Customer Reviews


12 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Access Accents British RP
Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors

In defence of Gwyneth Strong and Penny Dyers Access Accents Received Pronunciation CD/ Booklet, I found it to be immediately practical and extremely clear. Initially I listened to the examples of various RP accents and decided upon one that suited my character (in...
Published on 29 Aug. 2011 by Clodagh Downing

versus
53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty useless
I recently bought this item, after having seen it advertised as THE book to buy to learn an RP accent, and can without any problems at all say if it is your intention to learn RP whether for a show or just to use in general conversation, stay well clear of this programme, as you will learn nothing. It is basically an interview between two women, (the teacher and a...
Published on 6 Feb. 2010 by La Bel Esprit


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

53 of 57 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Pretty useless, 6 Feb. 2010
This review is from: Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors (Audio CD)
I recently bought this item, after having seen it advertised as THE book to buy to learn an RP accent, and can without any problems at all say if it is your intention to learn RP whether for a show or just to use in general conversation, stay well clear of this programme, as you will learn nothing. It is basically an interview between two women, (the teacher and a student). You sit down to listen to it fully expecting to be talking the Queens' in no time at all and instead you just get an interview with one or two feeble exercises near the end of the cd, possibly something they thought of some time during the interview, an interview in which I can only assume they forgot they were being recorded. In fact the tape starts with the teacher talking to the student and after a few minutes of getting to know her ( i'm not interested) she casually says something along the lines of... well you've already worked on the accent before so we'll just carry on where you left off....which at this point you find yourself shouting... "Well I havn't!" Useless product. hope this is of use to some of you.
Thanks x
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Disappointed, 26 July 2012
This review is from: Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors (Audio CD)
I don't have much problem in pronouncing each words in rp, but I've struggled to group them together in sentences and I can't speak them quickly enough to follow actors' lines in films. Unfortunately, I don't feel this CD has helped me with these issues. Also, I found it very distracting that the interviewee, who is supposed to be practicing rp, speaks in Irish accent because Irish accent and rp conflict a lot when it comes to the lengths and strengths of the vowels and consonants, which I am trying to correct.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars This product is just s***...., 22 Mar. 2013
By 
This review is from: Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors (Audio CD)
This is not a helpful tool, in fact I feel like a total tool for buying this. What is it RP, IRISH, who is that awful woman,... Who understands those exercises? It's a total waste of money and if you want to just throw money away why not donate it to a good cause. This is anything but a good cause.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 29 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Unhelpful and confusing, 29 Jun. 2008
This review is from: Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors (Audio CD)
It is hard to understand how this course is to be used: Apparently, it is a recording of a training session with an established actor, which is quite interesting to listen to. However, it is unclear what one is expected to do, in order to approximate the accent short of listening in. There is an accompanying booklet, which contains transcripts of some texts used but is just as confusing as the CD itself. In addition, I am not sure that a non-native speaker would benefit from this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre, 23 Sept. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Having spent extensive periods about the Tyne & Wear, I know what to expect in covering that accent. This product did not fullfil it. For starters, there are a number of expressions the geordies use which were missing from this product. The explications of how to use vowel and consonant sounds for any word were very incomplete, particularly for consonants. The presenter's geordie is not entirely convincing - not a good start. Finally, the text provided doesn't correspond fully with the audio. And offcourse, as noted by others, the product focuses on a limited number of excerpts which provide insufficient practice.

Having said that, the material will get you started in the right direction and there is some interesting historical and linguistic background. But I am miffed because it wouldnt have been a great effort to make this product better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 15 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cor blimey, 30 Jun. 2008
By 
Mr. R. J. Percy (London UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I have to agree with one of the other reviewers that they wonder how it is to be used. I am a North Yorkshire lad and whilst I can hear how some words should be pronounced and read the short sentences from the book it still does not help in repect to all words and how one would hold a conversation in Cockney fully. I am not sure though how it could be altered to make it so and possibly what we have is acceptable and one just has to listen to Cockneys and hope in time one picks it up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warts And All, 10 Feb. 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Whenever one sees a near perfect review of a show, film, or product of any description (as I have seen with this product), then it is often because it has been written by someone who is closely connected to it, and who wants to sell it - otherwise why not mention the not so good 'warts and all' points too? If you are thinking of spending some of your hard earned money, then it never hurts to read a balance of opinion. Although Gweneth Strong (of Fools and Horses fame) has given her name to use in the promotion of this product, she is only on the CD for 50 seconds. The booklet is wafer thin and the contents do not always correspond with the audio. Some speakers are not on the booklet at all. The actor (Patterson), gives the impression of learning the accent from scratch, but is speaking perfect Geordie by the end of the CD (obviously a fine actor)! I personally didn't understand the need to include gutter language on the CD, when so many other more useful words could have been included instead. Do I really need to know how to pronunce f---- words and s--- words in a Geordie accent? This is the first accent CD that I have obtained and overall it is not a bad purchase. It does give you a chance to begin your studies of the Geordie accent. I do hope however, that there are other and better ones out there somewhere.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Access Accents British RP, 29 Aug. 2011
Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors

In defence of Gwyneth Strong and Penny Dyers Access Accents Received Pronunciation CD/ Booklet, I found it to be immediately practical and extremely clear. Initially I listened to the examples of various RP accents and decided upon one that suited my character (in a play). Then it is so easy to simply go through the tongue twisters at the end. You very quickly realise the ones that need the most work. Record yourself if necessary. Practice, practice, practice is the key to a good accent for performance with this particular product. I think that is the point of its layout and design. I have highly recommended to others, but you have to be disciplined and do the "tongue twisters" in the booklet with her if you are to get anywhere. Thanks and hope this gives some perspective.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Not helpful, 1 Mar. 2012
By 
E. Purdy (Berkshire, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I ordered the download of the Cockney lesson and found it's not very helpful. The download doesn't come with the written references (obviously) and trying to navigate through the random conversations between the presenter and the actress was very frustrating. I didn't find this to be a helpful reference for cockney dialect at all. The Cockney Dialect by Paul Meier is an outstanding alternative. It has very specific practice example words for each of the unique cockney aspects, along with practice sentences and 2 full practice passages from Pygmalion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great resource for Actors, 17 May 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Access Accents: Received Pronunciation (Performance Books): An Accent Training Resource for Actors (Audio CD)
Penny is an internationally acclaimed dialect coach who is well known for her work in both theatre and film. Recently she coached Helen Mirren in `The Queen' and Cate Blanchett in `Elizabeth: The Golden Years'. These CDs are different to most accent tapes available, as they use a variety of methods to help the actor. In an unusual and interesting format, Penny sets the scene for each accent by using historical and geographical references, anecdotes and imagery.
Working with a different well-known actor on each CD, Penny conducts a master class, where you are able to listen in on the actor voicing all the doubts and queries that anyone approaching the accent would be likely to share.
The CD is also full of many sizeable chunks of native speakers of varying ages and types and each recording is discussed by Penny and the actor. Key areas are pointed out and explored and the accent broken down into its components. Throughout the session, Penny herself slips in and out of the accent with pitch-perfect accuracy. Thus, you are immersed in the accent for the full hour of the CD.
Finally there are practice exercises and an accompanying booklet with full phonetic breakdown of the sounds.
These CDs are a wonderful resource for actors and voice trainers as well as being of interest to anyone who enjoys hearing the wide range of accents and rhythms still alive in our country.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews