Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stanley Spencer, the book, 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
this book, which is abridged non the less gives the reader/viewer a sense of the breadth of Spencer's a work. The complete work is even better, but of all the books, catalogues etc, this is the second best. Without the completeness of images any other book can not show the power . Enjoy, what a treat, I wish I was discovering him for the first time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 51 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives the breadth of Spencer, 20th Century master, 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
I have both this book and the unabridged version, for the difference in price this is the best value. In fact I have most books on Spencer and this is the best value. Most importantly only this book or the unabridged version can give the viewer even a sense of Spencers breadth, subject, size etc. He was a master of landscape, portraits and the now recognized complex imaginative compositions that feature his home town of Cookham. He is a 20th Century master and it takes a book of this size and scope to get even a glimpse of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Gives the breadth of Spencer, 20th Century master, 1 Sep 2001
By A Customer
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
I have both this book and the unabridged version, for the difference in price this is the best value. In fact I have most books on Spencer and this is the best value. Most importantly only this book or the unabridged version can give the viewer even a sense of Spencers breadth, subject, size etc. He was a master of landscape, portraits and the now recognized complex imaginative compositions that feature his home town of Cookham. He is a 20th Century master and it takes a book of this size and scope to get even a glimpse of that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The great english master, 25 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
I have been so fortunate that i've seen many of Spencers paintings in England. But when i got this book i was overwhelmed. The thorough text and the many reproductions, makes this item a hit in my bookshelf. All museums in Europe should have had a painting of this great artist - but i guess this is too late now.

Yours Dag Fyri
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stanley Spencer: complete Catalogue, 6 Mar 2011
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
Very informative and detailed catalogue of Spencers life and work. A great introduction to a fascinating and important very British artist.His relationship with his home town providing the crucible in which many of his concepts and feelings were forged. Equally as important to his work as Catalonia to Picasso and Miro. Well produced book and great value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest under-rated artists of the 20th Century, 18 Dec 2009
By 
D. Norwell "Boanerges" (Cheshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
I drive through Cookham on a regular basis with my job and on the corner of the main road, between a small car showroom and a pub is an old white church, which has been converted into an art gallery for the display of Sir Stanley Spencers work.
As you enter this very modern gallery, immediatly greeting you is one of his great unfinished works; Christ Preaching at Cookham Regatta: Listening from Punts. For a very modest fee it is possible to walk round this gallery and view some of his original works. For me, the best thing on display are some of his personal artifacts, snatched from Stanley's life; his paints, glasses and upstairs in a quiet corner keeping watch over the whole gallery, Stanleys pushchair.
If, like me and after visiting, you want a piece of this gallery to take home, then take no other substitute than this book. For the money, it is a great investment and allows you, at your leisure, to view his interesting life in the pictures of Stanley's own making. It is what its says on the cover, a catalogue, beatifully illustrated and written with authority. Some of the paitings are quite personal and will shock a little, but are an honest portrayal of a life lived, not wasted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stanley Spencer, 27 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This is a most comprehensive study and review of Stanley Spencer and his entire works, with details of where his paintings are currently kept, including private collections. It even details paintings and drawings for which there is no current information ( i.e. " lost")

This copy is ex library "Reference" Library, and in very good condition. Also it was a quarter the price of a new copy - which I would not have been able to afford!

For anyone with an interest in Stanley Spencer, the man and his art I would recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 7 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
My wife has been after this book for a long time. Excellent
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent survy of Spencer's work, 12 Jan 2014
By 
John Everard (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
The illustrations are high-quality well chosen and the text is informative and thought-provoking. I think this is a very useful book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Stanley Spencer Catalogue, 9 Jan 2014
By 
Mr. A. Pearce "Adam Agape" (Solihull) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue (Paperback)
Wonderful for me, but this is strictly for Stanley Spencer fans.

Otherwise buy the short book in the 'British Artist' series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue
Stanley Spencer: Complete Catalogue by Keith Bell (Paperback - 10 Mar 2000)
Used & New from: £29.91
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews