Customer Reviews


79 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (22)
3 star:
 (10)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (6)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational advice for creative individuals!
"The world's best-selling book" (the tongue-in-cheek subtitle), is a great little collection of ideas, suggestions and practical advice from a man responsible for many successful British advertising campaigns over the last 25 years. Although there is a practical bias towards the business world of advertising and media, this book is likely to appeal to any individual who...
Published on 26 Dec 2004 by Tim Burness

versus
17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cheeky and cheap and has a few good ideas.
This is a little book, you can read it in an hour and maybe I should describe it as a cheeky little book. In the inside front cover it sets out to compare itself to Sun Tzu's Art of War and Machiavellis The Prince as a metaphore for business. In my view it is not worthy of the comparison. however I still like the book because with the book the writer is living the key...
Published on 14 Feb 2009 by Steven Unwin


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

74 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational advice for creative individuals!, 26 Dec 2004
By 
Tim Burness (Brighton, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
"The world's best-selling book" (the tongue-in-cheek subtitle), is a great little collection of ideas, suggestions and practical advice from a man responsible for many successful British advertising campaigns over the last 25 years. Although there is a practical bias towards the business world of advertising and media, this book is likely to appeal to any individual who is interested in creativity and thinking for themselves. It is beautifully designed and very entertaining indeed!
In the first few pages, Paul Arden encourages you to set your goals high and aim beyond what you believe you are capable of. Then there are "The Fundamentals" such as "Do not seek praise. Seek criticism", "Give away everything you know, and more will come back to you", "Don't promise what you can't deliver". My favourite is "It's right to be wrong", where Arden points out how anything is possible when you're not trying to be right. The risk is greater, you are in the unknown, but "there's more chance of it being amazing".
A combination of "common sense", awareness, business advice, communication skills, positive thinking, a few presentation tricks and some quirky strokes of genius. Great stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Digestible inspiration!, 8 Dec 2003
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
A fabulous little book. And I mean little. You can read this in an hour but the messages will stay with you for much longer. I would recommend it to anyone looking to rediscover their edge or seeking ways to inject new energy and meaning into their lives.
No bull, this is a great little read. You will not be disappointed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


51 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best of the best, 19 Nov 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
I bought this book shortly before quitting my job.
I was lacking in focus and short of confidence, this is going to sound really cheesy, but this book changed my life.
It gave me the confidence and strength to go for a job in the media which I wouldn't have had the guts to go for before.
One of the quotes from the book is
'If you're in control, you're not going fast enough'
I put myself up there and rose to the occasion
I'm now working as picture editor on a major UK magazine.
This is from someone who's turned around their life in 4 months.
Paul Arden, you are the daddy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It's cheeky and cheap and has a few good ideas., 14 Feb 2009
By 
Steven Unwin "Steve Unwin" (Preston, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
This is a little book, you can read it in an hour and maybe I should describe it as a cheeky little book. In the inside front cover it sets out to compare itself to Sun Tzu's Art of War and Machiavellis The Prince as a metaphore for business. In my view it is not worthy of the comparison. however I still like the book because with the book the writer is living the key message of the book.

To be big, good, great, you have to think yourself big, good, great, and that's what the book does. It proudly claims to be `The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden. For all I know this might be because it's the only book by Paul Arden. But that doesn't matter, it isn't being deceitful, it's the very point of the book. It presents itself as a best seller as part of becoming a best seller. I bought the book at the airport en route to a conference and I suspect that this bold claim tipped the balance in favour of selecting the book over others, so it works.

So it's a small book, easily read and cheeky. What else. Well it's cheap and does have one or two useful ideas. Often the lasting effect of a visit to a conference may be one or two new ideas, so at the price it's a bargain. The book contains lessons, or thoughts from the experience of a marketing man. The final few pages began to feel specific to this target audience, but for the most part the thoughts are widely applicable. It's nicely produced and has plenty of pictures again projecting the message `be what you want to become'.

As an example of what you'll read, I liked the thoughts about right being wrong being right. In a changing world if you think you know the right answer, then it's highly likely to be wrong as the world will have changed since it was right. By the same token being wrong opens up the opportunity of trying new things and maybe becoming right.

It won't make a dent in your wallet or diary and perhaps contains nothing profound, but it illustrates how a simple message can be communicated in a straightforward and concise manner with style so that how you say, reinforces what you say.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful little book, 10 Jan 2009
By 
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
I was drawn by the bold statement on the cover and being a graphic designer, also drawn to the great type treatment! This book is a wonderful companion to motivate anyone in going for it now! Arden's experience is mainly in advertising and his writings ring true for life and for opening yourself to endless possibilities. His advice is honest and brave.

It reminded me of the work of Ariel and Shya Kane and Instantaneous Transformation. By reading their 3 principles which you can find in the book Working on Yourself Doesn't Work: The 3 Simple Ideas That Will Instantaneously Transform Your Life and by attending their Monday night seminars and workshops in New York City, I have experienced countless creative shifts. These shifts have supported me in generating original projects effortlessly at work and in my personal life. Well-being and satisfaction are a part of my day in and day out experience, regardless of the circumstances.

I recommend both Arden and the Kanes as a must on your bookshelf for creativity that translates into productivity and a richer life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Thought provoking and useful for everyone, 26 July 2008
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
Paul Arden's book is a like a breath of fresh air compared to many help or guidebooks out there. The way he combines the images and photographs to highlight the message of the text reflects why he's so well renowned. For someone who isn't involved with advertising or marketing I expected to take away only a limited amount from reading this book. I was pleasantly surprised.

The snapshot way in which the ideas are presented keeps you constantly engaged and thinking. Thought provoking ideas such as - "Don't look for the next opportunity, the one you have in hand is the opportunity" and how we might want to get off a certain job but it could just be the best work we ever do. The idea of "Don't put on a speech, give a show" really hit home. I do speeches and thought that's why people were there, Paul tells us differently.

There's a lot here that everyone who want's to think and act differently will benefit from. A book that you'll read in one sitting and then read over and again. So in case you didn't know, don't covet your ideas and present on a Tuesday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


24 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very inspirational, 28 Sep 2003
By 
Norberto Amaral (Aveiro, Portugal) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
The ultimate aim of this book is to inspire the reader to take his destiny in his own hands, rather than leaving it to others or to chance. For that to happen first of all the reader needs to have a clear idea of where he wants to be in the future. Then it's a question of getting there.
Paul Arden is, or has been, an advertising executive for decades. And although many of his examples are related to the advertising world the 'advice' is always general enough so that any reader from any background can make use of it. Also, it's no irony that you need a advertising executive's suggestions to advertise yourself.
Unlike many other books talking about success, this one is highly readable and interesting for many varied reasons.
For one, it makes the reader understand a totally unorthodox approach to life, work and many generally established ideas. Who says experience matters? If so, what conslation is that to a school leaver? And who says you should respect your cliente 100%?
Secondly, the presentation is very sparse, with only a page or two maximum to cover a subject. Also, there would really be only a handful of pages if the fonte were a little smaller, the sentences a little wider and the nearly empty pages were taken out. However, don't let that fool you, for this isn't a simple book, for the author crams as much possible information in the smallest number words.
Finally, this gives the reader a new kind of hope, one that simply makes sense and because it makes sense, it just has to work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUST HAVE, 15 Aug 2007
By 
Ms. Shahd K. Alhoweish (Jeddah,KSA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
I found this book amazing seriously, at the beginning it took me time to grasp the meanings it had, the i realized its one of those books that you are not suppose to be reading it all at once, what i did was i read two or three things a day and grasp it very well and try to motivate my self on doing it and make sure imagining myself doing it so i could remember if i was in such situiation my reaction would fit. really you will understand once you get this book hope you will think of it the same way i did.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's not how good it is, but how good you want it to be!, 7 April 2007
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
This is a very witty, imaginative and thought-provoking read! It will push you to go that extra-mile and to aim high. And as a bonus, you get some savvy business and career advice! Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspirational Reading, 27 Sep 2008
This review is from: It's Not How Good You Are, It's How Good You Want to Be: The world's best-selling book by Paul Arden (Paperback)
This book was given to me when I started in the advertising industry and has inspired me to push myself creatively and to challenge everything. The book presents a high risk high gain strategy of managing your career by thinking out of the ordinary. I think as a direct result of reading this book I have used the presentation that my boss deemed 'too different' and questioned the norm on a daily basis, which has so far worked out well for me!!

Although this book is obviously been aimed at the creative industries, a couple of my friends read it when we were on holiday (a doctor and farmer) and they seemed to take away as much from it as I did. Takes about 20 minutes to read and leaves you feeling motivated and chomping on the bit to do better.

Ideal present for any career driven person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews