Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it!, 12 Aug 2003
By 
sjs101 "SJ" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
This book is amazing, I learnt about FRUiTS by coming across it one day on the internet I had to buy this book, as soon as I found it I ordered it. It is a wonderful collection of photos of japanese teenagers and how they dress. Each page is filled with the excentricity of their bright and outrageous outfits, examples being a man with a paper boy's delivery bag and 1970's punks on the corner of streets.
The book is a must have for anyone interested in fashion, design, art or just the Japanese culture. Inspiration can be drawn immediately from its pages as there is so much action and life in the outfits and settings.
All the people in the book have given a few details about themselves which is typically their age, name, where their outfit is from and their current obsession as well as 'point of fashion' the latter is often answered with oddness such as the 1930's, an alien and a big baby.
Shoichi Aoki has created a wonderful book that does the original magazines justice. Once you have this book you won't be able to put it down every time you look at it there is something new to be found within its beautifully structured pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tasty!, 31 Aug 2004
By 
Mr. G. C. Cutter "cutter_me" (Manchester) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
Well, let me just start by saying you'll never find this kind of fashion sense in Britain! This truly seems to be a movement that could only come from Japan. And you don't realise how much of a shame that is until you look through this book, because page upon page is filled with something that at the least, is interesting, and at the most, completely indescribeable (in the nicest sence of the word). DIY approaches to fashion are married with the premier 'alternative' outlets in Tokyo (Milk seems to be a big favourite) which the wearers use to create personal forms of self expression, a uniqueness that sets them out.
Born out of a zine sharing the same name, Fruits has gradually evolved into a trend setting magazine that thousands read and use as inspiration. The further you read into the book, the more favourites you pick from it; from the Anglophile girl in tartan to the 'ultimate manga cartoon character', the fun that these people are having with their clothes jumps out of the page. Inspirational, evocative and envy-enducing are all words you can use to describe this book, but it's something you really have to see for yourself.
And to prove that this book is more than a senselessly preening vanity project, names and faces are given to the people behind the clothes, with mini interviews for each person. While barely being more than a few lines of information, it shows a personal approach to the fashion, rather than one man photographing the locals in an attempt to exploit them.
Bright, colourful and funny, it makes you wish you had some more interesting clothes in your wardrobe.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fruitful, 21 Jan 2004
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
I was bought this book for Christmas 2002 by my best friend and as a fashion designer I found this books absolutely amazing, it's format is so simple and yet the images offer something new each and every time i review it. It’s a truly fascinating photography book and it's a good read whether you're a creative person or not, ‘Fruits’ offers a great insight into Japanese youth culture without being bias.
I am a huge fan of all things Japanese, especially avant-garde design and found the youth of Japan are at the forefront of quirky and innovative creations. It just shows how influenced we are in the rest of the world by mass-produced fashions and how different we can and should dress.
‘Fruits’ is simply a great book.
I love this book so much that I bought a copy for my friend so that she doesn't have to borrow mine; it's a fantastic gift for anyone.
I give it two thumbs up, 10/10 and a trillion gold stars!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mindblowing and inspirational., 22 Oct 2002
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
This book (calling it a book for simplicity's sake) is absolutely mindblowing, to say the least. It's beyond the "off the rail" and designer clothes that make the biggest impression here (and the goth lolitas, *shudders*), it's all the people getting an opportunity to show their ideas and concepts for a future of fashion on a global scale. It proves that some second hand kitsch, some accessories thrown in and their own little sparkle of inspiration can work beautifully.
This isn't just a book that need be read, it needs to be explored, committed to heart and recreated, not on a exact way, but take inspiration from the designs, the colours and do as they've done and make it your own in your own way.
Don't call this just a book, call this your bible, your inspiration.
If only everyone had THIS much style and creativity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring!, 6 May 2005
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
I looked at this book in a book shop and was there for ages flicking through. I came home and got it (cheaper) on Amazon and now it is my most thumbed book in my collection. Beautiful quality photos with lovely mini interviews with the people to give them identity. No matter what you're doing with your life, you'll find this inspirational. You don't get fashion like this in Britian! brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dizzying array of Japanese eye candy!, 1 Aug 2001
By 
LW Jolly (Reading, Berkshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
This brilliant book isn't fancy fashion photography--it's a series of slides that are made purposely for documentation. The subjects are clearly lit, always centred in the frame. Each page has a little bit of text in the corners--the model's name and age (13 to 25 seems to be the range here), favorite fashion, and "current obsession". Some of the answers to these bare-bones questions are amusing, but the focus and attraction of this book is outlandish streetwear.
And what streetwear! Camden town isn't a tenth as inventive. A dizzying array of styles and colours from head to feet; a mixture of cultures--a Japanese skinhead in suede cowboy chaps; kimonos worn with monster-fur boots; a bevy of little girls who are living dolls; an unintentionally ironic set of identically-dressed "punks"--every page is different from the rest. If you're the least bit interested in costuming and contemporary fashion, BUY THIS BOOK NOW! What a delight and inspiration!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy this and dress like a cowboy. With a zebra print stetson, 22 Jan 2003
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
This book is perfect. It one of the most inspiration books I own and all it is is pictures of japanese teenages stood in the street!
EH?
exactly. Anyone who has ever watched a manga film, or gone to Gatecrasher, or is interested in Graphic Design/Fashion, or..... dressed as a doll while shopping in the local TESCO will appreciate this. In fact EVERYONE will love this.
I keep this book on my shelf at university and more often than not this is the book people pick up first, they'll have a laugh:
"What the hell is this about"
Half an hour later and they'll still be flicking through the pages with a confused but happy look adorning their face. This book is everything I could of hoped for and as stated is definately a hnady tool for those sunday mornings when you need some visual stimualtion and inspiration, whether you are a Designer or not, this book will open your eyes.
Page upon Page of orignal, exciting and amazing fashion, each person carrying a short piece of information usually:
name
age
job
and influences.
If you need a book to genuinely make you smile while inspiring this is without a doubt the choice for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fun Book of Pictures of the Outragious Style of Japanese Youth, 8 Dec 2006
By 
Tony Ukena "TU" (CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
Shoichi Aoki's "Fruits" is a wonderful tribute of photographs of the Youth of Japan. The book is a collection of these photographs. Hundreds of them. Each photograph provides general information about the person such as where they purchased their apparel, their current obsessions, and other cute tidbits.

The outfits are sometimes cleverly stylish and at times ostentatious to the point of severe hemorrhaging humor.

It's the perfect home party book to have laying about on a coffee table. The book celebrates all youth and the beauty of exploring life through looks and styles.

There is an amazing diversity of styles from "barbie doll looks" to "punk looks" to "pro-American" to antiestablishment to intense fashion colors.

Great book if you love style and appreciate the humor of outlandish style.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Boxed Fruits, 23 Mar 2004
By A Customer
Fair enough, there aren't as many photos in this postcard set as in the book, but it still has 45 separate cards. i found this set to be very handy as they were small enough to stick on my wall, send to friends, use in art projects. they also come in very lovely plastic containers, which definatly stand out out from the rest of your books. All in all i think this is a worthwhile buy for any fruits, japan or fashion fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic!, 7 Feb 2004
By 
Mayumiwinn (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Fruits (Vinyl Bound)
This book is amazing. I first came across it during one of my art lessons at college. A friend of mine had it and was using it for her coursework project. Being bored, i flicked through it and found myself occupied for the next hour and a half. Its only about 2 pages of the foreward, then just pictures all the way through. Its fantastic, i could have spent hours just looking at the people in the book. They are all dressed so differently, and not afraid to dress the way they do. This book is inspiring, and has pushed me into really considering something in fashion as my future career. I loved the fact that the people in the book seemed so cartoonish- if you love manga- well this must be where the artists get their inspiration from! (or is it the other way round?) anyway having flicked through the book i bought it on amazon straight away- its definitely worth the money! go and buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fruits
Fruits by Igor Zabel (Vinyl Bound - 1 Jun 2001)
19.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews