Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLIGHT IDENTIFICATION OF EUROPEAN EUROPEAN SEABIRDS BY BLOMDAHL ET AL
This is the third copy of this excellent book I have bought in the past 18 months: one copy for myself and two as presents for close, highly committed birdwatching friends. The reasons I like it so much is because it is one of the few books on the market that show photographs of seabirds as you would see them in the field on a seawatch off your local headland and it...
Published on 20 Dec. 2009 by Mr. E. C. Parker

versus
15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sea-watching doesn't enter a new era with this book
The title, Seabird identification of european seabirds, is not what it should be in this kind of book. There is no doubt that authors are experts in the field, but if you want to identify difficult seabirds (gulls and skuas), don't buy this book. Collin's Birds guide by Svensson, Mullarney... is the best and this book offers more clear details. When I got this book I was...
Published on 8 Feb. 2009 by Andrachne


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FLIGHT IDENTIFICATION OF EUROPEAN EUROPEAN SEABIRDS BY BLOMDAHL ET AL, 20 Dec. 2009
By 
Mr. E. C. Parker (Cleveland, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
This is the third copy of this excellent book I have bought in the past 18 months: one copy for myself and two as presents for close, highly committed birdwatching friends. The reasons I like it so much is because it is one of the few books on the market that show photographs of seabirds as you would see them in the field on a seawatch off your local headland and it focuses solely on how to identify them in flight, which is how one would normally see them. The descriptions are full and informative and the book can easily be carried around if you wish to take it out in the field with you. Some have criticised the quality of the photographs but I would far rather see birds as you would in the field, often at mid or long range, than having full-blown, full frame 'idealised' illustrations or colour photographs, as is to be found in many field guides. For anyone wanting to learn or brush up on their seabird identification skills, I cannot recommend this book highly enough.

Ted Parker
Cleveland
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sea-watching enters a new era., 23 May 2003
By 
John Girdley - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
This book is set to become the dedicated sea-watchers bible. Flight photography is very difficult, especially for seabirds and yet this volume contains over 650 generally superb shots, each carefully annotated to pick out the key identification features. Just about every seabird that has ever occurred in European waters has been included including all the American vagrants. (making this book equally valuable to birders on the East coast of the USA.) The authors are experts in their field and they have included a wealth of new information.
The gulls have come in for special treatment with detailed accounts being given for most of the accepted sub-species. Baffled birders can now try to get to grips with "Smithsonianus", "Heuglini", "Cachinnans" etc.
Not just a book for the bookshelf, but one that I expect to see being used in the field as birders try to nail some elusive lifer from a South western headland!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flight Identification of European Seabirds, 22 July 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
The order came on time and is brand new.

This book is heavy! and full of info and will be a great help in identifying birds, it was recommended to me and it seems very thorough so far.

The only thing it has going against it is that not all the photo's are in focus, but in saying that they are still good enough quality that you would not confuse the bird for any other similar bird. Photo's are definitely better than drawings or sketches! So this book is doing very well to have so many species all accounted for in photo format and close-up!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Flight Identification of European Seabirds, 7 Feb. 2011
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
This is an awesome book for anybody wishing to observe sea birds around Britain.
Each species is well described and quality photographs on each.
Well written and easy to understand.

A definate book for any Ornithologists collection
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Sea-watching doesn't enter a new era with this book, 8 Feb. 2009
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
The title, Seabird identification of european seabirds, is not what it should be in this kind of book. There is no doubt that authors are experts in the field, but if you want to identify difficult seabirds (gulls and skuas), don't buy this book. Collin's Birds guide by Svensson, Mullarney... is the best and this book offers more clear details. When I got this book I was expecting the real book to identify seabirds in Europe. The pictures in the Seabird identification book are very old, the quality is ridiculous for this new century we are. You can find thousands of superb photos of seabirds in the web, but any of them are used in this book. Instead of that, the authors have used photos from 80'and 90's, and the impression quality is very poor, sometimes the pictures looks like watercolor. I give 2 stars because information is good, but the price you are paying for the book is not worthy. In field guides, pictures are really important, something that authors missed here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars This is a most useful book, beautifully illustrated and helps greatly with the ..., 21 Nov. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
This is a most useful book, beautifully illustrated and helps greatly with the identification of seabirds, something I haven't found easy to do even when I am standing near them observing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars For my birdwatcher husband, 14 Dec. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
My husband asked me to order this book as he is a very keen ornithologist. I think he must be enjoying it, he reads it every night. He is very fussy about the quality of bird books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, 28 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
Very useful addition to the library if you spend time at sea. Includes realistic in flight photos
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars ... a friend and have been told it is really good so can't really say, 8 Jan. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
Bought as a present for a friend and have been told it is really good so can't really say more
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars THIS IS THE BEST BY MILES, 30 Mar. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides) (Paperback)
I JUST CAN NOT RATE THIS BOOK TO HIGHLY. IT IS A JEM. BIRDERS, SEA WATCHERS JUST BUY IT.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Flight Identification of European Seabirds (Helm Identification Guides)
£29.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews