Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (3)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete guide for interesting species and places
We used this guide over Christmas for the coast between Portugal and Tarifa. The guide is first-rate.

It is split into areas. In each area there are often a number of potential sites all near each other. The guide takes you to places well off the beaten track, rather than just to public nature centres. The sketch maps are adequate and the directions are...
Published 6 months ago by Mark Nangreave

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Well put together
Well put together but for someone on a general holiday wanting to pick up a little birding, the sites were few and far between. So this book covers a large area, which is OK, but its for the hardcore birder who wants to do a large amount of travelling. Still for the areas I managed to get to it was useful.
Published 10 months ago by Marilyn Garrity


Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete guide for interesting species and places, 9 Jan 2014
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
We used this guide over Christmas for the coast between Portugal and Tarifa. The guide is first-rate.

It is split into areas. In each area there are often a number of potential sites all near each other. The guide takes you to places well off the beaten track, rather than just to public nature centres. The sketch maps are adequate and the directions are good. The guide is easy to use.

The authors clearly have an encyclopaedic knowledge of the birds of the area as well as the best times to view them. Guidance for best viewing is given not only on the time of year but also the time of day and wind direction. The guide succeeded in taking us to places we would otherwise not have been to and to see birds we otherwise would not have seen.

Perhaps how effective the guide was for us is best illustrated by a brief story. We turned off the motorway because one site nearby sounded very promising. Thirty minutes or so later we were walking along a bank on our own in the middle of nowhere. In just a few minutes we had seen any number of egrets, a few spoonbills, two species of heron, tens of stilts, and a couple of flocks of glossy ibis. The road back to the motorway produced a distant view of a few hundred flamingoes.

It should be noted that this site was described in the book as exceptional rather than routine. Other sites were more hit-and-miss, but a logical journey in the car allowed a few sites to be visited in an afternoon, so that something of interest would be seen somewhere along the way.

Improvements? A future edition might benefit from some GPS data. But we still managed to navigate with the guide, a Michelin map and a TomTom without difficulty.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars do not visit spain without this book, 13 Aug 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
Good information (I used it for Donana). Most of the birding-spots were mentioned, with small stories etc. Highly readable.
Maps are (as often in these books) not always clear.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great book, 31 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
this book was very helpful not only for the birds but other information about spain, it would certainly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Extremely useful, 7 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
We have just returned from an Autumn birdwatching holiday, based in Donana and Monfrague, and found this book extremely useful. We particularly liked the scetch maps, the clear, detailed instructions on how to find individual sites, and the status list of birds at the back of the book. Sadly things change very quickly in Spain and a few parts of the book are already out of date. For example we found the lagunas near Huelva had disappeared beneath a maze of strawberry farms, and the lagoon at the nearby El Acebuche visitor's centre completely dried up (Again according to locals as a result of the water demands of the strawberry growers.) Overall, however I would have no suggestion in recommending this book to any serious bird watcher visiting this part of Spain
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Well put together, 12 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
Well put together but for someone on a general holiday wanting to pick up a little birding, the sites were few and far between. So this book covers a large area, which is OK, but its for the hardcore birder who wants to do a large amount of travelling. Still for the areas I managed to get to it was useful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 21 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Where to Watch Birds in Southern & Western Spain Andalucia', Extremadura and Gibralter, 23 Sep 2009
By 
J. Harris (Warwickshire England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
Although I have not been to the area's yet included in this book this nice guide gives lots of useful information, which could save you money, time, holiday with less problems occurring and increases your chances of seeing bird species.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars bird book, 17 Nov 2011
This review is from: Where to Watch Birds in Southern and Western Spain: Andalucaia, Extremadura and Gibraltar (Where to Watch Birds) (Paperback)
Very good book for anyone going birdwatching in Spain.We needed to know if it was worth booking a birdwatching holiday in spain/gibralta.i could say more after we have been
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews