Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 21 October 2004
Bargain!
I am used to buying Architecture course books at simliar prices that do not inspire you at all! The Phaidon Atlas on the other hand is full of inspiration. The book lacks Architectural detail, but as a general look into world Architectue it is fantastic.
Many of the buildings featured in the book are covered in many of my Architecture course lectures. So to have this book, and be able to look at the building prices, location, its architects and their other works is really useful. Most interestingly of all is the chance to quickly compare the different buildings and styles in the same country or continent.
This book would be perfect for anyone looking to go into a career in Architecture, or anyone that appreciates great images of great buildings.
Details, larger Architectural plans and sections and a larger look into Scottish Architecture would make this book even better.
0Comment|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 January 2005
If you only ever buy one book on the architecture of our time buy this one!
Insparational, Beautifuly put together and packed with the information you need to know.
It takes weeks to get through it all and it weighs a ton.
After many of the buildings in this book will crumbled in to the earth this book will still be standing.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2004
So vast it practically needs planning permission, The Phaidon Atlas is self explanatory - if you want to know exactly which countries are leading the way in architectural patronage, just open it up. A colossal undertaking by editor Virginia McLoed, who has overseen the whole project, comprising a massive 7000 images (1998-2003). Designed by hamish Muir the book uses a system of colour coding and cross referencing to help the aficionado navigate the globe. A fabulous book; a true chronical of all the best architecture at the turn of the millenium.
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2004
It is a huge books, in all meanings of the word "huge". Tall, heavy and full of information and photos. As others wrote, it must have been an enormous work to get all this together.
But there are also some negatives: even a book of 8 kilo lacks the space to describe more than 1000 buildings in detail; the fact that it is limited in scope (1998-2003) and outdated by the time you get it; the question "where do I go from here" after seeing all this condensed information together. Maybe it is just too much information.
Still, even with this criticism, it is a book to go through time and time again, and look in awe to all these works.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2004
What an absolutely fantastic book! Even my friends, who are not architects, were thoroughly "wowed" by it. The selection of buildings is stunning and is an inspiration to all who call themselves designers. I would however recommend you take some weight training before trying to lift this book. At £60.00 it is a bargain; I expected to pay around £200.
0Comment|11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 June 2004
Another fantastic book from Phaidon. Well worth the £70 even worth the £100 it retails for. I well recommend this book to any architecture student or anyone interested in architecture.
0Comment|7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2008
A very comprehensive number of references with great pictures from all over the world, and a very massive book so beaware that you will need some space to "operate" the book or a proffessional bookstand will do.
Recommended
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 September 2011
I was really excited to buy this product but when it came i was slightly dissapointed. It is not in a good condition, certainly not the condition i paid for. The corners of the book and creased and there are many folded corner pages. The front cover has folds on it. Very poor condition.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 February 2016
Fabulous
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse