Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The photographic bible
This wonderful wonderful book has inspired me many times during my college years. Containing an image from almost every great photographer since the first photographs were produced, and countless contemporary artists, it is sure to offer something to warm, amuse, shock and amaze you everytime you turn the page.

I would most definately reccomend this book to any...
Published on 12 Dec. 2008 by S. R. Melly

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Nice book, Its a bit small...
Wonderful directory of pictures and a pool of visual inspiration (500 images!) The book is simply set out for reference use. Each page contains an iconic, notable or innovative picture, arranged alphabetically by photographer, with a few paragraphs of discussion about the image and/or artist.
I would have liked to have more to read but have I missed the point of this...
Published on 15 Aug. 2009 by David Wilson


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential, 28 Feb. 2010
By 
Justin Scott "jcdscott" (Melbourne) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Photography Book (Hardcover)
When so many photographic books are on technique and equipment, The Photography Book is a refreshing overview of the pictorial aspect of photography. As essential book in any library.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A compact 'history' of photography, 13 Jan. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
Examples of many well known and some perhaps less well known photographers. But also some very big omissions such as no Jane Bown. A larger format would be easier to use, the text in particular is very small and on some pages a bit feint. I have taken to use a magnifying glass to both read the text and the images. A very thick but 'stumpy' book, you need to force the pages open to reveal the full page, but its well enough bound to take this. OK value at £5.72 including postage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Such a tiny book - does anyone want to see photos so small?, 22 Sept. 2011
By 
Gary Parker (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
Nice little book as long as you realise the book is tiny and the photos are half the size of a postcard. That can be so hard to discern when ordering from Amazon!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic book for inspiration, 1 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
Whether you're a passionate photographer or just appreciate the art, this book is a great little source of inspiration. It's great just to pick up and get lost in, or for more serious study and is the perfect size for taking on the go. This is how a compacted version should be done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just too small, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
This is a great book but has been shrunk to 16.4 x 12.8cm which makes it barely legible.
I have good eyesight and struggle to read it. The photos are not big enough to study.
It would be better to buy this book in a larger size from a book shop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good and bad, 17 Mar. 2010
By 
Ginsberg Robert "Rho" (Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
This is an excellent bok, to be inspired by. The pocket format is thou too small. The text is very small, almost not readable and the book is to thick for the pocket format. Buy the larger one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beautifully made, smaller than expected!, 1 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
I bought this as a gift for my sister, it's a beautifully photographed book (as you would expect) but was much smaller than I thought it was going to be! It's a very thick book tho. Overall worth a buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great thought provoking book, 3 July 2014
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
Great thought provoking book, I keep it in the car for when on the school run & I have 5 mins. It is however a small book - great for the car but shame there is not a larger version for home.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Decide between paperback or hard cover to get the most from it., 27 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
A great book, with some brilliant content, but it really comes down to this...

If you're only interested in quickly looking at the pictures, buy the paperback (12x16cm).

If you're are interested in reading any accompanying text, buy the hard cover (25x29cm)

The size of the text used in the paperback is so small that it is pretty much unreadable. I am only using the book to find styles and photographers I like, and look at these in more depth elsewhere, so for me the paperback has been adequate.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect, 19 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Photography Book (Paperback)
On my Daughtrers list for Christmas at the time as she was at Uni studying Photograghy, this book was recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 36 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Photography Book
The Photography Book by Phaidon Editors (Paperback - 30 April 2000)
£6.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews