Customer Reviews


11 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
Anyone interested in photo journalism should buy this book. Salgado is one of the great photographers of our times and this is undoubtedly his most powerful book to date. Some of the images have become 20th century classics, such as the Brazilian gold mine and the Kuwaiti oil fire series. Others are less well known, but almost all the sections of this remarkable book are...
Published on 14 Jan 2001 by crispianb@hotmail.com

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars to the photographs - 1 star to the book
Workers includes some of the most famous shots by Salgado alas the layout of this book mortifies them, they are printed over two pages with the binding ruining the pictures, it's a pity.
Published 17 months ago by Di Marino Maurizio


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 14 Jan 2001
This review is from: Workers: An Archaeology of the Industrial Age (Paperback)
Anyone interested in photo journalism should buy this book. Salgado is one of the great photographers of our times and this is undoubtedly his most powerful book to date. Some of the images have become 20th century classics, such as the Brazilian gold mine and the Kuwaiti oil fire series. Others are less well known, but almost all the sections of this remarkable book are filled with stunning images that have been beautifully reproduced.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars 5 stars to the photographs - 1 star to the book, 29 Mar 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Workers: An Archaeology of the Industrial Age (Paperback)
Workers includes some of the most famous shots by Salgado alas the layout of this book mortifies them, they are printed over two pages with the binding ruining the pictures, it's a pity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 1 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I like it. Very inspirational. Those pictures tell's a story which will make you think about human and his nature.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heart-gripping and masterful use of a life of photography., 9 Sep 1998
By A Customer
I saw this book while traveling and vowed to buy it when I returned home. In our own way, we can communicate the width and breadth of human experience. Even by looking at our differences, we can be closer. We can empathize and make our experiences more poignant.
P.S. Clarification of other reviewer: Black & White photography, not "Black Photography."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars incredible photos, 1 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Workers: An Archaeology of the Industrial Age (Paperback)
Althought the quality of the printing of the photos could be still better;
since Salgado is very precise about that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Workers by Salgado, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Workers: An Archaeology of the Industrial Age (Paperback)
I own the other book by Salgado about Africa , i would rank Salgado as on of the three
best photographers ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must-have book for anyone interested in photography, 1 Nov 1998
By A Customer
As an amateur photographer I find Salgado's book inspiring but also a little depressing...the pictures are so good I just wish I had one tenth of his skill. The thing that stands out about these pictures is the scale: a man standing next to an enormous oil tanker for example. The quality of the photography and printing in the book means it is easily worth £80. Based on this book Salgado is in my opinion the best photographer alive. I highly recomend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece, 2 Jun 2006
This book is full of incredible, powerful photography. Although Salgado is clearly expressing a political viewpoint, there is never a feeling of being patronised or preached to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, 19 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Sublime Photo documentary
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Powerful, 30 Jun 2004
This is an excellent book that made my back hairs raise. It really made me stop and think. This book is a valuable addition to my collection of books with great photographers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Workers: An Archaeology of the Industrial Age
Workers: An Archaeology of the Industrial Age by Sebastião Salgado (Paperback - 28 Aug 1997)
£36.42
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews