Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (10)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 200 project kick off points
This is a book of initial starting points which is fair enough - but if you were expecting detailed and step by step projects then you will not find them here - one double page spread can contain up to 6 of the '200 projects'.
It is still worth buying for the project kick -offs though.

Oh! and by the way do not fall for Amazon's offer to buy this author's...
Published on 4 May 2008 by T. Briody

versus
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a rip off! I bought this book and ...
What a rip off! I bought this book and '200 projects to strengthen your art skills' and they are exactly the same book. They are even different prices! This is extremely misleading of the author and the publishers and they should state this on both book details so that people don't get conned into getting both. Shame on them.
Published 9 months ago by K. D. Fisher


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 200 project kick off points, 4 May 2008
By 
T. Briody (Cumbria, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
This is a book of initial starting points which is fair enough - but if you were expecting detailed and step by step projects then you will not find them here - one double page spread can contain up to 6 of the '200 projects'.
It is still worth buying for the project kick -offs though.

Oh! and by the way do not fall for Amazon's offer to buy this author's other book '200 Projects to strengthen your art skills' at a slightly reduced rate.
It is the same book with a different title
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I don't want to go to art school but..., 25 Oct. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
I don't want to get into art school - I just wanted to broaden my ideas. Its so easy to get into a rut and stay in your own comfort zone. This book served the purpose. It covers all aspects you need to broaden your thinking and abilities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a rip off! I bought this book and ..., 11 July 2014
By 
K. D. Fisher (midlands) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
What a rip off! I bought this book and '200 projects to strengthen your art skills' and they are exactly the same book. They are even different prices! This is extremely misleading of the author and the publishers and they should state this on both book details so that people don't get conned into getting both. Shame on them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Useful homework activities for A level Art Students, 23 Mar. 2009
By 
Katy (Brunei Darussalam) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
I made my copy of this book available to my 6th form Art students. All have English as a second or third language. they found it very helpful and easy to follow because of the good illustrations. It compliments our first year course and second year students find it helpful as it reminds them of some approaches they could explore more deeply in their course work. I found the advice on compiling a portfolio particularly useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Not applying to art school yet, but still glad I bought this book!, 18 Feb. 2010
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
I am looking to apply to a uni art course next year as a mature student and basically wanted a book of ideas in order to create an impressive portfolio - and that is what this book has given me, and more.

Since using one of the ideas and creating a piece of artwork from it, I have been inundated with commissions from family and friends!! I hope to have lots of 'professional' work examples in time for when I apply to a course.

All of the other ideas are great also, and the author does not give too much information away, just a 'jumping-off-point',so you wont be spoon fed - which isnt ideal, really. You get to take that initial idea and then you can go away and adapt it as you will.

Highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Useful Book, 18 May 2009
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
As someone with no formal art education, I found this book very useful. It had lots of ideas and interesting things to try out. I imagine that if you have completed A Level art or have a lot of experience, this would be a bit repetitive. It probably won't tell you anything that you haven't heard before.

I liked the structure of the book. Each double page spread covers a different theme. It is definitely a good book for inspiration, there are lots of little projects to try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 200 projects to get you into art, 10 Jun. 2012
By 
Philip J. Parish (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
This book ideal for anyone who is interested in art in general, plus with a view to going onto art college. I would say it's a very useful hints and tips book. Just a good all rounder.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A book of final pieces, 21 Sept. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
This is not any kind of step by step guide for students or teachers. This is a book of final pieces that other artists have produced. This is useful if you wanted to generate ideas or have a go at producing one of the pieces in the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars very American very basic, 20 Jan. 2010
By 
Curry Queen (Devon, England) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
This seems to be aimed at a very young American audience. It would be too basic for the average A level student but might be a useful starting point for GCSE. Slightly disappointing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Content is good, a great inspiration, 2 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: 200 Projects to Get You into Art School (Paperback)
Not sure whether this book would really directly enable you to gain entry to an art course. However is it inspirational and a pleasure to browse for ideas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

200 Projects to Get You into Art School
200 Projects to Get You into Art School by Valerie Colston (Paperback - 10 April 2008)
£10.51
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews