Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (11)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible bargain
Only a fiver for all this information! The pictures are glorious and some of them are a revelation. Don't believe the bit about "no information" either: each picture has an informative caption describing the work, the artist, and their importance. There is also a useful glossary that doubles up as a concise history of art.
Published on 20 Oct 2000

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed
Plus Side

-Small so quick to read
-Covers quite a lot of artists

Minus Side

-Only covers one piece of work per artist - some great artists deserve much more than this
-Not actually that much depth on each artist
-Not much pre 18/19th century art
-Heavy bias towards artists from the American and European continents (only...
Published on 29 Oct 2011 by L Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An incredible bargain, 20 Oct 2000
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
Only a fiver for all this information! The pictures are glorious and some of them are a revelation. Don't believe the bit about "no information" either: each picture has an informative caption describing the work, the artist, and their importance. There is also a useful glossary that doubles up as a concise history of art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Art for people who love it and people who just like looking, 21 Oct 2001
This review is from: The Art Book (Hardcover)
This is a well-informed book, thoroughly researched and beautifully laid out so one can leaf through it at random, letting one's eye linger over the many visual treats the book holds between its covers, or quickly flick through it in one go until a particular picture takes one's fancy. It mixes the well-known with the obscure, such as Roy Lichtenstein's In The Car (which has been an ad campaign favourite of companies on both sides of the Atlantic virtually since its 1963 creation) and Rene Magritte's Treachery Of Images (one of the artist's lesser-known but still very striking works). It is informative about each featured artist, giving a little biographical information, such as family background, when exactly in life the artist started painting, what their social circumstances were and how this affected their creative mindset, if at all. It is a very well-balanced book, giving equal space to the stars of the art world, such as Magritte and Da Vinci (it's a sign of the book's strength that Mona Lisa is just another highlight.) as it does to lesser-known artists, such as Lichtenstein. In each case, the painting, rather than the artist, is the star.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fantastic Book, 26 April 2005
By 
Louis "lk28" (uk) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
Sadly the large editions of this series are just too expensive for my budget. What a great idea to bring out a small edition for about 1/3 of the price!
The pictures in the book are excellent, considering it's size. A wide range of genres are included. Most of the page taken up with full colour photograph with information above and below.
Although, of course, you do lose something with the pictures being smaller this is the same with any book of photos of art - they can ever compare to the real thing. But then that is not the intention of a book.
A must for any student studying Art, and anyone interested in looking at the art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, 23 July 2006
By 
Spider Monkey (UK) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Art Book (Hardcover)
This is a beautiful and inspiring book to flick through. It is perfect coffee table material and great to dip into at odd moments. The quality of the paper is really good, as well as the reproductions of the art inside. This is a wonderful overview of some of the greatest art and artists that the world has seen. Simply stunning.

Feel free to check out my blog which can be found on my profile page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put it down, 17 July 2004
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
The reason why i bought this book was as it was on my university book list. I'd passed the book many times in bookstores yet never stoped to look at it.
Now AM i GLAD it was on the list!
This book is a must have for any art student or anybody who has the slightest interest in art. It is easy to cross reference artists, it provides brief yet concise information upon the artist, their characteristic style, and to top it of a full colour image of a characteristic / typical piece of the artist.
Its size means it can be taken anywhere and will fit in your handbag :) and has kept me amused on many bus trips.
You must be crazy not to buy it at this price!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 9 Jan 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
I first saw this book at a friend's house and enjoyed it so much that I felt I had to have my own copy.The paintings are arranged by artist rather than chronologically which made me look at the work of artists I might otherwise have considered not to my taste.The pictures are beautiful and the commentary interesting and informative.It's a lovely book to dip in to when one has a spare moment.My only criticsm is that the pictures in this version are sometimes too small to appreciate all the details.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beats Harry Potter any day! Absolutely Mind expanding!, 24 Feb 2002
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
In this book there are examples of every kind of art you can think of! It's majorly inspiring! If you ever thought you were not interested in any kind of art, I can assure you you'll find something you'll love. Just because its an art book doesn't mean to say you can put it down easily!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Art Lovers Book, 18 Jun 2007
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
I have many art books, but none as used and flipped through as this book.

It is easy to use as a reference book and would always be first on my list.

With great colour prints of Artists work, a brief history on each Artist and

an important example of each Artists' work.

It is a great book for students at an affordable price, and handy size.

GREAT BUY!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The travelling informant, 22 Sep 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
This book is absolutely brilliant! (And thats to say the least) It provides a small, but useful, description of the deeper elements to some of the paintings or background information on a particular artist. Its highly analytical, it tells you what gallery each of the paintings are in: which is useful as some gallery websites are not very informative as to the galleries content at all. I have carried it around with me since I brought it and it is still in excellent condition (I brought a used copy as well) which is perfect for travelling needs (and considering I brought it quite a while ago.) Some examples of its content:

-Domenichino 'the sacrifice of Issac'
-Balthus 'girl and cat'
-Salvidor Dali 'sleep'
-Pieter Claesz 'A vanitas still life'
-Sandro Botticelli 'Spring'
-Hugo Van Der Goes 'The fall of man'

Just to name a few of the artists inside the book. It also includes; photo art, sculpture and textile prints and not just famous paintings. Enjoy!

(Would also highly recommend for any art student who needs to demonstrate a good understanding and analysis of artist's work but unfortunately cannot afford or lives in an area far away from any gallery...I can relate!)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not impressed, 29 Oct 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Art Book (Paperback)
Plus Side

-Small so quick to read
-Covers quite a lot of artists

Minus Side

-Only covers one piece of work per artist - some great artists deserve much more than this
-Not actually that much depth on each artist
-Not much pre 18/19th century art
-Heavy bias towards artists from the American and European continents (only 3 Asian, really?!)
-Lots of relatively unknown artists are included
-The book is arranged by artist name in alphabetical order, in hindsight I think I personally would have preferred a book that went through different styles of art chronologically
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Art Book
The Art Book by Phaidon (Paperback - 17 April 1997)
Used & New from: £0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews