Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, generously illustrated
Packed with witty graphic designs from the past three decades. Spares the reader from lengthy analyses; the illustrations speak for themselves. Good source book and a trigger for ideas.
Published on 5 Aug 2000 by antom

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't pay attention to its own message
I couldn't agree with the subject matter of this book more. Wit and humour are without a doubt some of the most important things you can possibly put into your work as a designer. As they rightfully point out it helps to engage your audience, it makes them want to interact with your work and it provides them with rewards that make them feel good.

Why then has...
Published 9 months ago by GOTTON


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good book, generously illustrated, 5 Aug 2000
By 
antom "antom" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
Packed with witty graphic designs from the past three decades. Spares the reader from lengthy analyses; the illustrations speak for themselves. Good source book and a trigger for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars a smile in my mind, 3 Oct 2003
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
This book helped me out a great deal when completeing my Graphic Design degree. It displays a variety of different types of wit, and so many things that are so simple and obviously so effective. It opened my mind to a new world of ideas in design and is a great source of inspiration. It is great to have a flick through when you feel as though you have hit a brick wall! Definitely a must for any design student.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars creatively deep..., 4 Nov 1998
By A Customer
In an era when "graphic design" is reduced to savvy computer skills, it's nice to see a celebration of our most powerful creative tool - the MIND. A must for any designer who wants to think outside the box and inspire others to do the same.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant., 3 Sep 2009
By 
G. Thompson "wheresmespecs" (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
This book is an absolute belter. It just had to be written someday and congratulations to Beryl McAlhone and David Stuart for having the balls to take on this daunting task.

Put simply, it's a book about 'ideas'. As such, it should be compulsory reading for any creative (or anyone else, come to think of it) who's considering entering design or advertising. It really is that important.

I could have done with it forty-odd years ago when I was about to go off to art school and my mum asked "what's graphic design?" It would have answered her question without any need for garbled explanation. Also, I could have used it to wallop the heads of my various dimwitted, Philistine, design tutors who were too stupid and set in their ways to appreciate the emerging relevance, and joy, of 'ideas'.

However, there was one tutor who I wouldn't have needed to wallop: the great Bob Gill. At the time, both he and Robert Brownjohn were (almost) alone in blazing the ideas trail. This book is testimony to the fact that they were on the right track, opening doors for others to follow. Opening this book is like opening those doors. It's a breath of fresh air.

I do have one minor criticism though. While the book features relevant work by people who undeniably deserve recognition, it unnecessarily includes a few design stylist 'luvvies' whose trendy offerings clearly don't fit the categories of 'witty' or 'ideas'.

Apart from that it's a darned good read. And it will make you smile.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the Best Books on Graphic Design, 21 Oct 2007
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
There are hundreds of books at the moment claiming to be the experts on Graphic Design.
Too many either take themselves much too seriously or fall back on the picture book format where
thousands of images lack structure and editing resulting in visual wallpaper.
The classic `Smile in The Mind` however, does neither and has the perfect balance of information and inspiration.
Its no wonder then, it is on the `essential reading' list of any graphic design course worth its salt.
(It could however, be revised to include a few more recent examples)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Recommended, 12 Jan 2010
By 
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
This book was bought as a gift for my great-niece who is now in her final year studying graphic design at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art, Dundee, Scotland.
She was delighted with her gift. Apparently it is a book highly recommended by all her tutors. Unfortunately, there is only one copy in the college library and the demand on that is high, hence her delight in having a copy of her own.
I think the fact that this book is so highly recommended by experienced graphic tutors and lecturers speaks for itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Didn't pay attention to its own message, 10 Jan 2014
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
I couldn't agree with the subject matter of this book more. Wit and humour are without a doubt some of the most important things you can possibly put into your work as a designer. As they rightfully point out it helps to engage your audience, it makes them want to interact with your work and it provides them with rewards that make them feel good.

Why then has this book lost two stars in the rating?

Simply because the authors have not heard their own message. The writing in this book was about as engaging as a school textbook. Everything was analysed and broken apart well but it lacked the wit and humour that helps greatly in more than just design but in all aspects of learning as well. If the content of this book had a bit more of what they were discussing built into it then this would have been a five star book. As it was it ended up being a long winded book that, as with all overly analytical books, started to kill its subject matter through boredom.

Overall not a bad book and an interesting topic but it could have been covered better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Terrific! Fun to read, easy to savor, 2 Jan 1998
By A Customer
This book goes beyond just a collection of pretty graphics. It brings you into the process of creativity. That is unusual and commenable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A designer's bible, 15 April 2011
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
I cannot think of a single area of the design industry that would not benefit from this book.

From cover to cover, it presents ideas, methods and inspiration, along with clearly worded (and witty) descriptions/narration.

Honestly, the content far surpasses the price. Don't bother lending the book from a library - This is one of those books you'll always end up going back to later, so I suggest having it on hand.

If you're a professional, a student, or freelancer, this will evolve your craft. Even those who aren't in the industry can be enlightened by this.

Hats off to Beryl and David, they've made a staple read for any designer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Brings a smile to the Face, 26 April 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design (Paperback)
My brother asked me to order this book as it was recommended by his course Lecturer. (He's doing a graphics course)
It arrived really quickly and well packaged as always.
Full of bright clear images, as well as easily comprehended text. He is very pleased with it and feels it is value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design
A Smile in the Mind: Witty Thinking in Graphic Design by David Stuart (Paperback - 13 Aug 1998)
£16.97
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews