Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!
I am a drama foundation student and this has been our main source for the voice classes. Different approaches work for different people - this has really worked for me for the following reasons:
there are theory sections which inspire and create a sense of excitement and adventure. These are followed by exploratory and technique-building exercises which really do...
Published on 30 Jan. 2010 by x iLeon

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars I hate this because it is useless, not as described
This is nothing as described, please take it off and don't ever think of selling this without reviewing it with those that can offer honest work. You have only took my money for nothing. I didn't get the chance to watch the dvd nor read the book until now, please take it off market. If I have my way I would demand for my money back but it is too late now. It is awful.
Published 9 months ago by Olabisi


Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 30 Jan. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
I am a drama foundation student and this has been our main source for the voice classes. Different approaches work for different people - this has really worked for me for the following reasons:
there are theory sections which inspire and create a sense of excitement and adventure. These are followed by exploratory and technique-building exercises which really do work! The accompanying dvd demonstrates most exercises (only nag I have found here: a few more of the exercises would have been useful inclusions). Finally there is reference to the other great voice practitioners' work, such as Cicely Berry, Kristin Linklater and Patsy Rodenburg, accompanied by detailed reading suggestions and reference to other resources, such as online poetry sites, practitioners sites etc. The authors clearly have amassed a vast experience of various distinct disciplines in the field, including for example, Chi Kung, Alexander's and Yoga in the body work, and integrated them into their own unified approach.

The book is split into the following sections:
1. relaxation, release, alignment
2. connecting breath and voice
3. exercising the support and control system
4. resonance and range
5. work on the articulators

while the appendices include sample workouts, biblios etc

A very thorough, practical and effective approach for discovering, exploring and extending your vocal capabilities, including communication and expresiveness.

PS I am adding to this review a year later. Being near the end of my second year in drama and having amassed some theatre and film performance experience, I still use this book and am still making fresh discoveries from it. For example, the mouths exercise (resonating from different areas of the torso and head) has recently yielded some great results - I believe it might have its roots in Grotowski. An invaluable resource that you will actually keep revisiting, rather than read once and forget on the shelf (or pile)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A brand new classic !, 25 Jun. 2008
By 
R. B. Price - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
David and Rebecca Clark Carey's book is a most useful and timely addition to the resources of any professsional voice user; acting student; or teacher of acting or drama. For any serious teacher of voice it will become essential.

David and Rebecca's book documents an approach which blends their own playful and improvisational voice work with other influences. And it does this remarkably deftly, borrowing from other teachers respectfully but tilting and turning their work to blend it with the author's own very particular approach.

The technical information and illustrations are accurate and clear with much more detail than any other practical book on voice training but without being overwhelmimng - and the exercises themselves, supported by a great DVD, are both fun and brilliantly designed to fit into the shifting energies of a real classroom. David and Rebecca's biggest achievement though, and one which is entirely their own, is to have developed a text which is so helpful to teachers working right now, through an extremely inciteful series of 'teaching tips' and the selection of suggested texts which honour the diverse and increasingly interesting challenges of teaching Voice in a contemporary context. These are not just clever design features, but a most generous gesture clearly grounded in a deeply felt respect for the old and honorable adventure of helping all kinds of people to open and rediscover their voices.

There are only a handful of essential texts on the vocal arts and this is a new one - we have a brand new classic !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best practical guide to voice work yet, 19 April 2008
By 
LMF de Burgh (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
Without doubt, this is the most comprehensive practical guide to voice work available today. It is detailed, extremely clearly structured and easy to follow as well as being very 'user-friendly'. Its great value is its accessibility to both student and teacher alike, and not just those who work with in the theatre - anyone who uses their voice professionally would benefit from its content. The style is unlike so many other works on the subject in that it is fresh and clear and goes into just the right amount of depth without becoming dry.

It also boasts an up to date, clearly indexed DVD demonstrating all the exercises included in the book in a safe, sensitive, straight forward and professional way.

All in all, a clear, imaginative, instructive well designed no-nonsense book and dvd which is one of the best books I (as a Voice Teacher) have read on the subject. Invaluable.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and Thorough, 15 Feb. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
As a voice teacher myself, I have assimilated various exercises over the years but never know if I am using them to their full extent. I often short-cut and find myself rushing through exercises because I forget how important they are when you begin. This is a wonderful compendium of exercises for every need. They are clearly explained and also illustrated by means of A DVD. There are full physical voice workouts as well as specific exercises for any special needs that arise for individual voice problems or requirements of the text.
It will be equally useful to voice users and their teachers.
A valuable thorough and practical book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars vocal art works book, 16 Nov. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
Perhaps too professional for what I had in mind but slowly I'm finding the book helpful and interesting and revealing.
As a classical music lover and choir member.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars I hate this because it is useless, not as described, 23 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
This is nothing as described, please take it off and don't ever think of selling this without reviewing it with those that can offer honest work. You have only took my money for nothing. I didn't get the chance to watch the dvd nor read the book until now, please take it off market. If I have my way I would demand for my money back but it is too late now. It is awful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive range of your voice, 28 Jun. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
This book was purchased for my daughter for her college course, after a quick glance it looks as if it what she is looking for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars good book, 27 Aug. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice (Paperback)
but not the kind of book that I wanted,
more of a breathing ' skills ' etc type pf book,
not helpful to me,
comes with a double sided dvd,
Pal on one side,
and
NTSC the other,
more a Theatrical book,than pronunciation
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Vocal Arts Workbook and DVD: A Practical Course for Developing the Expressive Range of Your Voice
£18.69
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews