Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & laughs with Donald Mcgills postcards.
Great book for background of Donald McGill's life as postcard cartoonist with hundreds of amusing & classic pictures. Excellent.
Published on 16 Sept. 2009 by R. J. Webb

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Saucy!
This is a somewhat earnest account of a complex but hugely talented illustrator, famous for his ' saucy postcards'.

I never felt that the author gets inside Donald McGill and I am still not clear exactly how he worked with the numerous publishers who, frankly, ripped him off most of his life.

The real story of this fascinating period of social...
Published 6 months ago by Claudia Saatchi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fun & laughs with Donald Mcgills postcards., 16 Sept. 2009
By 
R. J. Webb (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The World of Donald McGill (Hardcover)
Great book for background of Donald McGill's life as postcard cartoonist with hundreds of amusing & classic pictures. Excellent.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Saucy!, 7 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Donald McGill (Hardcover)
This is a somewhat earnest account of a complex but hugely talented illustrator, famous for his ' saucy postcards'.

I never felt that the author gets inside Donald McGill and I am still not clear exactly how he worked with the numerous publishers who, frankly, ripped him off most of his life.

The real story of this fascinating period of social history and the huge popularity of these simple postcards (selling in their millions), has - I suspect - still to be told.

Despite my quibbles, buy this book - if only for the many wonderful examples of McGill's art that it contains.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 20 Oct. 2013
By 
J. E. Jenkins - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Donald McGill (Hardcover)
Second hand [as advertised] but the book it'self in superb condition, informative and entertaining account og Donald McGill's life with lots of reproductions of his famous 'naughty postcards' ... well worth the money. Packaging and delivery - superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A good read, 23 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Donald McGill (Hardcover)
The saucy postcards, like marmite, you either love them or hate them, but this book looks at the vast amount of work produced by this artist for postcards, his life and work and the humour of the age. A book for the postcard collector, art lover and humour lover. Great book .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Three Stars, 21 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The World of Donald McGill (Hardcover)
expected it to be in better conduction.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sales@yesteryearbooks.co.uk, 13 May 2011
This review is from: The World of Donald McGill (Hardcover)
I could not fault this supplier as they very kindly told me of a very slight flaw on the book I ordered, and led me to their site so I could see the flaw for myself. This was fine, and the book arrived next day. I could not recommend this company more. Thank you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The World of Donald McGill
The World of Donald McGill by Elfreda Buckland (Hardcover - Oct. 1984)
Used & New from: £5.56
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews