Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars wonderful to look at, 16 Nov 2012
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
I'm just buying two copies after borrowing one from our local library. It's full of really high quality photographs of some wonderful works of art - manuscripts, jewellery, armoury and architecture. It's such a gorgeous book to look at that it's a good gift book for art lovers as much as a great history resource for anglo-saxon buffs. It's clearly presented in roughly chronological order and the text is easy to read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Anglo-Saxon Art, 20 Jun 2012
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
A comprehensive analysis of all periods of Anglo-Saxon art, covering sculpture, jewellery, manuscripts, textiles, coins and armour, this fabulously-illustrated volume incorporates the most recent researches into the subject, including aspects of the Staffordshire Hoard. Webster has confirmed her position as one of the leading authorities on the subject, and this faultless study is produced, as one would expect from The British Museum Press, to the highest standards, including (no small detail) properly stitched pages. No-one interested in the Anglo-Saxon period should hesitate in ordering this magnificent volume, which represents extraordinary value for money. Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great for general reading, 28 Dec 2012
By 
Philip McDonnell (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
I bought this book whilst writing my MA Medieval History dissertation. It was useful as a contrast from the deep academic studies I was ploughing through at the time.

For a general introduction to the world of Anglo-Saxon art, it is great; well-written, accessible and covers the spectrum of art created by the Anglo-Saxons and not just the Staffordshire Hoard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very instructive and richly illustrated., 12 Sep 2013
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
A great book. Even though she concentrates on Anglo-Saxon arts (esp. metalwork, manuscript decoration, sculpture), Leslie Webster also provides the reader with some useful information on the historical context in which these arts evolved over the 7-century period (5th c. to 1066), integrating and "processing" diverse influences such as Christian motifs once England was Christianized, or Celtic art, or Scandinavian influences in several waves, and even elements from Byzantine or Carolingian art.
The author also relates facets of Anglo-Saxon visual arts to literature in Old English (heroic poetry--mainly Beowulf, The Dream of the Rood, or Bede's style, for instance)
The author occasionally helps the reader to "read" a few illustrated pieces.
I also enjoyed the "afterword", where the author gives a few examples illustrating the long-lasting effect of Anglo-Saxon art on the English culture, literature and visual arts (up to now).

The text is instructive and serious but accessible and virtually jargon-free (in addition, there is a short glossary at the end). The book is printed on high-quality paper and richly illustrated. I find the editing excellent, with efficient cross-referencing between the chapters and clear connections between the numbered illustrations and their descriptions in the text. You never have to chase for a mentioned illustration. Numbered notes relative to sources can be found at the very end of the book, present but unobtrusive. There are also two maps of Anglo-Saxon England, a short bibliography and a useful index.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant book, 18 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
There's not a lot of Viking art books around at the moment for some reason, so I bought this one in lieu, and was favourably impress. It's beautifully written and the illustrations are gorgeous. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent insight into the anglosaxon culture - linked to so many others, but nethertheless unique, 13 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
This is a really good book for those interested in how art was used in the Anglo Saxon culture - a world where pagan and Christian values were colliding, the Romans had deserted, and the Vikings and Normans were coming!
Overall I found the book well balanced and superbly illustrated. I like Mr Webster's writing style which is academic but readable.
I personally would have liked more material on interpreting the early zoomorphic designs, which I was slow to grasp and felt was over too quickly. The rest of the chapters are very thorough and I made copious notes to follow up - always a good sign!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great overview, 21 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History (Paperback)
A fine overview of the major themes in Anglo-Saxon art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History
Anglo-Saxon Art: A New History by Leslie Webster (Paperback - 14 May 2012)
15.19
Usually dispatched within 9 to 14 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews