Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars (Almost) the only weight-training book you will ever need, 1 Feb 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
As its title suggests, the emphasis is on anatomy. A double-page is devoted to each exercise. One side contains photographs and text to indicate the starting positions and movement paths, together with tips on maintaining balance and faults to avoid. The opposite page contains diagrams illustrating the muscles that are used in each exercise, including the critical stabilising muscles. In some cases, variants to the exercises are given, indicating their relative difficulty.

This book would suit gym-users who want to ensure that they exercise a wide range of muscles. However, it is a collection of exercises rather than a workout programme. It's also a pity that there's no indication of how long you should take to perform each rep.

Still, I find it a useful volume overall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Book, 1 Jan 2012
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
This was bought as a present for someone studying. They have found it very helpful. Clear pictures and very easy to understand.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars EXERCISE THAT HAS IT ALL, 11 Sep 2009
By 
ELIZABETH (SHEFFIELD, S.YORKS ENGLAND) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
LOOKING FOR A PHYSICAL EXERCISE BOOK THAT HAS AT ALL... EASY READING, FULLY INFORMATION WITH GOOD PHOTOGRAPHIC EXAMPLES PLUS AN EXTRA PAGE FOR EACH EXERCISE OF SKILLFULLY SKETCHED / DIGITALLY CREATED IMAGES SHOWING ANATOMICAL FIGURES HIGHLIGHTING THEIR MUSCULAR ACTIVE RELEVANCE AND NAMING THE MUSCLES INVOLVED ALSO INDICATES THE STABILIZING MUSCLES IN USE.

EACH EXERCISE IS EXPLAINED IN DETAIL FOR CORRECT POSITIONING OF THE BODY AND EXPLAINS THE ACTION AND MOVEMENT PATH ENSURING YOU TO PERFORM THE EXERCISE CORRECTLY. HANDY GRAPHICAL INDEX TOO JUST IN CASE YOU "FORGOT" OR DON'T KNOW THE NAME OF THE EXERCISE YOU NEED. NICE TOUCH...

ALL EXERCISES ARE PRODUCED IN CHAPTERS REFERRING TO DIFFERENT PARTS OF THE BODY I.E. SHOULDERS, BACK, HIPS & THIGHS, CORE ETC; WITH CHAPTERS AT THE BEGINNING ABOUT WARM-UP AND STRETCHING. VERY USEFUL FOR STUDENTS STUDYING ANATOMY WHO WISH TO BECOME PHYSICAL TRAINERS, BODYWORK THERAPISTS AND A VERY GOOD PERSONAL DIRECTORY FOR EXERCISE ENTHUSIASTS.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Such a help studying for fitness certificate, 23 Sep 2012
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
I found this book a great source of information when studying for my fitness levels right up to Personal Training, Level 4 Fitness. I still refer to it now and often revise. I recommend this book to fellow trainers and students frequently.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Anatomy of Exercise, 25 April 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
I already have this book and got it for my brother. I am a fitness nut and think this book is great. It shows you all muscles worked during normal home and gym exercise. Definitely worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars What does your body really do when you excercise, 5 July 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
I was looking for a book to help my lad who is doing fitness and came across this book.

Its clear style makes understanding what the body is doing while doing exercise easy to understand, not too much technical details but enough to not scare non doctors.

Its one of those books that you can keep picking up and learn something new all the time.

Clear detailed pictures showing the inner body.

Not being medically qualified I cannot comment on the medical content, but it has certainly helped my lad with his coursework and lesson plans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent book, 27 Feb 2009
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
I bought this book for my husband who has had a lifelong interest in this subject. His comments: "Every picture tells a story and these ones tell it all. Impressive, quality book"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars purchased book, 3 May 2009
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
Excellent book for training purposes clear and easy to understand and easy to set yourself goals for specific traing needs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Anatomy of Exercise (Paperback)
As stated
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Anatomy of Exercise
Anatomy of Exercise by Pat Manocchia (Paperback - 31 Oct 2007)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews