Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to promote 'real' learning and development in society
This is a fundamentally important book. It takes a refreshingly open and challenging stance on our current excessive and damaging compulsory schooling.
An engaging book from start to finish - Illich unpacked his inspiring ideas leaving me wanting more. Although this was first published in the early 70's it speaks urgently and relevantly about our current schooling...
Published on 16 Aug 2003

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More complaint than solution
Interesting topic, but verbose and repetitive, lacking novel solutions. Too abstract. Also seems out of date given the many initiatives on the internet that were not considered. However, the basic ideas are well worth considering.
Published 7 months ago by Ian Gordon


Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars How to promote 'real' learning and development in society, 16 Aug 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
This is a fundamentally important book. It takes a refreshingly open and challenging stance on our current excessive and damaging compulsory schooling.
An engaging book from start to finish - Illich unpacked his inspiring ideas leaving me wanting more. Although this was first published in the early 70's it speaks urgently and relevantly about our current schooling situation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As relevent today as it was the day it was written., 10 Sep 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
For anyone interested in education or society in general this book is for you.
Successive governments slowly grind bad curriculums into
impressionable minds. Many do not understand this however by reading this short
insightful book it will be become quite clear as to way why so many dissolusioned
walk the streets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thought Provoking as usual, 14 Sep 2003
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
Once again Ivan Illich goes for the jugular vein of capitalist society suggesting institutions, here education, render people less prone to self reliance and improvment, while maintaining 'cushy number' occupations for the middle classes through professional protectionism. While criticising he is not unforthcoming, as in his other works, to suggesting remedies. Some of which are more than plausible and pragmatic, particularly in a more computer driven age than thirty years ago when the book was written. I haven't given five stars because there's a turgid chapter toward the end when he tries analogies between modern man and Greek mythology to explain his arguments. This and the fact that that he's disposed to a rather disengaging, waffly style of prose at times lose him marks in MY classroom I'm afraid!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love this, 28 Jun 2014
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
I love Ivan illich, he says it like he see's it with no fear, totally off the wall and opposed to the normative conditioning of society by the corporations that want us to believe that the way we do education is the only way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars EYEOPENING!!!!, 26 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
A definate read for academics but also for anyone interested in the mcdonaldisation of state schools. A must read *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best book on schooling you will ever find, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written by social philosopher Iven Illich,this book analyses the hidden curriculum of schooling with incredible insight. It had a formative effect on me when I first read it and continues to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We need to revive some of these arguments. They ..., 28 Sep 2014
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
We need to revive some of these arguments. They might seem too radical but the deschooled society Illich suggests is fundamentally necessary if we are to fight against human life being swallowed up by the new institutionalised models of existence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 5 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
Quick and as discription.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars More complaint than solution, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
Interesting topic, but verbose and repetitive, lacking novel solutions. Too abstract. Also seems out of date given the many initiatives on the internet that were not considered. However, the basic ideas are well worth considering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Thought-provoking but not much more, 23 Oct 2011
By 
M.B. (Nairobi, Kenya) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Deschooling Society (Open Forum) (Paperback)
Well, what can I say? Although Illich has some interesting ideas, and this is a thought-provoking read, I completely disagree with his conclusions. Yes, education is important, and although schooling is less than ideal in several contexts, it is has given very much to many.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Deschooling Society (Open Forum)
Deschooling Society (Open Forum) by Ivan Illich (Paperback - 1 Jan 1995)
£7.05
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews