Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best overviews of Modern Architecture available
In covering well-trodden ground, William Curtis still manages to shed new light on the subject of Modern Architecture. Much has been written over the years, including Sigfried Giedion's seminal work, Space Time and Architecture, which sought to give Modern Architecture its proper perspective. Mr. Curtis seems greatly beholden to Giedion, especially in his...
Published on 26 Feb 2002 by James Ferguson

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exhausting rather than exhaustive
This is the 3rd edition of this book, and Curtis has certainly expanded his knowledge, to encompass areas of the world not covered in previous editions. In all fairness this is a useful primer for undergraduate students (though one is fearful that they will cling to Curtis's stereotypes), and the book is worth buying just for the chapters on Le Corbusier alone - Curtis...
Published on 30 July 1998


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best overviews of Modern Architecture available, 26 Feb 2002
By 
James Ferguson (Vilnius, Lithuania) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
In covering well-trodden ground, William Curtis still manages to shed new light on the subject of Modern Architecture. Much has been written over the years, including Sigfried Giedion's seminal work, Space Time and Architecture, which sought to give Modern Architecture its proper perspective. Mr. Curtis seems greatly beholden to Giedion, especially in his interpretations of Le Corbusier, which comprise a sizeable chunk of this volume. Mr. Curtis downplays the polemics and focuses more on the individual contributions of an incredibly broad range of architects from the early 19th century to the present day.
Wonderful chapters encapsulate the various movements such as his piece on the Revolutionary Architecture of Russia, and how these ideas filtered through the various European architectural movements. He also covers the diaspora of Russian avant-garde architects, in subsequent chapters, to Germany, England, Israel and the United States and the tremendous impact they had in these countries.
However, the main focus is the way in which Modern architecture was constantly being reshaped into a regional architecture, highlighting such major figures as Alvar Aalto, Luis Barrigan, and Oscar Niemeyer, all of whom owed some debt to Le Corbusier.
This is a very even-handed account, perhaps too even-handed at times. It is a most valuable resource for anyone interesting in Modern architecture and the many forms and variations that it has taken over the 20th century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Essential reading for architects and students, 10 Sep 2013
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
This book was part of the pre-course reading list for my architecture undergraduate degree. I got round to reading it after graduation, but really wish I read it sooner. Being able to refer to "seminal" building types as seen in this book throughout my whole degree would have made my studio work much stronger.

Given the sheer scope of the book, it can only be a highly personal interpretation of modern architecture since 1900. It is thus wise to read other meta narratives to obtain a variety of viewpoints and angles (Kenneth Frampton's Modern Architecture is next on my list).

The text concentrates on the buildings, the ideas that went into generating them, and how those ideas developed. As such, it really requires you to look at plans / sections / elevations and pictures of the buildings. Compared to the number of buildings mentioned, the illustrations within are sparse and barely adequate. A separate volume with full plans, sections, elevations and pictures would really help communicate a lot of the analysis. I found myself constantly looking up buildings on the internet, sometimes 5 buildings / architects per paragraph, making progress excruciatingly slow.

Other than this, it would be a 5 star book. Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great resource for my architectural philosophy module!, 27 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
I've read a lot of these chapters thoroughly for my architectural course. I find the narrative can often be quite dense, and perhaps not as direct as I would have liked. It does however have great visuals to aid the descriptions which helps a lot when I've got a whole day of reading ahead of me!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Exhausting rather than exhaustive, 30 July 1998
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
This is the 3rd edition of this book, and Curtis has certainly expanded his knowledge, to encompass areas of the world not covered in previous editions. In all fairness this is a useful primer for undergraduate students (though one is fearful that they will cling to Curtis's stereotypes), and the book is worth buying just for the chapters on Le Corbusier alone - Curtis being without doubt a major authority on Le Corbusier. But most of the other chapters are very thin and stero-typed. Curtis says that great architecture is felt with the heart, which is why he needs to see every building he writes about - a very fair and worthy comment - and yet he more or less reproduces received history, and clings to stereotypes; German Nazi architecture, for instance, is seen as very bad - even though of course one can only inspect them via photographs, as they were destroyed in the 2nd WW, BECAUSE they were Nazis. I have a particular interest in Finnish architecture, and was amazed t! o see that he has gotten one of the key names completely wrong! He writes about the constructivist architecture of Vormala, when in fact Vormala was not a constructivist; the person he really means is Vormala's former partner Heikki Kairamo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Very complete book. Very helpful, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
I just started reading it but seems to be very complete. Then it's written by Curtis he exposes very well the content and he shows very details of the architecture movements.
It has been very helpful in my thesis and it will be very interesting after that to learn more about the pre modernism movements and architects.
It has arrived in excellent conditions.
Recommend it because it gives you a wide look to modern architecture
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 17 Oct 2014
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
The perfect book for any art historian or architect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 30 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
Excellent product just what I was looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for everyone interested in modern architecture., 19 Mar 2010
By 
V. Walleen (Elsinore, Denmark) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
Comprehensive, enjoyable book for those who want to learn about modern architecture. Faitly easy to read for foreigners as there are not too many technical terms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good book !, 12 Mar 1999
By A Customer
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
A good price for a book that all architecture students should have.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 Nov 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Modern Architecture Since 1900 (Paperback)
great book, great delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Modern Architecture Since 1900
Modern Architecture Since 1900 by William J R Curtis (Paperback - 27 Jun 1996)
£22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews