Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:    (0)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and informative, 2 Oct. 2008
By 
Nicholas W. N. Jones (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
Having worked in publishing for thirty years and lectured to careers services about what it is like as an occupation for much of that time, I bought this book to see how how another's approach matched my take on the industry. I knew of Alison Baverstock's involvement in training and advice through her long-time work at the Publishing Training Centre and Kingston University. Her (and her fellow writers') love of the industry comes shining through, but the views are not through rose-tinted spectacles. It is honest and direct, and captures both the frustrations and rewards of the work. It gives realistic and practical advice with checklists and anecdotes, and is thus an ideal companion to Giles Clark's Inside Book Publishing which is more analytical and textbook-like. Anyone seriously considering applying to work in book publishing should read both books - and How To ... has the added benefit of covering magazine publishing too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical and fun, 13 May 2008
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
I thoroughly enjoyed reading this book, and was inspired to polish up my CV immediately. The breakdown of different roles in the industry was excellent, as was the advice about how to get a foot in the door. Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The 'must have' guide for prospective publishers...., 25 April 2008
By 
VoxAeterna (West Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
"How to Get a Job in Publishing" is the book that I (and I suspect many others) have been waiting for! Another great success from the stable of publishing specialist Alison Baverstock, this book is a logical and well laid out guide to breaking into the industry. Whether you are interested in book publishing, journal publishing, magazine publishing or e-publishing, this personable guide holds your hand, helps you to identify your goals and shows you the best way to get there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At long last - a careers bible for the publishing industry, 25 April 2008
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
Hurrah - at long last a careers bible for anyone wanting to break into publishing. Well written and easy to follow, this guidebook contains very practical and useful information about all the different facets of the publishing industry with all its wonderful quirks. Anecdotes from leading industry figures combined with the authors (often humorous) experiences create essential reading for anyone considering a job in publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical, constructive and very readable guide, 16 Sept. 2008
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
I read this book as a newcomer to the world of publishing and now feel that I understand the industry much better. The book provides a detailed overview of almost every area of publishing, from books to magazines, and then goes into more detail about different departments.

In addition, it has some fantastic advice on making applications and surviving interviews. The tips and words of wisdom from various professionals that are included throughout the chapters are very insightful and memorable.
This is a comprehensive, informative and very readable guide to succeeding within publishing, and I will definitely be consulting it in the years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An essential resource, 30 Jun. 2008
By 
Joanna Sholem (London, U.K.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
Written in an informative yet informal style, this book provides a great deal of practical information about what working in publishing is actually like. I particularly found the practical information on how to plan and carry out a job search reassuring and helpful. Both the authors' enjoyment of their work & their desire to see you,the reader,succeed come through on every page.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Get this one, 13 Jun. 2009
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
This is the best 'publishing' book I've read - it details the different areas/jobs, how things work, what sort of person is suited to each sort of job, and lots of practical advice for how to break into the industry. Written in an engaging style by three experienced insiders (and filled with lots of other publishing people's experiences/opinions), this is a book you will read all of if you want to know more about publishing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A really useful book, 16 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
I brought this book as, obviously, I wanted a job in publishing. Since reading it and having done internships within publishing I have decided on another route. However the book itself is full of helpful information on cv writing and tips for interviews which can easily be transferred to other professions. I found how they explained and displayed the cv easy to understand, something which I put into my own cv and has helped me get my current job. The interview tips are good to read for any profession, such as how to dress and what you should bring with you to the interview.
I highly recommend this for anyone wanting to get into the publishing industry.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Informative and everything you'd want from it, 23 April 2009
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
This is the exactly the book I was looking for to give me an insight into all the different types of publishing and what to expect and what not to expect. I found it easy to read and the anecdotes very useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent career guide, 11 Mar. 2010
This review is from: How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines (Paperback)
Having worked in publishing for just over six months, I recently came across this book and wish I had done so much earlier! The advice given is absolutely spot on and informative - I wish I had known all of this before I tried to break into the industry! With many excellent examples and quotes from people working in the field, I thoroughly recommend this book to anybody considering a career in publishing. I really hope there will be a second edition, maybe with an expanded section of advice for people already working in the field.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

How to Get a Job in Publishing: A Really Practical Guide to Careers in Books and Magazines
£8.79
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews