of mind: what he is up to. This is illustrated with good photos, some computer generated perspectives, a couple of free hand drawings -obviously made for the book and modishly printed white line on grey- some smallish footprints, no cross sections or details. The problem with minimal architecture, which some degrade into decoration, is that it looks cosmetic (exept some outstanding work like the Pawson-Silvestrin Neuendorf villa). The book lacks probing into architecture to see how Pawson makes it work or what he is concealing. More important: there is no insight into his philosophy, process or creative ideas, exept some mention of over mentioned cistercian monks. Instead, after some biographical information and praise, the author (Dejan Sudjic) thickens the tome with gossip about Calvin Klein, Martha Stewart and some insight of U.S.of A. everyday folklore like: quote "never less than tree recreational vehicles, barely house trained pick up trucks, pumped up in steroids so that they require a step ladder just to reach the running board", and rants about Bilbao Guggenheim suitability. This makes the volume a smallish coffe table book. It is a pity because even though his Minimum book is one of the unstopable stream (cataract) of photo-source books, it is quite dignified, probably outstanding, only under
the Stotsass's "The curious Mr. Stotsass". This much waited for book gets bogged into coffe table niceness. Nevertheless it is much better than his ex partner Silvestrin's design nightmare (read my review).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars aspirational minimalism, 11 July 2013
By 
tallmanbaby (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Paperback)
Although John Pawson is typically described as a minimalist architect, this is a simplification.

In terms of minimalism, although his style is certainly stripped down, when commissioned to work on a monastery the monks were worried that it might be too austere for them, it does have a very high end finish applied to it. This is not a book full of stripped back plywood boxes, but sleek luxury faced in mahogany or bespoke stone finishes.

In terms of being an architect, my reading is that he never fully qualified, and most of his work is more about layouts and interiors, than old style architecture.

He is however one of the people who currently influence modern taste, and he has a lot of interesting ideas.

I am certainly not a Pawson fan, as Deyan Sudjic himself notes, it does not tend to photograph well, you probably need to experience it, rather than try to live it vicariously through a glossy photo. However, Sudjic provides a splendid discursive account of Pawson, his works, and tends to digress entertainingly onto the delights of Long Island luxury or the challenges facing retailers. The tone is that of a good long magazine article, rather than a dry scholarly account.

The book is pretty short, it won't take too long to read, and the text is in a stylish grey, which can vanish into the page if you have tired eyes. Otherwise, highly recommended, as a readable and entertaining account of an intriguing figure in modern architecture and taste.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars John Pawson Works, 9 Oct 2009
By 
Joao Pedro Martins (Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Paperback)
Brilliant! His book is well made with good drawings. Could be a bit more insigntfull but nevertheless is great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars minamally awful, 9 Feb 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: John Pawson Works (Hardcover)
I bought this book expecting a fairly in depth and academic review of Pawson's work, needless to say i was let down by a thoroughly unimpressive and apparently un researched book. Throughout the book it appeared that Sudjic was more interested in trumping his friend Pawson, as opposed to any attempt at critical analysis.
Drawings were poorly presented with no north points, scale and a complete lack of coherence. 3D models were used without context and one always got the feeling that this was how they had been used in the design process, ignorant of context.
I dont believe Sudjic made one original comment at any stage in the book, ambiguity seemed the order of the day.
Beautifully photographed, but as a book a missed oppurtunity. I strongly advise anyone interested in architecture against this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

John Pawson Works
John Pawson Works by Deyan Sudjic (Paperback - 23 May 2005)
24.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews