Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Architecture students view....
Bargain!
I am used to buying Architecture course books at simliar prices that do not inspire you at all! The Phaidon Atlas on the other hand is full of inspiration. The book lacks Architectural detail, but as a general look into world Architectue it is fantastic.
Many of the buildings featured in the book are covered in many of my Architecture course lectures...
Published on 21 Oct. 2004 by a_thousand_apologies

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor condition
I was really excited to buy this product but when it came i was slightly dissapointed. It is not in a good condition, certainly not the condition i paid for. The corners of the book and creased and there are many folded corner pages. The front cover has folds on it. Very poor condition.
Published on 3 Sept. 2011 by sazzle


Most Helpful First | Newest First

16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Architecture students view...., 21 Oct. 2004
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
Bargain!
I am used to buying Architecture course books at simliar prices that do not inspire you at all! The Phaidon Atlas on the other hand is full of inspiration. The book lacks Architectural detail, but as a general look into world Architectue it is fantastic.
Many of the buildings featured in the book are covered in many of my Architecture course lectures. So to have this book, and be able to look at the building prices, location, its architects and their other works is really useful. Most interestingly of all is the chance to quickly compare the different buildings and styles in the same country or continent.
This book would be perfect for anyone looking to go into a career in Architecture, or anyone that appreciates great images of great buildings.
Details, larger Architectural plans and sections and a larger look into Scottish Architecture would make this book even better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars stunning, 15 Jan. 2005
By 
Alien (Brighton, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
If you only ever buy one book on the architecture of our time buy this one!
Insparational, Beautifuly put together and packed with the information you need to know.
It takes weeks to get through it all and it weighs a ton.
After many of the buildings in this book will crumbled in to the earth this book will still be standing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Bigger Picture, 10 May 2004
By 
Mr. J. H. Hart "donpizzle" (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
So vast it practically needs planning permission, The Phaidon Atlas is self explanatory - if you want to know exactly which countries are leading the way in architectural patronage, just open it up. A colossal undertaking by editor Virginia McLoed, who has overseen the whole project, comprising a massive 7000 images (1998-2003). Designed by hamish Muir the book uses a system of colour coding and cross referencing to help the aficionado navigate the globe. A fabulous book; a true chronical of all the best architecture at the turn of the millenium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars too much?, 26 Aug. 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
It is a huge books, in all meanings of the word "huge". Tall, heavy and full of information and photos. As others wrote, it must have been an enormous work to get all this together.
But there are also some negatives: even a book of 8 kilo lacks the space to describe more than 1000 buildings in detail; the fact that it is limited in scope (1998-2003) and outdated by the time you get it; the question "where do I go from here" after seeing all this condensed information together. Maybe it is just too much information.
Still, even with this criticism, it is a book to go through time and time again, and look in awe to all these works.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, 18 Jun. 2004
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
What an absolutely fantastic book! Even my friends, who are not architects, were thoroughly "wowed" by it. The selection of buildings is stunning and is an inspiration to all who call themselves designers. I would however recommend you take some weight training before trying to lift this book. At £60.00 it is a bargain; I expected to pay around £200.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Poor condition, 3 Sept. 2011
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
I was really excited to buy this product but when it came i was slightly dissapointed. It is not in a good condition, certainly not the condition i paid for. The corners of the book and creased and there are many folded corner pages. The front cover has folds on it. Very poor condition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Phaidon Have done it again!, 2 Jun. 2004
By 
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
Another fantastic book from Phaidon. Well worth the £70 even worth the £100 it retails for. I well recommend this book to any architecture student or anyone interested in architecture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good 4 students, 16 Dec. 2008
By 
E. Guri (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition (Hardcover)
A very comprehensive number of references with great pictures from all over the world, and a very massive book so beaware that you will need some space to "operate" the book or a proffessional bookstand will do.
Recommended
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Phaidon Atlas of Contemporary World Architecture: Comprehensive Edition
Used & New from: £102.45
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews