Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!
I have bought this book for my mums birthday because she is a big history fan but an even bigger fan of jewellery. She has several Royal Jewellery books already but this attracted my attention because it combined both of her "loves".

I am not at all disappointed with the book, it is fabulous. The photographs are clear and informative, I am sure she is going to...
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Free Spirit

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars a superficial survey giving little system
A rare attempt to comprise the whole history of jewelry, however featuring just document studies and sporadic large-format illustrations that casts too little light on symbols, patterns and decor underlying the essence of any design. A casual reading that may suggest some ideas but gives very few clues for real research. E.g. the Mughal Jewellery(!) section covers only 2...
Published 12 months ago by joebreaker


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous!, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Free Spirit "shilo115" (North Wales, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
I have bought this book for my mums birthday because she is a big history fan but an even bigger fan of jewellery. She has several Royal Jewellery books already but this attracted my attention because it combined both of her "loves".

I am not at all disappointed with the book, it is fabulous. The photographs are clear and informative, I am sure she is going to love it.

My friend thinks that this book would make a brilliant "magazine, coffee table" publication.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


48 of 49 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful and useful, 11 Feb 2008
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
I found this to be a very beautiful and informative book.Lavishly illustrated with stunning photographs,most of which are in colour,it traces the history of jewellery through 7,000 years from Ancient Egypt and Western Asia ,through Greece,The middle East,India,Japan and Africa to 20th century Europe, drawing predominantly on The collections held at the British Museum.Although I'm sure It must be useful to those with far more knowledge and expertise of this subject than mine( which is minimal,)It is an extremely well written and enjoyable history and I am sure will appeal to anyone who loves visiting these wonderful collections or who just has an interest in beautiful jewellery.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stunning!, 21 Mar 2010
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
I received this book as a birthday present from my husband. It is totally amazing and very inspirational! Full of stunning pictures too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great For Jewellery Fanatics., 1 Feb 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
Excellent value....massive period coverage...loads of photos....very informative. Excellent looking book too...great on coffee table or as a gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 7000 Years of Jewellery, 13 May 2011
By 
Katyte (Hampshire UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
Really stunning book. Loved the layout and the detail. A must for jewellery students. Wish it was double thickness and there could have been more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A jewel of a book, 7 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
This book covers thousands of years of jewellery making. Beautiful photographs which are not only wonderful to look at but inspiring to those interested in making their own jewellery. The text is clear, describes processes and history and you can dip into the book at any random page and instantly be fascinated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lovely book, 9 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
This is a lovely book which beautifully reveals how jewellery has changed over the years. There are lots of photographs which are good quality and the text compliments them well. I would thoroughly recommend this to anyone with an interest in jewellery or history
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars lovely book, 17 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
this book is very informative about the history of jewellery - it has plenty of pictures so is inspirational for making jewellery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Would recommend, 12 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
An excellently informative book, with pictures lovely enough that I have it as a coffee table book, and am slowly reading through it at random. Organised by geographical region and time periods.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fabulous Book, 6 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 7000 Years of Jewellery (Paperback)
A fascinating look at jewellery design and self adornment through the ages and across different civilisations. Beautifully illustrated with outstanding photographs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

7000 Years of Jewellery
7000 Years of Jewellery by Carol Andrews (Paperback - 5 Mar 2007)
£10.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews