Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars perfectly lovely haiku, 12 Mar 2011
By 
Mrs "Love all sorts of books, Eng Lit degree,... (Potterton, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
I bought this for my husband who is a haiku fan, but I sneak it from the bookshelf to enjoy myself. This is a lovely blend of perfect haiku and delightful, delicate illustrations, perfectly matched. A delight.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Utterly Charming, 14 Feb 2012
By 
C. Doolan (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
I can't agree more with the other reviewers. This book is delightful. I have other books with Haiku so I bought this mainly for the illustrations and I wasn't disappointed, they are beautiful, charming and delightful. There are drawings paintings and netsuke illustrations all of them a feast for the eyes and together with the beautiful poetry this book is a little gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazingly gorgeous book, 2 Jan 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
Amazingly gorgeous book for the price. The illustrations are fantastic and the poems perfect. It was bought as a present but I wanted to keep it for myself. I will be buying more copies for other people's presents throughout the year!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Touching lyric, 6 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
The japanese haikus are wonderful little presents for the soul. They epress very sensible nature and human being. The translation needs much inspiration
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars superb drawings, 16 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
you will be inspired and excited by the contents of this book. very small but packs a huge punch to enthral you if you care for art.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Charming little book of Japanese poems, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
This is a book of Haiku poems about animals, which are accompanied by traditional Japanese artworks from various artists throughout the ages of Japan's history.
Haiku is a style of poetry which tries to capture the essence of the subject, scene, event etc in only a few syllables. Although the poems are very short, the pictures which they are paired up with help create a link between art and poetry that compliment each other very well. The art works are typical Japanese style and vary between woodblock prints, inks on paper or silk and pencil drawings.

This book is very relaxing to read and has a sort of meditative feel about it. It also arranges the poems in accordance to the time of day, giving a kind of abstract narrative of a day in the life of a Haiku poet.

This is a very enjoyable book and I would recommend it to anyone who is interested in poetry, art and Japanese culture.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Most Delightful Blend!, 14 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Haiku Animals (Gift Books) (Hardcover)
As others have said, this little book is absolutely charming! The delightful blend of delicate haikus with pertinent paintings and carvings from the Museum's Oriental collections makes this book a pleasure to pick up and browse, again and again.

I can also thoroughly recommend HAIKU by David Cobb, the British Museum's companion book to HAIKU ANIMALS. The two books have a very similar format and are equally charming in their glorious combination of Japanese art and poetry. A real feast for the soul!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Haiku Animals (Gift Books)
Haiku Animals (Gift Books) by Mavis Pilbeam (Hardcover - 6 Sep 2010)
6.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews