Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seemingly simple, but complex study
I chose this book to read and analyse a couple of years ago. It seemed to have simple meaning, but the more I tried to analyse, the more outstanding I found the book, and far from simple.
Helen Alving is a widow and is keeping a secret. One day she tells her friend Manders and he's quite shocked. It all has to do with some money from her dead husband that she doesn't...
Published on 14 Jan 2003 by Lisabeth Vefall

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars disappointing
I was not expecting a script for a play, although the name of the author should have told me. I use my kindle for reading in bed and this sent me sleep for all the wrong reasons
Published 20 months ago by Joan Pritchard


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Seemingly simple, but complex study, 14 Jan 2003
I chose this book to read and analyse a couple of years ago. It seemed to have simple meaning, but the more I tried to analyse, the more outstanding I found the book, and far from simple.
Helen Alving is a widow and is keeping a secret. One day she tells her friend Manders and he's quite shocked. It all has to do with some money from her dead husband that she doesn't want her son to have. Oswald, her son, comes home from abroad with very sad news. He is ill, and there isn't a cure for him. When Mrs. Alving is told that it was most likely inherited, she tells her son the secret too, and that changes his view on his father. As the book goes on, the intriques grow bigger...
Ibsen is probably more known for his play "A Doll House", but this one is just as great. He was very critical of the society and most, if not all, of his books often has a somewhat hidden story where he debates social matters and also morals. He use symbols and mostly contrasts to give the play a certain atmosphare and meaning. I believe this is one of Ibsen's greatest plays and strongly recommend it to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An angry indictment of bourgeois moralities, 10 Mar 2012
By 
Roman Clodia (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Written towards the end of the nineteenth century, Ibsen's Ghosts was originally seen as a shocking and immoral play that deeply offended bourgeois sensibilities. By deconstructing the way in which sexual corruption was endemic across society, not least because it was covered up and implicitly normalised, Ibsen was part of a movement concerned with the idea of what we now call `sexuality' but which was only just emerging as a concept thanks to the work of people like Kraft-Ebbing in his Pychopathia Sexualis and, of course, Freud.

For readers today, this is still a play that provokes, even though we're now used to the rather clichéd idea of what went on beneath the surface of the nineteenth century which valorised `family values' across Europe. This exposure of corruption, abuse, incest and other forms of psychic sickness seems very of its time, especially to the extent that it plays into `degeneration' discourses which were endemic at this period, but is still an angry and potent work which indicts bourgeois moralities.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pretty good, 24 Feb 2002
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I liked this play. I found the artificiality of the upper classes to be conveyed with especial skill. Also the worthlessness of hollow morality is exposed. It is rather like Oscar Wildes work but not funny. Worth a read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A must read, 30 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (Student Editions) (Paperback)
Again on a University course then you need to read this drama book, great play with a great story behind it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful old translation, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
I love these old translations of classic foreign language works. This has a feel of the age and has depth.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You may find you'd like to see the play after reading this., 29 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Not Ibsen's best play but it is nevertheless good and easy to read. Interesting to read a play rather than watch someone's interpretation. So much is unsaid in the play. Ibsen had a sympathetic attitude towards women and that is clear in Ghosts. After reading this I'd like to see it performed and find out more about the characters. Syphilis, not mentioned by name, is why it was considered shocking when first performed I presume. Homosexuality is there I think too but by reading rather than seeing it on stage one can have a more personal view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars its ok, 20 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Came in plenty of time. Bit heavy going, Good value for money. Was pleased overall with the item. No problems with the purchase, would definately recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, 29 Oct 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
Easy read, very enjoyable.
It's not often I sit and read the whole book straight off!
But I did with this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Riveting Portrait by a Master, 8 Jun 2012
This review is from: Ghosts;: A play in three acts,
Despite the passage of time and the difference in the settings for this work I still find it one of the most compelling dissections of society and class distinctions ever written. I think he's written other works that on the whole are more balanced, but here I don't think it unfair to state that he's laid bare the bone with almost surgical precision.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars An Ibsen Classic, 3 Aug 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Ghosts (Kindle Edition)
As a fan of Ibsen's work, this play did not disappoint.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Ghosts (Student Editions)
Ghosts (Student Editions) by Henrik Ibsen (Paperback - 22 Jan 2008)
£8.99
Usually dispatched within 11 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews