Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (47)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for verbal jousts
A good read for Mr and for Mrs, sending admonishments flying back and forth. Written in a Victorian style (if the date is to be believed, it is early 20th. Century)the man is head of the household, and the lady must not be caught yawning as he finishes his last pipe! There is plenty to return in terms of what can be expected from the husband and, contrary to Harry Enfield...
Published on 13 Dec 2007 by Maclennane

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh
Bought this for a friend who was getting married. It got good laughs. Very old fashioned language.
Published on 8 Jun 2010 by V. Formosa-hamilton


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for verbal jousts, 13 Dec 2007
By 
Maclennane (Horsham, Sussex) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
A good read for Mr and for Mrs, sending admonishments flying back and forth. Written in a Victorian style (if the date is to be believed, it is early 20th. Century)the man is head of the household, and the lady must not be caught yawning as he finishes his last pipe! There is plenty to return in terms of what can be expected from the husband and, contrary to Harry Enfield sketches you might have seen, exhorting ladies to have opinions all of their own. Clearly an idea which will never catch on.

All in all it's a grin, and a quick, light read which is perfect as a cheeky stocking filler for a recalcitrant wife.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated in fewer ways than one would expect - and in many still quite relevant, 15 Mar 2010
By 
AK (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
This book was written in 1913 and I at first expected it to be of the same kind as Sex Tips for Husbands and Wives from 1894 - a hillarious reminder of how different things used to be and how horrible in many ways. It turns out that either the author was much more enlightened here, or that the 20 years from 1894 to 1913 really brought about a dramatic shift in attitudes.

The basic premise of the man as sole breadwinner and the wife as a stay at home mother is definitely still there and while most will find the advice on the use of servants a bit quaint and anachronistic, there is plenty of sound advice in this - something I wish more people would read seriously, rather than just for fun.

The advice in here revolves around creating a more caring and comfortable relationship, based on mutual respect and trust. Some bits will still be funny (the yawning while the man has the last pipe of the day mentioned by another reviewer certainly being one such case) but overall the message is take care of your husband but do not, under any circumstances let him trod on you or your independence. Luckily, the same message comes across in the companion book Don'ts for Husbands, which really should be read by both parties as well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Highly amusing, 21 Jun 2008
By 
E. L. Wisty "World Domination League" (Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
"Don't take your husband on a laborious shopping expedition and expect him to remain good-tempered throughout. If you want his advice on some special dress purchase, arrange to attend to that first, and then let him off. Men, as a rule, hate indescriminate shopping."

Highly amusing little book - written in all seriousness in 1913 but very Cholmondley-Warner-esque in its outdated attitudes. This book provided many gems for some light-hearted ribbing in my groom's speech when I got married.

Also check out How to be a Good Wife, which is a later derivative of this book, reworded but with new material.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The best book of marital advice I've read, 13 Jun 2009
By 
L O'connor (richmond, surrey United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
This book was published in 1913, but much of the advice it gives is still relevent today:

Don't try to model your husband on some other woman's husband. Let him be himself and make the best of him.

Don't expect your husband to be an angel. You would get very tired of him if he were.

Don't take your husband at his own valuations, but at yours. He may be unduly modest, or just a little too cocksure.

Don't set your husband up on a pedestal and then cry when you discover he is just an ordinary man, after all.

Don't expect to drop into marital harmony with the end of the honeymoon, you have not thoroughly learned to know each other's foibles by that time.

Don't think you can each go your own way and be as happy as if you pulled in double harness. In all important matters you want to pull together.

Don't expect all the 'give' to be on his side, and all the 'take' on yours.

Don't become a mere echo of your husband. If you never hold an opinion of your own, life will be dreadfully colourless for both of you, and there will be nothing to talk about.

Don't spend your life keeping up appearances. why should you buy expensive furniture for the benefit of your neighbours if you haven't got a balance at the bank?

Don't grudge the years you spend on child-bearing and child-rearing. Remember you are training future citizens, and it is themost important mission in the world.

This delightful little book is full of very sound advice, and my only regret is that it is so short. I would recommend it to anyone looking for a book of advice on how to have a happy marriage.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My grandmother bought the original, 25 Nov 2008
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
I have long been amused by this book and am very glad to see it reprinted. I have my grandmother's original copy which she bought when she got married in 1914. When you think that she bought it as a serious guide to how women should behave in a marriage you realise that things really have got better since then. Robert
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very insightful but also funny!, 22 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
I enjoyed reading this book. It is short - can be read in one sitting- but it gives an insight into life in Victorian times and is quite funny because the advice is aimed at people with such a different lifestyle to our own. I will be buying the other books in the series.
This would make a funny little wedding gift.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book, 15 July 2010
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
Bought this for a friends bridal shower as a joke, and it's got some really funny bits in it. Worth buying for a giggle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good laugh, 8 Jun 2010
By 
V. Formosa-hamilton "Veronica" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
Bought this for a friend who was getting married. It got good laughs. Very old fashioned language.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Funny, 15 Oct 2014
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
Funny miniature book full of useless sayings & tips. We put it in the Bride-to-be's hen party bag & it now sits pride of place next to her toilet! LOL.

As you can imagine being published in 1913, it is VERY outdated so good for a laugh for modern women.

Might also work well as a gag wedding gift if you get the "Don'ts for Husbands" & "Sex tips for husbands & wives" books too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A bit of fun, perfect as a small gift for anniversaries, wedding etc., 30 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Don'ts for Wives (Hardcover)
This little book, makes a lovely little gift with the matching book for men, Don'ts for Husbands.
I bought them at Christmas one for myself and one for my husband, they are fun and lighthearted. Outdated but charming but still with relevant tips for marriages today!

Buy the pair!
Don'ts for Wives
Don'ts for Husbands
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Don'ts for Wives
Don'ts for Wives by Blanche Ebbutt (Hardcover - 25 Jun 2007)
£3.15
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews