Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast!!
Wow! Goodness me, I bought this book to help inspire me with my textile prints I am in my final year at university and looking into surfaces so this book was perfect. There are many many beautiful photographs; I particularly love the pears which have spherical mould growing on them - this book is very thoughtful and highlights the beauty in many daily things that often...
Published on 31 Jan 2009 by O. Spencer

versus
14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing
I was very disappointed with the image quality in this book.
The majority of the images appear to be low resolution and out of focus.
The text accompanying them was waffle of the first order.
Incompetent photography and mindless text, leaves little inspiration for the artist.
There are many far better source books out there, at lower cost.
Published on 10 Sep 2009 by Julie Shackson


Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A visual feast!!, 31 Jan 2009
By 
O. Spencer (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
Wow! Goodness me, I bought this book to help inspire me with my textile prints I am in my final year at university and looking into surfaces so this book was perfect. There are many many beautiful photographs; I particularly love the pears which have spherical mould growing on them - this book is very thoughtful and highlights the beauty in many daily things that often pass us by. This is a lovely book whether you are looking for inspiration or not!! Highly recommended!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An extraordinary view of the ordinary, 3 Feb 2009
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
Polly O'Neil's camera has captured scenes to make everyday objects (fruit, walls, trees and even a skip) things of wonder, interest and unexpected beauty. Her words, factual yet inspiring, encourage you to look at the world around you with new eyes. After you have immersed yourself in this world of textures and surfaces, an everyday walk will suddenly become a trip into the unknown and you will find yourself noticing the astonishing variety of colour and detail to be found almost everywhere you look.
Any student of art or textiles would find this sourcebook invaluable. Anyone, student or not,who is at all interested in their surroundings, would find something to appreciate in this extraordinary view of the ordinary.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Perfect Aid to Creative Embroidery., 22 Nov 2009
By 
W. Baker (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
A gift for my wife, the book has already proved to be a valuable aid to her creative embroidery work and is now also being ordered by other members of her embroidery class who have seen her copy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, 10 Sep 2009
By 
Julie Shackson "Julie Shackson" (Cardiff, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
I was very disappointed with the image quality in this book.
The majority of the images appear to be low resolution and out of focus.
The text accompanying them was waffle of the first order.
Incompetent photography and mindless text, leaves little inspiration for the artist.
There are many far better source books out there, at lower cost.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Creative, 15 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
A very interesting and inspirational book, it will get your creativity flowing. Have been taking photos of these things for years
so its great to see it all pulled together. Definitely worth having as a source book
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars love it, 10 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
a beautiful sourcebook, and inspirational for those wishing to look at texture, the photography is amazing and varied throughout. I fully recommend this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, 10 Aug 2009
This review is from: Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook (Paperback)
Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook An excellent book full of good photographs taken by the author over a number of years. equally valuable material and ideas for the artist or photographer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook
Surfaces and Textures: A Visual Sourcebook by Polly O'Neil (Paperback - 7 Nov 2008)
13.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews